Fiction logo

Cousins Collide

Cody vs Maya

By Kylecovey SmithPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

"Hey, it's me Cody Bridges. I'm 10 years and live in Orlando, Florida. It's summer vacation and today is an interesting day. By interesting I mean not necessarily good".

"You see my cousin Maya is coming to stay for a month. Normally something like that would make a guy jump for joy, but Maya and I have a very...complicated history".

"Maya is 2 years older than me and a star basketball player at school. In fact, she was named MVP on her team, plus she's super tough".

"We pretty much grew up together before my family moved, but she's not the nicest cousin in the world. Maya would always play pranks on me like super gluing me to the swing, tricking me into climbing the highest part of a tree when I was 6; now I'm scared of heights, and always threatened to pound me. One time she actually did".

"The worst part is that one time during summer camp all my friends wanted to be around her and not me. All because she was tall and could shoot 3 pointers like a pro. So, guess who was lonely at summer camp".

"Don't get the wrong idea. I love my cousin, but I'm not exactly thrilled to have her around. However, she's family so I have no choice but to put with her".

"I'll just have to see how this month plays out".

Ding-Dong.

"Uh-oh that must be her now".

"Cody! Come downstairs, Maya is here!"

"Ah Dad I'm in the middle of a vlog!"

"You can finish doing that later! Come see your cousin!"

I groaned.

"Okay I'm coming. Signing off for now guys Mojomaniacs. I'll talk to you guys later".

"I walked downstairs and saw my 8-year-old brother Jacob greeting Maya at the door with her teal suitcase in her hand."

"Cody! It's so great to see you again, Maya exclaimed when she saw come me down the stairs."

"Yeah, it's been too long."

"Since Thanksgiving actually. This month is gonna be great!"

"Boys help Maya get settled into the guest bedroom", said Mom.

"Okay, Jacob said grabbing Maya's wrist and pulling her up the stairs".

I let out a big sigh.

"Yeah, this month is gonna be fantastic, I said under my breath".

"I walked upstairs and entered the guest bedroom".

"Hey Maya, do you need any help unpack-whoa!"

As soon as I walked in, I felt something trip me and I fell face first into a bowl of gooey stuff.

I looked up to see Maya and Jacob laughing at the top of their lungs.

"Hahaha. I've been waiting a long time to do that Cody", said Maya.

I can't believe it actually worked, said Jacob.

"What is this", I asked.

"Marshmallow sauce. You shouldn't be mad, that's something you can eat".

"Real funny. How did you even do this so fast?"

"It's a gift. I'm artist when it comes to pranks".

Both of them were laughing at me, and Maya laughed so hard she was on the floor. I got up and punched Jacob in the arm.

"OW! What did I do", asked Jacob.

"Traitor", I told him.

"Can one of you give me a towel please! I can't see anything!"

"Sure cuz, here", said Maya who was still giggling.

I took the towel from Maya and wiped my face, but the cloth felt rough.

Maya and Jacob couldn't hold their laughter when I took the towel of my face.

"Okay what is so funny".

"Can I some smores bro", asked Jacob who was snickering.

"Smores?"

I touched my sticky face and saw chocolate and graham crackers on my hand.

I ran into the bathroom to look in the mirror and saw my whole face was covered in chocolate, graham crackers and marshmallow sauce.

"Hey Jacob, it's the walking smore", Maya exclaimed.

My body shook in anger.

"Mayaaaa!!!"

AdventurefamilyFantasyHumorLoveSatireSeriesShort StoryYoung AdultExcerpt
Like

About the Creator

Kylecovey Smith

Historian, Linguist, Author (Voyages of the 997 & The Method Mission), YouTuber/TikToker (Master Mojo) and now Vocal writer enjoy and critique my writing as please.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.