Fiction logo

Caribbean Cool

Summer Fling

By Jamie DuncanPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

The blazing heat of the warm sun's glittering rays fall down upon the white sandy beach. A loud thunderous wave crashes onto the shore. I hear someone saying to others that they have to get out of the area, because the tide will becoming in-land shortly. The serene scent of the combination of the sea, the air, and the sand in a calming voice tells me everything will be okay. They will protect me as they have the countless others before me. I wipe the sand off of my body. Picking up my pink and purple surf board, I know it's time. I wonder the the mystical magic of the ocean has in-store for me today. Walking into the water with the board under my arm, I look down to make sure I don't step on the practically invisible, evil creatures that could push their poison into my body by stinging my feet, known only as jellyfish. I have never encountered one, but I have heard the horror stories.

The water line comes to my waist. I climb on the board, laying flat on my stomach. Slowly, I paddle a little ways out where there are a few other surfers. Noticing the guys in their wet-suits, sitting on their surf boards, I mention that this is actually my first time. The man with wavy, shoulder length, light-brown almost sandy-blonde hair asks how my balance is. I tell him exactly how great my balance is between my gymnastics, martial arts, cheer-leading, and dancing. Coaching me, he suggests, to get a feel for the waves first, then listen because the ocean will tell me when to go. Quickly, I jump to standing position. Without thinking, I catch my first wave. Swaying back, forth, side to side, I find my balance isn't what it is on the balance beam or even in Tae Kwon Do. I'm doing it! In that instant, I completely lose my balance, and fall off the board. The ocean has beaten me. The water from the waves crush my body, making it feel like a thousand knives are pushing into my chest all at once. A strong hand grabs my arm and pulls me up, and carries me out of the water.

While I am still half unconscious, he gently sets me down upon the hot white sand. I open my eyes to the man whom tried to teach me how to surf. He asks if I am okay. I really don't know if I am or not, but I tell him I am fine. Taking my hand and helping me to my feet he introduces himself as Kyle Hansen, but his friends call him Ky. I let him know my name is Amara Bonanno. With sincerity, I thank him for saving my life and ask if I could buy him a hamburger from that hamburger hut along the sidewalk. As Ky and I walk along the west side of the island of Little Stirrup Cay in the Bahamas, I have come to the realization that the ocean has a power that I don't yet understand.

With the burgers and drinks in hand, we sit at the picnic table on the left side of the burger hut. I ask Ky how does he do what he does. He lets me know it takes a lot of hard work and practice. Not meaning to change the subject, I ask him about the chain he is wearing around his neck. He tells me it's a reminder of his faith. We begin to start talking about God and our belief systems. In a cute, yet demanding way, Ky tells me to take off my flip-flops. I'm thinking he is about to rub my feet. He tells me to stand up. I do as he says, but I ask why. He says the only way to get over a fear is to face it. He explains he wants me to walk barefoot until I am ready to leave the beach, and he will be with me the whole time. He tells me that I have nothing to be afraid of.

We walk back to the shoreline. Ky takes my hand and walks me into the water. With his hands, he takes the water and starts splashing me. I splash him back. Fair is fair! We begin splashing each other like five year old children. I'm not thinking about those evil jellyfish anymore. I dive under water, swim towards him, and pull him under the water by the waist of his swim trunks. He chases me as I swim away as fast as I can. I feel that familiar strong hand grabbing my leg as Ky is pulling me to him. I twist my body to face him. Our eyes meet. His hands are on my waist. Slowly he brings my body closer to his. Our lips are like magnets getting closer and closer until our lips gently touch. Softly, he whispers, "I'm sorry. I shouldn't have done that."

I reply, "What," as I realize he just kissed me, "Wait! Why not?"

"I haven't taken you out on our date yet."

"Who says, I'll go out with you?"

"Oh, I don't know. I only saved your life."

"How do you know I don't have a boyfriend?"

"If you had a boyfriend, he would have been here on the beach with you, and I wouldn't have been the lucky guy who saves the beautiful maiden."

"You're right. I don't have a boyfriend, but you can't just assume that I'll go out with you; even though, you're totally gorgeous."

"Okay." He takes a breath. "Amara, will you have dinner with me tonight?"

"Yes."

"What hotel are you staying at?"

"The Oceana. Room 413."

"Small world. I'm in 420. This is fate. Would you like a ride back to the hotel?"

"Sure."

"How does six o'clock sound?"

"Sounds good."

Kyle asks if I am about ready to head back to the hotel, so I can relax and get ready for our date tonight. I let him know that I need to gather up my stuff; and then, I'll be ready to go.

We get to the hotel, and since we are both on the same floor, he asks if he could walk me to my door. With a smile on my face, I let him know that I would like that. We stop at my door. He kisses me and tells me he will see me tonight. I feel like I am in heaven.

