Fiction logo

Stillness Speaks

Quiet Castle Conversations

By Brandon PhiferPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

If walls could talk, they would whisper with quiet strength. They would tell of the secrets they have held and the stories they have heard. I am a wall of a medieval castle, and I have seen so many of the events that have taken place here throughout the ages. Each stone carries a captured moment of the past. Do you have a moment to listen?

For centuries, I have witnessed battles and feuds between individuals and entire kingdoms, grand feasts of celebration and solemn ceremonies of heartache and loss. I have witnessed the magnificent joys and unbearable sorrows that come with the passage of time. I have noticed the different perspectives people form based on the positive and negative experiences. How they strengthen some and break others. Unmet expectations cause some to buckle under pressure and some to rise up to new challenges. It really is quite remarkable.

I have been a witness to the kings and queens who have lived and died within these walls, and the people who have served them. Kingdoms that thrive under a leader's honor and humility or fall because of selfish corruption.

I have seen the laughter of children playing in the courtyard, and the tears of those who have had to leave their homes. Peasants who engage in foul behavior and yet many who quietly press on, holding on to the hope of a better tomorrow.

I have been there when important decisions have been made, and I have seen the fruit AND consequences of those decisions. I have seen decisions that brought prosperity and peace, and those that led to war and destruction. I have seen the birth of new ideas, the death of old ones, and the changes that have been brought about as a result.

I have seen the comings and goings of people who have passed through these walls, and I listened to their stories. I have seen sorrow, loss, and pain as well as hope, love, and joy. I have heard the cries of those who have been brokenhearted, and the laughter of those who have been in love.

I have been a silent witness to all these events, listening carefully to the stories that have been told within my walls. I have seen the lives of those who have come and gone, and the changes that have taken place over the years. I have seen history unfold before my eyes, and I have been here to bear witness to it all.

All the memories are stored within me and I hold my ground firmly as the world spins and centuries pass by.

I have seen the changes the castle has undergone, and I have heard the stories of why those changes were made. I have seen the renovations made to keep up with the times, and I have heard the stories of the people who have made those changes. There were often grumblings from a minority of people that resisted the change. It is truly amazing that the voices of a few can be so loud.

Many aspire to live a life that is significant, but sometimes it is hard to discern if their motivations are humble and honorable or manipulative and self-seeking. Perhaps the unfolding of these aspirations begin on one spectrum and unfold to the other. Whether people whisper in dark corners or shout loudly for all to hear, the sound of their voices vibrate through and I capture every word. None escape me.

I have stood here through it all, a silent witness to the secrets and stories that have been told in front of me. Confessions of forbidden love and plots to undermine those who hold the highest of ranks. It is not my job to judge or take action, but I hear it all.

I am a wall of a medieval castle, and I have heard and seen so much throughout the ages. If walls could talk, I would have many stories to tell, but would you listen or rush by. Will you slow down and learn from the history held within my presence or carry on with your own expectations?

I know you have dreams, because you are not unlike the ones who came before you. And yet somehow, you are unique and special.

Have a seat. Lean up against me. Slow down. If walls could talk, would you hear what I have to say? Perhaps the memories stored within each stone will find their way to you in the silence.

Are you listening?

Historical
1

About the Creator

Brandon Phifer

Happily married, father of four. Writing has always taken a back seat to life, but I seem to always find my way back to it. I've decided to finally trust my mom's lifelong encouragement and write more consistently & let creativity flow!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Such a great perspective, this was really well written. I can see you put a lot of thought into it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.