Fiction logo

Chuck

Part One

By Devin LaughlinPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

This goddamn barn again... Why? Why must everything end up in this barn? I can't stand all the damn spiders and that smell. What the hell is that smell?

I've got to find that old crib though. Abbie wants to put it in the nursery. We're expecting our first child. That reminds me... I have to find that paint she wanted too. I think it's back with the tools. Shit! What the hell was that? Hmm.... just a damn rat. We should get a cat. One of those mean things that would eat your face. Haha, okay, let's find this paint. There's nothing like the threat of tetanus to invigorate the senses. Alright, I found the paint. Two gallons of baby powder blue. Ever seen blue baby powder? Neither have I. No matter, Abbie loves it.

That old crib should be around here, somewhere. There's a piece of it over by that wall. This damn barn is a minefield of hazards. I really should tear it down. Damn it! That damn rat just ran between my feet! Focus, you can do this. It's just a damn rat. Alright, I'll put this piece and the paint, by the door. The rest of the crib can't have gone too far. I'll check up top.

Hmm, a hell of a view up here. I can see the stream at the back of the property. Alright, let's find the rest of the crib. Note to self.... treat yourself to a cold beer later.

Hey, there's Chuck's flask. Guess he doesn't need that anymore. It's mine now. Cha-ching! I found the crib! Just a little elbow grease and all is well. I wonder how I can preserve this look. All the cracks and faded spots in the finish look pretty cool. Let's get this thing down first.

Now that, that is done... I'm gonna grab a beer, and investigate that smell. It's probably a rat nest. Those fuckers are a menace. Not only do they locate their homes in very inconvenient places; they steal all of your stuff to do it! Last week I found one in the heater box, in my truck. It was packed with carpet and seat cushions.

Well, there's nothing under the work tables, or in the tools. The walls are a single layer. No chance of a nest in the walls. Chuck poured a concrete floor. No rats there. Up top, I didn't see anything they could nest in. It was only a few free-standing shelves, and an old trunk. That was locked.

Well, I guess that one is "for the homies". The floor is not a great place to put your beer while searching a messy building. That's odd though. That fine brew I just kicked over, is running under that pallet. Damn, that smell is strong over here. I'll take this pallet to the fire pit, and grab another beer while I'm at it.

Why would the beer have been running under the pallet? I didn't notice any low spots on the floor. It did look a bit rough though. Wait, is that more wood? Why would there be a random patch of wood flooring? Let's test that new prybar! Abbie didn't think I would ever use it. First plank up, and yup, the smell is under here. Do I really wanna know? If I don't investigate; Abbie won't stop nagging.

Damn, it's dark down there. I guess we've got an old well or something under the barn. The darn flashlight is in the kitchen. That is a fantastic excuse for another beer. She's off, at her mom's place. I can drink all want. Alright! Time to investigate that hole.

At least I figured out where the smell is originating. I just wish it was down a deep, creepy hole. I dropped a rock down there, and it landed with a wet thud. I think I have a ladder that will reach the bottom. Sip the beer, turn the flashlight on, and explore this hole.

About halfway down I could make out the bottom of the hole. I could see a pair of shoes in the muck. I'm not sure how those got there, but okay. It looks like an old t-shirt too. I wonder what Chuck was doing down here. He was a unique character. The man could down a bottle of bourbon, like a fish could breathe water. Note, the flask I found up top. It stinks down here. Jeezus, Chuck.... what the hell were you hiding in this hole?

What the hell??? No way!!! Chuck??? I flew up that ladder, like a bat outta hell. Did I see that? It couldn't be what I think I saw. I mean, it could be, but how? Chuck never mentioned an old well, under the barn. If that is what, or who I think it is... How could that be? I'm gonna take a walk, to the fridge, and think this over. A cold beer is good for thinking.

What should I do? Should I call the police? How do I explain that to Abbie? What if they think I did it? What do I do? I can't just leave him there! I have to do something. Okay.... I'll finish this beer, and flip a coin. If it lands heads up, I'll call the authorities. If I get tails, bury it.

With Abbie at her mom's place, I have time for another couple of beers. This is freaking me out. So what if I smell like a brewery when she gets back. She will understand, right? I'll shut off the lights in the barn, and shut the door. Abbie never goes into the barn. No... I can see her car coming up the road. I snuck back to the kitchen before she could see me.

I'll shower, yea, I'll shower. That always feels good, and it will hide my stink. I love my shower. I built it myself too. It looks like a natural oasis... "Ethan!!!" Shit! No!

Series
Like

About the Creator

Devin Laughlin

Hey, I'm just a dude who likes to write. Or, to be more honest.... I seem to be able to express myself through written words much better than spoken.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.