The moment I close the room door behind me, I drop my beach bag on the floor. Still feeling like I am in a daze, I take a nice long hot shower. The moment I turn the shower water off, I hear a knock at my door. Wrapped in the biggest hotel towel I could find, I answer the door to my best friend, Lane standing there with a smirk on his face. He just walks in and takes a seat on the bed. I say, "Oh, come in then."

Lane asks, "Who's the guy?"

"Oh, Ky. He's just the hottie that saved my life this afternoon."

"What?"

"Yeah, I tried surfing. Come to find out, I suck at it. How was skydiving?"

"Good, but let's get back to the whole saving your life thing."

"I wiped out and he rescued me from drowning under the water."

"Amara, I'm just glad you're okay."

"Lane, we have known each other a really long time. Hell, you are my best friend, and let's be real, until Ky saved my life, I had a small crush on you. Why do you think I came out here with you and your family? I was hoping you would notice me like that, but you didn't. And because you don't like me like that, I accepted when he asked me on a date. I wasn't going to wait around for you all my life. Now can you please go? I have a date to get ready for."

With his adorable smile wiped off of his face, he goes back to his room. As I put on my tight, black, cocktail dress, I wonder if I should have told my best friend my true feelings about him. I have always been attracted to the fact he is always smiling, and he his sweet. I am done wanting to be with some long haired, badass, gorgeous drummer, who doesn't see me the way I see him. I wonder why I am still thinking about Lane. Ky is just as good looking, and he sees me in the way I want to be seen. At least Ky doesn't know my little secret. I put on my 30 Seconds to Mars cd to listen to while I curl my hair, and put on my make-up. I'm already to go. I look at the clock and it is only five o'clock in the evening.

I knock on the door of Lane's room. With his long blond hair covering his bright blue eyes, he asks what I'm doing. I let him know I am ready for my date and I want his opinion as to how I look. All he says is that I look nice. I want to tell Lane that I am trying to look sexy, but I don't. I simply thank him. He asks what time is my date. I let him know it is at six this evening. Again, he tells me I look nice. I tell him he is not acting like the Lane, I know and love. He gives a quick smile, but then goes back to the look he had when I told him that I have a hot date and I am not waiting for him anymore. I give Lane a hug, and tell him, I will see him later. I assure him, I'll come hang out after my date.

Back in my room, I sit listening to a Sean Paul cd as I wait for Ky to show up. Finally, there is a knock on my door, at fifteen minutes to six o'clock. I open the door to Ky wearing his shoulder length hair pulled back. His blue eyes light up as he sees me. He asks if I am ready to go. I ask where he is taking me. He lets me know he made reservations at one of the two restaurants in this hotel. I ask which one. He asks how I like Italian food. He tells me that since I am an Italian girl, he thought I would like it best. I am truly impressed. He actually listened to me when we talked on the beach. He takes my hand as I close the door behind us. Ky and I walk to the elevator hand in hand.

We get to the restaurant and he says we have a reservation. We follow the waitress, to our table overlooking the beach. As the waitress lights the red candle, Ky asks for a bottle of their best white wine. Over a glass of wine, I ask, "Why did you pick white?"

He replies, "With a woman as sweet as you are, I figured you would perfer the sweet taste of white over the bitterness of red."

"Oh, wow."

"What?"

"You actually pay attention."

"Yeah. Why wouldn't I?"

"You're a guy for one."

"You mean to tell me, you have never met a guy who has an interest in you? You are very beautiful, don't get me wrong, but looks don't last forever."

"I have and he is my best friend. I tell him everything. We are so close his mom is the one who invited me on their vacation. She is my second mom."

"And the two of you are just friends?"

"Yeah. He has never liked me in the girlfriend way, so you have nothing to worry about. So, tell me what do you do for a living?"

"I'm trying to break into acting or directing."

"That's cool. How about you?"

"Me. I'm a." Out of nowhere Lane is standing at our table. I say, "Dude, I am on a date."

Lane says, "Look, Tara told me to just come down here and tell you now."

I ask, "Tell me what?"

Lane says, "You're fun, smart, cute, and the best damn dancer I have ever seen. If things don't work out for you with this guy, date me. I didn't realize that what we have between us has always been more than friendship and when I realized it, I was scared that if we got together it would ruin what we have if we didn't work out."

Ky asks, "Is this the best friend?"

I reply, "This is Lane." I introduce them.

Lane says to Ky, "You better not be using her. Despite the fact she is a dancer, she is kind a faithful. So, don't hurt her."

Ky being the better man and realizing that Lane and I have something something between us, he Lane sit with us and have a few drinks. The three of us talk getting to know each other. Ky is willing to be just friends if I choose to give it a go with Lane. He even comments that they look enough alike to pass for brothers. With both looking at me, they both ask the question of what do I want. I have always wanted to be with Lane; and then, when I am ready not to want him, he wants me; therefore, I decide to choose Lane.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Jamie Duncan

I'm just love love and love writing love stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.