Fiction logo

Cordelia And The Magical Mysterious Links Episode 3

By Jason Morton

By Jason Ray Morton Published 3 years ago 10 min read
13

Please enjoy part 1 and part 2 if you haven't.

Sunday came and went beneath a thick blanketing of dark clouds, telling me and others that today was going to be rainy from start to finish. Sitting alongside the river, looking out over the Mississippi from my second-floor brownstone window, I watched the storm roll across the area. It soaked the lands, raised the level of the river, and left behind floodwaters that covered the streets around my building. The intersection, completely submerged, had a small red Kia Soul stalled out, its' driver standing in knee-high waters as she struggled to stay on her feet in the fast-moving waters. She was having the kind of week I was, unbelievable.

Normally, I took things in stride. One assignment after the other came down the pipe and I took them, trusting in the system, believing that the greater good was being served by my actions. I lived in a world that was filled with darkness, overrun by the sinister, and void of goodness. For the world to need me and the skills I utilized, it couldn't be of much good any longer.

Friday was the end of a long week. Orders were given to travel to the Dominican republic. While my neighbors thought I was a barely surviving gig-worker in a pandemic world, my real job was much more complicated. My orders came directly from the National Secretary of Intelligence, NSI David Burkhalter. If the order came from any higher up than that, it came directly from the White House Chief Of Staff, Lyndsey Bennett. Neither of them, my favorite people. My neighbors would be surprised to find out that I spent as much time out of the country as I did, much less made as much money as I did.

Now, I wondered if any of my life made sense. I had awakened to a three-inch tall being paying me a visit. Her name was Cordelia, and while I stood there, watching the storm blowing just outside my window, I wondered where she was at. For more than twenty-four hours Cordelia had been at my side or sitting on my shoulder. She'd even found her way into my front shirt pocket and shown that she had the power to control my car as she took me around on a Saturday adventure. Cordelia was a scamp, to say the least, and I had a hard time believing that anything good was going to come of our acquaintance.

Sipping the last of my coffee, I went back to my kitchen to get a refill. It was nearly daybreak and I was going to have to start working at some point. For several years I have used the cover of a struggling writer as a reason for my long stints at home, my occasional getaways explained by research trips, and the strange visitors that would come to my home. It seemed easier. I'd even started writing during my downtime, utilizing my skills from filling out mission reports and essentially telling a story to tell stories that rattled around inside my mind. It was a good cover, and I was about to get back to work on my most recent project.

Sitting down at my computer, I opened up my screen and as I sat, focusing on the spot I stopped at when I left for the Dominican, I overhead a voice in the distance. It was small, faint, and slightly high-pitched. It was Cordelia. But, who was she speaking with?

Looking down the hall leading toward my bedroom, I could see the green light she gave off glowing beneath my bedroom door. Setting down my cup, I crept down toward my bedroom, maintaining a slow approach in order not to be heard. As I made my approach I could hear the second voice in the room. To my surprise, she was talking to someone else for the first time since appearing to me. I heard my little friend Cordelia calling the other voice mother. They were debating something of importance.

**********************************************************************

"But mother..." Cordelia demanded.

"No buts, you know that he is more important to our survival than he knows. You must convince him that the world is worth saving."

"He's a stubborn man, someone that's seen far too much of the darkness in the human world. I don't know how to change that," Cordelia said.

"My dear," her mother reassured her, "He likes you. He's not sure about our people suddenly appearing to the humans."

"I'm not sure that the humans should be shown the links, they're too important, mother."

Cordelia's mother sighed, "It's not as simple as that. If we continue to hide the links between our two species, you know what will happen."

**********************************************************************

Cordelia turned her head toward the crack in the bedroom door, nearly seeing me as I watched the two as they hovered around above my bed. It was the first time I have ever had two females in my bedroom and they were both small enough to fit into the palm of my hand. I hurried along, finding my way back into my living room and grabbing my coffee cup as I returned to my perch in the bay window overlooking the street below.

So, I wasn't going crazy, Cordelia's existence in my life wasn't without problems. There was far more to her being a fixture in my life than she let on. From listening to her mother telling her about the link between our two species, I detected that the fairies were in trouble. Fairies, there's something that I never thought I'd be able to say without catching flack for being politically incorrect or insensitive. But, here I was, with two of them debating the future of our two peoples as they fluttered around above my bed.

Sipping my coffee, I stared out the window as the reflection of green floating light appeared in the window glass. Cordelia was alone. I already knew what I was going to do. I was going to let this play out until I learned why I was seeing Cordelia. If there were other forms of life that were out there, I needed to learn why they were showing themselves and what was their true goal. Furthermore, why me?

