Fiction logo

daffodil

myth

By Jeannette HarrisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3

When Narcissus was born, his parents asked the gods to foretell the child's fate. The result of the inquiry made the couple very sad. For the oracle saith, The child shall never see his own face; but when he seeth his own face, he shall die.

To escape this terrible fate, Narcsos' parents removed mirrors and all reflective objects from their home. Time passed and Narcissus grew into a fine young man. Though he had not seen his own face, and did not know how beautiful he was, all who saw him around marveled at his remarkable beauty. Many pretty girls chased after her, trying to get close to him. But he was vain and handsome, and none of these girls touched his cold heart. He ruthlessly refused to love brother a piece of infatuation, and arrogantly refused all the mountains and rivers and waters of the fairy love.

A young girl whom he had rejected raised her hands to heaven and cried, "Let him one day fall in love and never get the lover, and let him taste the taste." The Vengeance heard this prayer, and answered her.

There is a spring as clear as a mirror, to which the shepherds never drive their flocks, and to which the wild beasts of the mountains and mountains never defile, and not a dead branch or leaf falls from a tree to disturb it.

One day Narcissus, tired of hunting, came by chance to the spring. He was hot and thirsty. He knelt down and bent over the water, and drew up a spring in his hands to thirst

Cold, deep into the heart, he felt a heart comfortable, gently closed his eyes. When he opened his eyes again, he saw his own reflection in the water, and his heart was filled with joy. But he did not know that it was his own shadow, and thought that the beautiful goddess in the spring was looking down upon him. So he fell in love with his own shadow, the goddess of beauty in the water. He stared at the beautiful shadow in the water, as still as a marble statue. He admired the eyes that shone like stars in the reflection, the curls that flowed like water, the rosy cheeks, the lips that parted like rose petals, the round and lovely face, the ivory neck, the symmetry of the body. He bent down to kiss the shadow in the water. His lips moved nearer, and the red lips of the water came nearer to him, and his eyes shone with passionate love, and their watery eyes seemed to have the same longing. But just as his lips were about to join, he felt only the cold spring water, which rippled and the shadow vanished. After a while it came back and captivated him again. He stretched his arms out to the water to embrace this lovely object; See the water also has a pair of snow lotus root like arms extended to him, his heart rushed to jump, warm embrace to the people in the water. The coolness of his arm in the water reached all over him, the waves stirred, and the shadow vanished again. But he did not know the consciousness, but more and more eager to pursue the shadow in the water.

Narcsus lingered indefatigably by the spring, neither eating nor drinking, nor resting, his eyes fixed on the visions in the water, but he could not come near them. Sadly he called to the great forest at the edge of the spring: "O trees, you have stood here a long time, have you ever seen a more unhappy lover than I? Is there anyone so lovesick as I am? I like her, I see her, but I can't have her. What makes me sad is that we are not separated by the sea of thousands of miles, nor by the mountains, but by the shallow water, which prevents us from embracing, and she is willing to be held in my arms. Then he begged the shadow in the water, "Who are you? Please rise from the water. Why did you lie to me? My youth and my looks are not offensive to you. The fairies love and pursue me, and you do not seem to be without meaning to me. I extend my arms to you, and you extend yours to me; I smile at you and you smile back at me; When I cry, tears fall from your eyes; When I speak to you, your beautiful mouth is open and closed, but I can't hear you. Oh, I see now, it is myself, and this vision can no longer deceive me. I was burning my love for myself, and I suffered. What should I do? Oh, that I could leave my own body, that he whom I love could exist. But, alas, his fate cannot be separated from mine." He stared at the shadows in the spring, and his tears fell on him. The tears ruffled the water, and the shadows became blurred. "Don't go," he cried, "stay here, I beg you! If I can't touch you, at least let me look at you."

Thus narcissus was consumed by an unfulfilled love for his own shadow. Gradually, his cheeks lost their redness

Run, his body gradually thin, haggard. Youth, strength, and beauty had vanished from him. But love brother still loved him. When he groaned, "Uh-oh, uh-oh," Brother Love responded with a similar exclamation. Finally, the day came when he looked at his reflection in the water and said his last words, "Farewell." Brother Love followed and said, "Farewell." He fell softly on the grass, and the night closed his eyes forever. As his ghost crossed the underworld's Styx, he leaned against the side of the ship to look at his own shadow in the water.

The nymphs in the mountains and waters mourned the death of Narcissus. They beat their breasts and wept bitterly, and Brother Love beat his face and wept bitterly. The fairies prepared a pyre to burn his body

. But suddenly the body was gone. At the spot where Narcissus had died, they found a daffodil in full bloom, slanting by the spring, so that its reflection was clearly reflected in the water.

To this day, these daffodils are still growing near the clear pool, and the waves reflect their beauty.

Fable
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.