Fiction logo

Chicken laying eggs to repay debts

Folktales

By FernandoPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
Like

Long ago, in a small mountain village in the northeast of mainland China, there lived two families. The younger brother's family lived in the east courtyard and the older sister's family lived in the west courtyard, with only a wall separating the two families. My younger brother's family is poor, and sometimes he eats before the next meal. Although my sister's family cannot be said to be wealthy or wealthy, they are not worried about food or clothing, and they are well fed and clothed.

On the Dragon Boat Festival of this year, my younger brother's grain tank was empty again, and he sent his child to his sister's house to borrow grain. Coincidentally, my sister was grinding noodles in the mill, so she picked up a small gong full of noodles and asked the child to bring them back.

In the blink of an eye, it was the wheat harvest season, and the wheat harvest at my younger brother's house was quite good. My younger brother planned to return the noodles from his borrowed sister's house. My younger brother thought, 'Anyway, my sister's family doesn't lack this kind of thing, and I'm just taking a walk.' So he turned the gong upside down and covered it with a shallow layer. It looked like it was full on the surface, so he sent the child to my sister. Of course, my sister wouldn't mind it. She had no intention of asking my younger brother, so the matter passed like this.

One day, my younger brother died of an emergency. When my younger brother woke up, he suddenly realized that he had become one of the little hens under the care of the big hen in my sister's house. This little hen remembers everything from her previous life clearly. It knows that it owes its sister when it was a person in its previous life, and has to repay it when it is a chicken in its current life.

The little hen is gradually growing up, and one day it will lay eggs. It thought to itself, 'I can't lose my sister this time. I will definitely lay a big egg to repay her.'. It was suffocating and suffocating, with all its heart set on making the egg grow bigger, until its crown turned red and red. It couldn't hold it anymore, and a large egg landed on the straw in the chicken coop. This hen looks back and, oh, it's quite big.

The hen ran to her sister happily, flapping its wings and shouting loudly, "Big one, big one." That means telling her that I didn't owe you anything this time.

It is said that from then on, a tradition has formed among hens. After laying eggs, they always run to the owner and shout to the left, "One is quite big, the other is quite big

In this way, this hen laid eggs at her sister's house for three years, paid off the debt she owed her sister from her previous birth, and then reincarnated.

Short StoryFantasy
Like

About the Creator

Fernando

Where is the tracing of the soul

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.