Fiction logo

Clouds

Union with All

By Brandon PhiferPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. It was a sight to behold, and one that the people of the small town of Primrose had grown used to over the years. Some believed the clouds only appeared purple because of how they blended with the night sky. Others were not so sure. The color was pronounced, and far too vivid to be merely some refraction of light.

Still, as with any wonder we are exposed to frequently, the purple clouds became common place and were very often ignored by the majority of people in Primrose. I saw this firsthand when I visited.

I was sitting on the rooftop of a fine restaurant as the purple clouds came out to dance in the night sky, the stars twinkling in time with the clouds' movement.

The sight was spectacular and seemed to pull me to my feet. As though in a trance, I made my way to the edge of the flat roof and rested my hands against the half wall. I peered up into the night sky and several moments later I noticed my mouth was wide open as tears were welling up in my eyes. It wasn't just beautiful; it touched my soul. Nothing else seemed to matter and I was so captivated that the sounds of dishes clanging and servers hurrying around from table to table faded into the background.

Eventually I looked around, expecting to share the beauty of this moment with the other patrons of the restaurant, but they carried on eating and talking as if I was the only one who could see this marvel. I looked down to the street and saw several people walking around. A couple would glance up at the night sky, but quickly resume their habits as if no extraordinary event was occurring above. I found myself torn with wanting to stare in amazement at the purple clouds dancing in the twinkling starlight and desperately searching for someone to share the moment with. Maybe I should shake some of these people and yell, "Do you not see this?!"

I started to worry I was hallucinating and grabbed the arm of the waiter as he walked by. My bottom lip quivered as I searched for the words, but before I could speak, he offered a half-hearted smile and said, "Yes, we all see it too. It happens every...single...night." He was pleasant in his response, but I just sensed that he was trying to hold back his eye roll. He then pulled his arm free of my loose grip and resumed his work.

As my eyes drifted back toward the sky, my heart sunk as I noticed the clouds were gone. The sky had darkened and the commotion of the restaurant rushed back into my conscious awareness.

Each night I found a new place to view the spectacle and being awake at midnight to see the purple clouds dancing in unison with the twinkling stars became an essential part of my routine. I began to notice that younger people of Primrose were far to busy managing their chaotic, busy lives to concern themselves with this unexplainable event, but the much older generation seemed free enough to slow down and take in the beauty.

The elderly citizens of Primrose would share stories of their past and reminisce. I enjoyed sitting with them and asking questions as we stared at the night sky. They would mention loved ones that had since passed and how much joy they brought everyone around them.

One night, as I laid on my back, hands interlocked behind my head, I noticed the mentioning of dearly loved ancestors seemed to cause the stars to twinkle faster and the clouds to dance more wildly.

The people of Primrose didn't know the dancing clouds were in fact magical beings from a realm beyond the stars. Every night, the celestial beings would come out to play and make music in the sky, the music of their dance carrying across the night air.

The residents of Primrose began to call the clouds "Midnight Dancers," and they had become something of a local legend. As word spread that discussions of deceased loved ones seemed to generate more activity from the clouds and stars, people began to gather in the town square to watch the dancing clouds, their faces filled with awe and wonder.

Could there be a connection? Were these clouds somehow in tune with the men, women, and children of the past? Could it be that this random midnight occurrence was not random at all? Was the increased belief that this was linked to everyone's ancestry causing an increase in spiritual connection with entities beyond this realm? Was the growing faith that these were loved ones, leading to a deeper revelation of the purpose behind the dancing clouds?

One night, instead of the usual dance, the Midnight Dancers began to change shape and form. They began to take the shapes of people, of animals, of plants, and of other magical creatures. The people of Primrose were astonished, but they also felt a sense of familiarity with the figures in the sky.

As the Midnight Dancers moved, the people of Primrose began to recognize the figures in the sky. They were not POSSILBY their ancestors, but DEFINITELY their long-lost friends, and their beloved family members. The people of Primrose were filled with a sense of joy and love as the Midnight Dancers twirled and flew around them.

The Midnight Dancers had come to Primrose to remind the people of what it meant to be alive, to be connected to one another, and to find joy in the simple things.

Every night, the Midnight Dancers continue to come out to dance in the blushing sky. Some residents of Primrose are still too busy and caught up in their daily lives to pause, reflect, and connect with their ancestors, but to the ones willing to slow down, a deep connection forms.

With this connection comes clarity, focus, and a sense of purpose in life. What will come of this insightful connection that extends beyond the physical world? What impact will the people of Primrose have in their community and beyond?

Time will tell...

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Brandon Phifer

Happily married, father of four. Writing has always taken a back seat to life, but I seem to always find my way back to it. I've decided to finally trust my mom's lifelong encouragement and write more consistently & let creativity flow!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.