Fiction logo

Circadian

Wake Up.

By Kevin McLaughlinPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1

I wake up, blinking awareness back into my mind. Sunlight filters through the windows; an undeserved kiss of warmth on my skin. The room is unfamiliar. This bed is not my own; it’s different, soft, comforting. Regret ebbs into my stomach, the sweet, dreaming body beside me is a stranger to me. A face I can't recall. I get up to leave, hoping not to wake them. For them it can still be a dream, for me I know this vicious cycle will repeat. Over and over until it kills me.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Kevin McLaughlin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Wow, the dark emotion in this is so stark compared to the softness of the bed and the brightness of the day. I like the poetic take on circadian rhythm, like the cycle the speaker is in is its foil. Well done! This is a really good micro fiction.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.