Fiction logo

Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit

Chapter 11

By Lydia BookerPublished 3 years ago 17 min read
Like
Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

Lillian sighed. She and I were sitting in the livingroom. Of course, after meeting Gerry, I was careful to make sure everything was closed up properly. Alphonse and Vanessa were also there, listening as I told Lillian everything. Now that I was finished, I waited for her to respond.

She finally spoke, "That's quite a bit to take in, Rydian." Then she looked sad, "When you told me your father wasn't coming for you, you were actually talking about your race. Humans, right? They weren't coming to get you."

I nodded, "Yeah. They decided I wasn't worth the trouble."

She spoke, "But aren't you their big hero?"

I sipped a drink I made for us, "Apparently not."

The drink was something like a tea except it was made with the leafs of large strange fruit at the bottom of a cup of boiling water. It actually tasted a lot like vanilla icecream. It was called malcia corvtot, but I decided the human name for it should be hot vanilla, like hot chocolate on Earth. If I had milk or some kind of cream to add to it, it would really have been a rival to hot chocolate. I knew a couple vanilla lovers who would have loved to get their hands on some. After a lot of lessons from Mimi, I learned basic Dixone, so I could now read some recipe books.

Lillian sighed, "I'm sorry, Rydian. I can see why you were so upset earlier."

I nodded, "Yeah, sorry about that. To all of you. I guess I had a bit of a meltdown back there. I'm not used to being the leader, especially in such a bad situation. Usually it’s my own skin I have to watch, even as I save others. Even as I saved the Armada and all of Earth from the Plakters, I did it by myself. I was responsible for myself. If I failed, I was the only one who really paid for it. Now, it’s me, you two, and the klitons who know and keep it secret."

I rubbed my face, "This really isn't what I expected of my future as a Space Captain. Call me naive or stupidly optimistic, but I never saw it coming."

Vanessa smiled, "Don't be so hard on yourself, Captain. Like Ms. Lillian said, you made it this far. We will find a way. I'm sure of it."

Alphonse nodded in agreement, "You've never failed before. Why should anyone think you will now? You're the bravest, smartest, most impressive person I have ever known in all my life. In truth, I had always wanted to meet you after learning of everything you had done."

I smirked, "Really?"

He smiled, "When the Commander told me I was to serve under you, I thought it was a joke. Then I realised it was true." He smiled happily, remembering, "I remember the moment you stepped into the hanger to see your new ship and crew. I couldn't calm my racing heart. I felt like a child meeting their big hero. You had this power and energy that filled the entire room. Even the other crews in the hanger couldn't take their eyes off of you."

I chuckled, "Now you're just making stuff up to make me feel better." I smiled, "But, thank you, Alphonse."

Lillian smiled, "You see? You're special. If anyone can succeed, it’s you!"

I smiled, "Thanks."

She sighed sadly, "Though, I wish my father wasn't being so cruel to you. I can't believe he would do such a thing." She smiled at me, "Thank you for not letting him ruin our friendship. It would have broken my florence if you stopped being my friend like that."

I shrugged, "I figured it would, and I would never want to hurt you. I wouldn't hurt anyone, but especially you. You're my friend."

She surprised me by kissing my cheek. I know my face went red at that moment. It was especially obvious when she gasped, "Rydian, your face changed color!"

I laughed, "It's a human thing."

Vanessa smiled, "Yes. It’s what humans do when they are..."

I cut her off, "Not important." She giggled.

I quickly changed the subject, "Anyways, now I have to figure out how to build the ship. I could probably find the parts I need if I really look for them. Orville could probably help me find the parts in kliton technology. Then we have the blueprints for the ship, so that should be fine."

I groaned, "Now the trouble is using Qualta to power it. Without that, there's no point even bothering. I've managed to use small amounts of it to power simpler engines, but never a full size spaceship engine. That would take a lot of power. If I do it wrong, it could blow us up."

Lillian smiled, "Using Qualta for an engine? Like in a rocket?"

I nodded, "Yeah. Why?"

She giggled, "There's a bonus to being the daughter to such a well-known professor. He is involved in the rocket projects in the Capital. I could collect some of his files for you. I'm sure one of them would explain how the engine for their rocket is built and powered."

I smiled, "Lillian, that would be perfect!" Then I sighed, "But your father would never let you have them, especially not for me. I don't want you stealing from him for me."

