Fiction logo

Co/veil/ent

peeks in valleys

By JPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Eyes - Karl Sisson

There is a woman who comes to my window, once a day, every day, like clockwork. She stands and she stares, pointing fingers at my family and the misappropriation in the placement of our things. I cannot hear the words she shouts or know the anger she must feel, helpless to communicate the error of our ways. When I go out to shoo her, as I've done on tired days, she is gone before I make it to the door. When I act oblivious to all her futile rage, she takes it out on panes of glass 'til brittle bones pound sore.

Today, I think, I'll let her in; offer her a tea, and ask her if she'd like to stay for dinner. I see her at the grocery store, wearing dark sunglasses, and pushing her cart into piles of fruit with wreckless hope. I'll wait, I think.

This afternoon, she does not come. Nor the next, or after. I never see her at the store again. But once a day, every day, like clockwork I imagine myself standing at a curtain made of stone: Obsidian, opaque, and menacing as everything I've wondered at but never ascertained.

My reflection points to me, and I point back.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryPsychologicalMicrofictionFable
5

About the Creator

J

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Tracy Kreuzburg 3 months ago

    This was well done, reminding me of the times I feel disconnected from myself, and then coming back from it.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Ah. I see what you did there. I wasn't expecting that ending, but well done. Wraps it all up perfectly.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    I'm reading this with a sense of having looked social mores in the face and found them impotent, but still feeling their presence from within all the same.

  • Erin Shea3 months ago

    this is so atmospheric and well-executed!! I also love the cover art!

  • C. Rommial Butler3 months ago

    When mirror regards mirror which is the reflection? Do we deduce the truth of self, or experience it directly? Why can't it be both? Well-wrought, friend!

  • Oooo, I loved that ending! So unexpected!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.