Fiction logo

Chicken Noodle Soup is the Best Cure

For the Yearning Soul

By Samantha Jamison Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Chicken Noodle Soup is the Best Cure
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I wait impatiently for my phone to ping as I stare at it. I realize I haven't blinked in a while and my eyes are dry. She never takes this long to message back. God, she's bored with me already. NO. No, she just hasn't looked at her phone. I decide this is stupid, just waiting like this, so I get up to make myself some dinner.

I'm washing rice when I hear my phone ping and I drop the bowl immediately and run to my phone.

"I sick flu"

"YES!" I yell. I mean, that sucks she's sick. But this is my chance. I can go take care of her. Make her soup and give her medicine.

I give my cat food, gather my things and run out the door. I have to stop at the store for medicines and ingredients for the best (and my favorite) cure: chicken noodle soup. She's going to fall in love with me for sure. Who doesn't want someone who cooks?!

By Calum Lewis on Unsplash

After I pay for everything and pack the car, I unnecessarily speed to her apartment. What would normally have been a 15 minute drive, took just 5 minutes. It takes her a couple minutes to get to the door and open it. God, she looks disgusting and beautiful at the same time and I don't know how she's doing it.

"Hey there. How are you feeling?" It was a stupid question, I know, but all that I could think to ask in the moment. She swayed a little, so I put my bags down and helped her to her bed; she didn't even say hi back but I did see her smile a little.

I tucked her into bed and then turned back to go grab the groceries, but she reached out her arm and grabbed my hand, pulling me back with whatever strength she had.

"Don't," she whispered.

"I'm just going to grab the things I brought and I'll come back and take care of you, okay?" I whispered back to her, pushing hair from her face. She smiled again and nodded slightly. Seconds later she was snoring, so I got up and started prepping.

After I gave her some medicine to reduce her fever, I began the soup.

Starting with dicing the onions, crushing the garlic and chopping the celery and carrots. I spice up the chicken with some seasonings and toss it in the pot with oil, chicken sizzling immediately as it hits the hot pot.

When that's done, I remove the chicken and set it aside to shred it. I throw all the veggies in that same pot and spice those up too, just a little bit and allow them to cook for a couple of minutes and then I pour in bone broth. Bone broth is full of nurtients and I use it for any and all things that call for broth; I could literally just sip on bone broth. Damn, this is gonna be a good soup.

Once that began boiling, I put in egg noodles and tossed the chicken back in after shredding it and throw in a couple of bay leaves for good measure. Now the only thing to do is wait for the noodles to be soft, I can cool it down and serve it up. Hopefully she wakes up soon..

By Karolina Kołodziejczak on Unsplash

After about 2 and a half hours go by, I see her get up and go to the bathroom. She comes out, rubbing her eyes and looks at me. I smile at her and she smiles back.

"When did you get here?" she croaks.

"Like 2 hours ago. I made you some soup. I'll have to heat it up though." I say as I get up.

"You made me soup?"

I nodded.

"And brought me medicine?"

"Mmhm," I mumble. Suddenly her arms are around me, squeezing me tight. I turn to face her and she burries her face in my chest.

"You're so good to me," she says. I just smile and breathe deeply; taking in this moment.

She had 2 bowls of soup and fell asleep with her head on my lap as I rubbed her hair back from her face.

It was all totally worth catching the flu later on.

LoveShort StoryHumor
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Jamison

I'm back into writing and can't wait to get some stories that have been moving around in my head. I love to write fiction and I love to journal. My hopes are to become a better writer and avid reader. I love wine and cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.