She stood up, "If he can go and take matters into his own hands to hurt you, then so can I to help you." She hurried to the door, "I'll bring them for you tonight." She smiled as she opened the door, "We'll get you all home, Rydian. Just you wait." With that, she left.

Alphonse and Vanessa grinned at me. I gave them a look, ignoring the fact that I was blushing again, "Don't even think about it." They simply laughed.

That night, Professor Nick had just walked into his white house when he noticed it was empty. He looked around, "Lillian? Are you home?"

Suddenly, the lights went out and he heard a familiar voice again, "Afraid she's not, father dear."

He sighed, "Hilary."

She stepped out of the shadows with a grin, "I know where she is though."

He glared at her, "If you've laid a single finger on my daughter..."

She laughed, "Of course not! I'm not some evil monster. I leave that to the alien."

He gasped, "He has my daughter?"

She shrugged, "In a sense, yes. You see, she's helping him."

He scoffed, "I don't believe you. She doesn't even know."

She grinned coldly, "Doesn't she?"

He didn't like how that sounded, "What do you mean?"

Hilary sat in a chair comfortably, "She found out, and now she's helping him."

Professor Nick was furious, "No. I don't believe you. She would never..."

Hilary smirked, "Have you noticed any missing files in your office tonight, professor?"

He was surprised, "Missing files?" He gasped, "She stole my files? But, she would never. Not my Lillian."

She stood up, "Well, believe what you want, but I think your opinion will change once you go check your files again." With that, she stepped back into the shadows and the lights came back on. She was gone.

Professor Nick was silent. Surely his daughter wouldn't do something so horrible. Yet, he grabbed his bag and quickly hurried out.

I smiled as I looked over the files, "This is perfect! It all makes sense!" We were in the basement, looking over all the files Lillian had brought.

It was late, but everyone was there. Lillian, Orville, Rubi, Cleo, and even Gerry. Gerry offered to help me with my ship, since he was now my minion. The kid was enjoying it a little too much. I was starting to worry that he'd try to leave with me once I finished the ship.

I turned to Lillian, "Thank you, Lillian. With this, I should be able to finish the ship."

She smiled happily, "I'm glad."

Rubi smiled his love-sick smile, "You're really amazing, Lillian. Not too many girls could do what you did."

Orville sighed, "Yeah, I agree. Mostly because not too many girls have to be in your position. You should never have had to steal from your father, Lillian. He should have been willing to help of his own accord. He says he sees his students as family and looks out for them, but as soon as one of them really needs his help, he treats them like an outsider. Like a monster even." Lillian nodded, a little disappointed.

I spoke, "Well, maybe he'll go back to being nice Professor Nick once I'm gone."

Lillian sighed, "Maybe he'll go back, but I certainly won't. I don't think I could ever see him the same again after this." Orville nodded.

I felt a little bad, seeing as it was my fault he changed, "Hey, give him a chance. He was just trying to protect you as best he could, Lillian. I don't know much about dads, but I do know that even they can't always get it right. They're no less human... I mean, no less kliton than you are. Like everyone, they don't always make the best choices, but they do their best. Give him credit for that. At least he didn't tell the world my secret. That has to mean something, right?"

She smiled that smile at me, "You're sweet, Rydian." Of course, I blushed again.

Rubi laughed, "Whoa, his face turned red!" Then he thought of something, "Hold on, is that how humans blush?"

I blushed more, "No. It's just something that humans do. It's nothing like kliton blushing." Cleo and Orville grinned, far from convinced. Rubi didn't look too happy, but he didn't say anything.

I turned to Vanessa, "Vanessa, I need these files updated to the ship model blueprints, please."

She smiled, "Right away, sir. Please scan them and we'll be set." I handed the files to Alphonse and he started the scans in a machine connected to the screen.

I turned to Orville and the others, "Think you all can help me go find the parts I need? I know what they look like, but I'm not sure what klitons call them or how they use them."

Gerry raised his hand fast, "Oh, oh! I can help! My dad builds lots of stuff! I could get his guide book!"

I smiled, "Excellent. Bring that tomorrow and we'll get started." They cheered.

But, of course, things weren't going to be so easy.

At the same time, Professor Nick was searching through his files. He sighed as he looked at all the papers scattered over his desk. He ran a hand through his hair, "Oh, Lillian, what have you gotten yourself into?"

