Fiction logo

Conjuring Dragons

Not the first mistake I have made in my life...

By Sarah MorganPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Conjuring Dragons
Photo by Matthew Ball on Unsplash

There weren't always dragons in the Valley. In fact, there weren't always dragons at all. I have to confess I dreamt them into existence. I can dream a lot into existence: pixies, fairies, nymphs, if it's in some way magical I can dream it up.

This is not to say these things are not real. They are. At least they are real once I dream them. What can I say, I'm a witch. A powerful witch. I can conjure things. Big things, little things, just so long as they are magic things.

I basically got bored with all the little magic beings after a while, they used to squabble and turn each other into toads and such. They had started to drive me mad.

So instead of conjuring them out of existence, I can do that too, I thought it would be fun if they went to war... With well, dragons.

Conjuring a dragon is no easy feat, so I started with just the one, but the little blighters were more tough than I thought they joined forces temporarily to fight off the dragon and force her into the valley where none of them dwelled and went right back to squabbling again.

So I realised I was going to have to conjure a few more. So I conjured six more, all at once. Afterwards I went for a lie down. Well, I say went for a lie down. I actually just collapsed.

When I woke up though there were seven huge dragons dwelling in the valley. Works of art if I do say so myself. All different colours, by then I was bored of red. Green, blue, orange, even black.

I mean, a black dragon: how cool is that?

He was the most fearsome of the bunch, he even made me nervous and I could have conjured him out of existence at any time.

Problem was, the blighters wouldn't leave the sodding valley!

They just liked laying around there asleep and breathing the odd fireball. Of course the pixies et cetera never bothered them. They hardly even noticed there were more of them, they stayed so far from the valley with the dragon(s) in it.

So I was stuck, no war, no turmoil and dragons to contend with as well as the littler magical beings.

I needed to stir things up.

So I stole one of the babies and dragged it down to the village. Yes, I conjured a baby dragon too...

Oh boy.

Then all hell broke loose. Not only did the dragons leave the valley to find the baby one, they burnt everything as they looked. Including my house.

And the little magical creatures..? They just ran away to another valley.

Leaving the baby returned and me without a sodding house.

Conjure a pixie, sure, it's magic, conjure a dragon, sure, it's magic. But conjure a house..? No way, there is nothing magic about a house.

So here I am three years later living in the dragon cave because I hate building things form scratch and at least they don't squabble as much.

That's the thing about being a powerful witch. You have to pay for all your misdeeds in the end, well, at least those of them that go spectacularly wrong.

Well, at least the cave is cosy, what with all the fire breathing. But, there weren't always dragons in the Valley. Now I live alongside them all and protect them fiercely. It's funny what you get used to in life.

But everything changed the day that the dragons left the Valley for reasons unknown... At least to me.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Morgan

I am an experienced journalist and sub-editor.

I have worked in editorial for The Independent.

My first joint book on mental health recovery was published in 2011.

I was short-listed for aviation journalism awards in 2010.

I love to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.