"It rains so much here," Cordelia said, flying up next to my shoulder as I sipped from my cup.

"What, you don't get rain where you are from?"

"No, you silly. We get rain at my home," she laughed. "Otherwise, nothing would grow."

I turned, looking at the pea-sized face of Cordelia, and asked her, "So, what's next for us?"

Even in the rain, Cordelia had a plan for me today. She asked me to get some jeans, shoes, and a shirt on so we could travel. When I was dressed, she wouldn’t tell me what I needed to bring with us, if anything. I stood at the window waiting for her to tell me it was time to leave. What happened was different than I expected.

“Now, this might seem weird to you, but it’s easier to travel this way,” she explained as she turned toward the center of the room and started to swirl her hand around in a circular motion. Miniature, bright green lights, shot out of her hands growing a large, bright green circle, in the middle of my furniture.

As the lights grew together, into a large circle, large enough for a man my size to fit through, I started to see a picture forming in the center of the circle. It was familiar, someplace I had seen before.

"What are you doing?" I asked.

"I'm taking you on a much-needed journey," she said.

"To where?"

"A magical place Mr. Jason, a magical place. Now, come, come," she ordered.

Standing there, looking through the center of the green circle of light, I decided to follow Cordelia. This was a decision I would soon regret, as I looked behind me and the green-lit circle disappeared, leaving us in the middle of a Central American jungle, staring at an old Mayan Temple, the temple of Tezculpa.

Standing at the entrance to the grounds of the Mayan Temple, the temple, while familiar, looked different than the last time I toured Mexico. There were far more people being allowed around the temple than when I was here before, and no security tape keeping people from going to the temple. Standing there, looking around, there were huts spread around the temple that appeared to be lived in and people mulling around the grounds, tending to gardens, and working on constructing a new series of water irrigators.

"Jesus," I sighed. "What did you do?"

"I brought you to a magical place," she smiled, her little nose curling up as she smiled at me.

"When, when is this?" I asked.

Cordelia flew around in a circle, landing on my shoulder. I looked down at her perch and noticed that I was now standing there wearing Indian wear. I wore a large neckpiece, a feathered headpiece, and a cowhide wrap around my mid-section.

"Did you bring me back to the 1400s?"

"Your favorite time in Mayan history, is it not?"

She was correct, my favorite time in the history of the Mayans was right before they disappeared off the face of the planet. Being somewhat of a sleuth I had always wondered what happened to an entire civilization and how they could have just vanished. It wasn't something to discuss with my superiors in the military or with the NSI. Keeping my fascination with the Mayans as a purely intellectual hobby seemed like the smartest play for my career.

"Why?"

"You lost your ability to believe in the magic of the universe, to believe in things you couldn't see. I want to give that back to you," she told me.

"How?"

As I stood there, waiting for her to answer my question, the ground around us began to shake and the winds picked up. Cordelia smiled, her hands at her side as she spun in a circle, firing off the sparkly green light she would release when excited or happy. I looked up as she rose into the sky, shocked to see a large cylindrical object flying over the top of the temple. Standing there, it landed on the opposite side of the temple and the natives started to wander away from their homes.

Cordelia and I wandered over to the side of the grounds. Much to my dismay, it was a ship. I heard the theories for years, that the Mayans simply left the earth, returning home. Now, here I was, at the end of their civilization, and I was witnessing them being picked up by their god. One Hunaphu had returned for his people, much the way it was described on the walls of the temples and on the cave walls inscribed by Chilean Indians.

"Is Jason happy now? Do you believe the world is filled with magic?"

I don't think there was a time in my life that I was ever as happy as right then and there. If there was a time in my life that I started to believe in magic existing, it was standing in the 15th century, watching the Mayan people as they departed to return home. Whatever her plans for me were, I was committed to letting them play out, and enjoying an amazing ride in the process.

Eventually, the fairy princess would have to tell me what my part in all of this was, and I couldn't wait. In the meantime, I would play along with them. My instinct was that even my little Cordelia didn't know the entire story, not yet. When she was satisfied that I could see how the fairies needed humanity again, she would get the rest of the story from her mother and we would know what the fairy queen had in store for her daughter, and for me.

Thanks for reading my story about Cordelia, the Fairy Princess. If you have stories of your own you want to tell, click here and consider joining the almost 30,000 people that are members of the Vocal + community. If you enjoyed my story, please leave a heart below by clicking on the icon on the left side by my name. I'd love to hear from you by seeing those hearts.

Series
13

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.