Fiction logo

Cast Aside

Outside looking in

By Colleen Millsteed Published 20 days ago 1 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Being part of a community is an inherent need of humanity. Part of a family, a group of friends, career colleagues and neighbourhood community.

It’s where human beings thrive.

But for some unknown reason, I find myself usually on the outside looking in. Always the outcast.

Yet those involved in these communities never even notice that I’m absent.

Never missed!

Whatever happened to the old saying, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder?”

It’s a lonely existence for one to live and goes against the grain of that inherent need that makes us human, but I do try to fit in.

I was challenged to write a drabble of the word 'absent'.

Wikipedia defines a drabble as follows :

A drabble is a short work of fiction of precisely one hundred words in length. The purpose of the drabble is brevity, testing the author's ability to express interesting and meaningful ideas in a confined space.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

Microfiction
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran20 days ago

    This was so sad. I used to feel that way before, during school and university. Luckily it's over now. Loved your drabble!

  • Gloria Penelope20 days ago

    Your poem reminds me of my daily life. Always alone, never missed! I loved it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.