Fiction logo

Cultivating a grateful heart

Life is different

By GuyDussekPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like
You Love

When my grandfather came home from the hospital, our whole family was so much more relaxed. I began to understand how valuable the people around me are. I learned to stop taking my grandfather's company for granted and to make an effort to interact with him every day, fearing that I would never get another chance.

One day, my mother told me the news that my mother, who had helped our family as a child, had been hospitalized due to illness, and that it was difficult for the family to make ends meet. I immediately went to the hospital to visit my mother and offered to help her during winter break.

When she heard my offer, she shed tears of joy. When I asked her why she was crying, she said, "Son, when your family was in trouble, it was mom who helped take care of you. Now that you have grown up and remembered that you still want to help me, I feel very happy."

The old mother's words touched me. It turns out that we often accept help from others without taking it for granted, but often forget or ignore it when we are able to return the favor. We tend to cultivate a habitual and perfunctory attitude, which makes life lose a lot of precious human feelings.

I understand that in order to live a wonderful life, we must learn to be grateful - grateful to all those around us who are kind to us, and actively give back when we are able to. The so-called human warmth comes from this mutual gratitude and support. This is the fourth lesson in life, and it has made my life richer and better.

Gratitude is a very simple but often overlooked virtue. It brings out a positive interaction between people that enriches life and expands the world of human emotions. It is also a quality that I hope to hold on to in my life, so that my own world will be sunny and kind.

Next:Tolerance for others

Everyone's childhood

familyMicrofictionLoveFan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

GuyDussek

I love to write and I like to output articles that surprise me, so if you like my articles, follow me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.