Fiction logo

Celeste and Little One

Because Dana and JBaz Made Me Do It

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
9
Celeste and Little One
Photo by Stainless Images on Unsplash

Celeste watched over the field as the other unicorns grazed beneath the rainbow arch. She could not bear to face them. It was her fiftieth Gathering Under the Rainbow, and she still had not found her rainbow. They would brand her with the colorless rainbow for sure. She would be an outcast, a pariah.

She would rather take herself out of the herd than have them shove her out.

With one last look at her friends and family, Celeste turned and ran down the opposite side of the hill, into the dark forest.

Shadows quickly surrounded Celeste, with streaks of light blurring across her body as she darted among the trees. She had no destination in mind, no care for the dangers that lurked around every corner. So long as she avoided the paths populated by man, she knew that she could take on anything that came her way. She just wanted to put some ground between herself and the herd that she was leaving behind.

Celeste came to a sudden halt as she heard a panicked neighing close by. She knew that a human path was in that same direction, but she could not ignore the neighing of a creature in need.

She galloped in the direction of the sound until she found a pony thrashing near a mighty oak. A rope snare had caught around his back hoof, and the poor creature could not figure out how to get himself out.

Celeste cautiously trotted toward the pony, her head lowered in submission.

“Hello,” she said. “I am Celeste. I am here to help.”

The pony gave Celeste a wide-eyed stare. Assessing her worthy of trust, the pony quit thrashing and bowed his head.

“I am Little One,” the pony said. “Can you really help me?”

“Yes, I can, Little One. You just need to hold still.”

Once certain that Little One would not kick out in surprise, Celeste approached the snare and used her diamond-hard horn to cut the rope. In no time, Little One was free.

Little One whinnied in pleasure and stood on his hindlegs, kicking his front legs in triumph.

“Thank you!” he cried out as he ran around in circles. “Thank you, thank you!”

“What are you doing all the way out here, Little One?”

Little One stopped galloping and faced Celeste.

“I was traveling with my humans when I heard a wolf’s howl and got scared,” he explained. “I broke free, and here I am. What about you? What is a unicorn doing so far in human territory?”

Celeste gestured back where she had come from.

“I was in Rainbow Meadow,” she said, “but I ran off.”

Little One shook his head.

“Why? Did you hear a wolf?”

“No. I have not found my rainbow.”

“What do you mean?”

“Unicorns must find their rainbow by their fiftieth Gathering Under the Rainbow, or else they will be ostracized.”

Little One shook his head again, as though unable to grasp such an idea.

“But why?”

“It just is how it’s always been.”

Little One snorted.

“Unicorns are stupid.”

Celeste reared her head back.

“Unicorns aren’t stupid! You’re the one who couldn’t get out of a snare trap.”

“But unicorns push out those who are different,” Little One argued. “I am smaller than the horses that the humans have, but they still accept me. Unicorns are stupid.”

Celeste stamped her hoof.

“Yeah, well…at least we are not held captive by humans.”

“At least I don’t have a rainbow coming out of my butt!”

Celeste’s eyes widened.

“I…what?”

Celeste turned around in circles, a rainbow trail following her behind.

“I have a rainbow!” she said excitedly. “I have a rainbow!”

I can go back home, she thought.

Then she thought about what Little One had said. The same loved ones that would now accept her because she was like them, would not have accepted her when she was not like them. Could she really go back to them?

Celeste glanced at Little One.

“Where are you going?” she asked.

Little One looked around, confused.

“I…do not know. What about you?”

“I do not know, either.” Celeste blinked slowly. “Do you want to not know, together?”

Little One bowed his head.

“I would like that.”

Celeste and Little One walked, side-by-side, together through the forest, unsure of where they were going but knowing that they would be accepted by at least one creature wherever they went.

Fantasy
9

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    A little bit rude of the pony, since the unicorn had just done him a little. But he is not wrong!

  • Isabella Rose3 months ago

    Someone that I love with my very essence, soul, and heart calls me his "Little One." Just like the pony in the story, I'm very small. I'm only 5 foot tall. This made me smile.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    A story about the birth of a new friendship, what a great tale. I liked the realization part at the end. So glad you partook in this non challenge, challenge.

  • Awww, Celeste helped Little One get out of the snare trap and Little One helped Celeste realise that unicorns are indeed stupid, lol. Loved your story so much!

  • Thavien Yliaster3 months ago

    Got a bit of time to read this at work and it was funny. It reminded me of "Horton Hears A Who" when that one kid talked about how their spec is filled with unicorns that eat butterflies and poop rainbows. Those unicorns must be pretty buff cause butterflies are packed with protein. Unicorn culture is odd in that they would kick out members of their herd that 50+ who didn't find their rainbow yet. It makes me think about asexual/aromatic people that struggle to find people attractive and feel that they have to be in a relationship because society says so, and also about ageism in general. With ageism being presented in here You'd figure that there'd be herds of rainbowless unicorns that are wise being that they're all 50+ and even a few younger ones that haven't found their rainbows and left their previous herds prematurely as not to get kicked out, and that sometimes younger unicorns that joined rainbowless herds would eventually find their rainbow and then be ostracized by a few members of the rainbowless group. "You're not one of us! You're just a phony!" Great, now that makes me think about bisexuals in heterosexual relationships receiving internalized hate for not having a idealistcally conforming relationship to the views of other members of the LGBTQ+ community. Hate is still hate, and it exists everywhere, especially when people wrongfully discriminate (like dem unicorns). Back to the unicorn excommunication, I wonder if the unicorns that are kicked from their herd are capable of surviving on their own. Some legends say that unicorns are practically immortal, incapable of dying of old age. As most horses would die in less than 30 years. Would they be predated upon more readily, and what would want to prey on them? I'm currently thinking that wolf packs and mountain lions would hunt unicorns. Just look at lions take down wildebeest. I'm thankful that Celeste and Little One found each other and got along. I feel that although Celeste is supposed to be the wise one here, that she'll end up relying on Little One's practicality when it comes to seeing the world. Also, what do unicorns eat to have rainbows come out of their butt? Crystal, maybe that drink tons of water and their digestive tract makes extra moist fats which give off rainbows in certain lighting effects, are they like fireflies and have a gland near their tail end that they can use to make rainbows? Who knows? Whatever it is, it sure looks magical, but probably not as nice smelling. Nice one, Steph.

  • So for 49 gatherings she was just constipated? Beautifully sweet fable with a tender moral all should heed.

  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    So cute!! 🌈🦄

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    lol, out of her butt :D

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.