Fiction logo

Culpabumble

When a line-manager acts humble in front of their boss because they are blaming YOU for a mistake that they made.

By Conor DarrallPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Neolomicro Challenge
10
Culpabumble
Photo by Pablo Varela on Unsplash

"Colin, can you come in here please?"

Three months in the office, and Jared was still getting my name wrong, despite sitting three meters away from me, separated by the brushed glass wall obscuring his lower half. I found that feature of the wall comforting. Jared was a creep. He peered out from his leadership nook like a meerkat.

"Now, mate, if you please."

'Mate,' so that was it. Duncan, my supervisor, had entered moments ago, leaving a whiff of cologne and coffee fart. I winked at my desk mate, Fabi, recently promoted to recruiter.

"Looks like that's me, then."

"Nice knowing you."

Jared sat behind his desk, in the lumbar support chair he fussed over, and Duncan leaned against the desk, his arse nearly knocking an empty sandwich wrapper to the floor.

"We have a problem, Colin."

"Conor..."

"Did you send this email to this mail-out list?" He projected his inbox overhead.

"Aye. Duncan told me to."

Jared looked at Duncan, his golden boy. Duncan had been funny, handsome, and a prick, but now he was mute, well-behaved.

"That's just not true, son." His smile resembled sweet, cold vomit as he turned to Jared. "I've really tried to give this one a chance, boss. I'm sorry. Some just don't want to do a job-"

I forwarded the email from my phone. It pinged and appeared on the wall, complete with Duncan's 'get this done' signoff.

Duncan's culpabumble facade vanished.

"You little shit," he said.

MicrofictionShort StoryHumor
10

About the Creator

Conor Darrall

Short-stories, poetry and random scribblings. Irish traditional musician, sword student, draoi and strange egg. Bipolar/ADD. Currently querying my novel 'The Forgotten 47' - @conordarrall / www.conordarrall.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Alison McBain5 months ago

    Haha - Duncan deserved it. I think most of us have had a Duncan in our work lives at some point or another. Love the word!

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    Very memorable word! Great scene too!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Congratulations on the runner-up win!!!

  • Hahahahahahahahahahaha in his face! I love what Conor did! Duncan had it coming!

  • That was a fun take on the challenge, great word

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    That was great. Duncan deserved that. Lol

  • Caroline Jane6 months ago

    His smile resembled sweet, cold vomit I know that smile. Burgh. Very relatable read! Love the word.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I may have to steal this one. Excellent tale of comeuppance!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.