Fiction logo

Closure?

Pride and Uncertainty

By Frank E RobinsonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read

Closure?

(Pride and Uncertainty)

Hmph! I see you’re up to your old tricks. Even though there’s no sender’s name on the label, I know you sent it. It’s so typical of you to resort to passive/aggressive tactics to make your point. Well, this box will remain unopened until Thy Kingdom Come because I will not give you the satisfaction of a reaction to whatever’s in it because I know that’s what you want. You want me to succumb to the air of mystery around it by piquing my curiosity to know what’s in this box. Well, don’t hold your breath because when you’re wrong, you’re wrong, and none of your manipulative tactics can change that!

You know you shouldn’t have done what you did! You should’ve at least thought about it before you decided to go through with it. But no, I’m sure I didn’t cross your mind as you proceeded to betray my trust.

Was it worth it?

Why did you have to send this, this box on the day that I’m doing a presentation about the importance of vetting, are you trying to prove a point?

I can’t believe this! No, I can believe it because it’s your way. It’s how you got under my skin and lured me into your web. Your infectious smile, and alluring charm. Your pheromones wafting in the air around me suffocating my capacity to think clearly. Yes, I was taken, taken to the point of losing myself in a fantasy. A fantasy that would end up in regret.

And as much as I want to blame you, and yes, you played a major part, I have to own what I allowed. But damnit, why today of all days did you have to send this box knowing how fragile I am especially when I have a presentation to do!

Oh my God! What am I doing? Why am I losing my mind over a stupid box? So what if he sent it, so what! C’mon now, get it together and stop giving him power over you. What’s done is done, and I have to be spot on for my presentation today, so fuck that box, and fuck him too! The low life, no count bastard! As a matter of fact, I should send this shit right back to him. Yeah, that’s what I’m going to do.

Damnit, he had no address. He was living in a motel when I met him, and soon after he moved in with me. Oh, what a fool I am!

Okay, c’mon now, pull it together, focus, don’t let his tricks mess up a chance to gain a new client, especially when the client is a Fortune 100 company. I’ll go over the points for the presentation, that should take my mind off this. Let’s see; candidate’s resume’, appearance, be sure to take notice of body language during interview, twitches, ticks and... what the hell is in that box?

Could it be that he finally realized the error of his ways and is ready to make amends? Maybe he brought me that crystal singing bowl I wanted as a way to say I’m sorry. Oh, what the hell am I thinking. That’s not his character. If anything, he sent that box to fuck with my head. No name or return address! Yeah, he would do something like that just to get to me.

Anyway, I’m not going to give him the satisfaction of opening it because I know what’s in it will probably be upsetting. Yeah, I can see him laughing now, well the last laugh is on you bitch, because that box is going to meet the fires of the incinerator!

©2022 Frank E. Robinson

Short Story

About the Creator

Frank E Robinson

I found my passion in life as a teaching artist facilitating drama and creative writing workshops. Writing for me is an essential and there are not too many days that go by without me writing something.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Frank E  RobinsonWritten by Frank E Robinson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.