Then he became furious, "This is Rydian's fault. All he had to do was stay away from her. Now she's committing felons for him. I will not let him get away with this. Not with my daughter."

He walked over to his desk and pulled out what looked like a fat, cylinder phone. He clicked a few buttons on it and listened for a moment. He smiled, "Alvere. It's Nick. I need a favor. Remember the Clota Parr 7?"

He looked at the moon out his window, "How soon can you get me one?" His gaze was cold, "I plan to finish this myself."

By the evening of the next day, I had made incredible progress on my ship. After dropping out of class, I had a lot more time to work on the ship and, thanks to Lillian, I had everything I needed to put the ship together. The ship was nearly complete, aside from the engine. Even with the files, I still couldn't get it perfectly right. I was still missing something, but it wasn't going to be easy getting it.

I was working alone that evening. Vanessa watched from the screen, providing company while Alphonse was making slight adjustments to his cyborg parts. I guess without Earth's technology, his parts were getting a little worn down. I just hoped I could get us home before any of his parts could start failing.

I was surprised when Vanessa gasped, "Sir, my cameras just went dead."

I pulled off my mask and came up out of the top door of the ship, "They went dead? How's that possible?"

She shook her head, "I'm not sure. I could reboot them, but I need someone to override them on the controls."

I climbed out, "Alright, I got them." I slid down off the ship and walked over to the controls.

Just as I was about to push the buttons, someone spoke, "Hello, Rydian." I gasped and spun around.

There stood Professor Nick. He looked coldly at me. I also noticed he was wearing something odd. There were large, thick red gloves, matching thick red boots, and a band around his head that was also red. They all connected by cords to the spine-like device on his back that was held on him by three straps around his torso. All in the shades of red.

I looked him over, "Professor. What are you doing here?"

He spoke, "I told you to stay away from Lillian. I would have let you alone if you'd have just done as I asked. Now she's stealing from me, lying to me, and keeping secrets from me. All because of you."

I could see this was going sour fast, "First of all, you have no right treating me like some villain. I would never hurt Lillian. Secondly, she found out herself and asked to help on her own. I never told her and I never asked her. And third, it was her own choice to steal those files. She knew you would never help, so she decided that, like you, she would take matters into her own hands. Like father, like daughter, from the looks of it, except that she actually cares."

He suddenly charged at me and swung his fist. I managed to duck out of the way, but he smashed the controls to pieces. I was shocked, "It’s an enhancement suit." I got to my feet and got out of the way as he attacked again.

I turned to Vanessa, "Battle suit! Now!"

She nodded, "Yes, sir!" She immediately opened the cylinder chamber that had my battle suit pod. It looked like a white and teal metal backpack with a large glowing blue light on it.

I hurried to it, "Distract him!"

Vanessa activated her laser system, "Yes, sir!" The lasers shot in Professor Nick's direction, but not at him. Though, when they did hit, it only left a slight burn. They were a lot like the lasers cadets had, so they wouldn't hurt him too bad. Like I said before, I didn't come to Klicta to put blood on my hands.

I stood with my back against the pod as I undid my ponytail and it opened up. Metal parts spread across my arms, torso, and legs. A helmet covered my head, letting my hair hang out the bottom, while a transparent visor stretched across my mouth and nose. I was now in a white and teal battle suit with long gloves and boots and the pod on my back.

I faced Professor Nick as Vanessa stopped the lasers, "Now, here you are, trying to kill me. You've really fallen low, professor. I really thought better of you."

He charged at me and punched my chest, but was surprised when it didn't do anything. I sighed, "I'm from a planet far more advanced than yours, meaning our technology is far stronger."

He glared at me, "I disagree." He turned a dial on the back of his left wrist and the cords started to glow red. He threw a punch and actually knocked me back a couple feet.

Vanessa gasped, "Captain!"

I got back to my feet and blocked another punch, then kicked him away from me. He fell on his back, but got right back up. He was pretty durable for an older guy, but I guess having stages had its benefits. Not growing older with time made him technically young and strong, so long as he was an Adult. And I doubted he was going to mature right in the middle of our fight.

We fought back and forth around the basement. Though, I was careful not to let him damage my ship. I couldn't afford to lose it now.

I was surprised when he got behind me and punched my pod, sending a painful electric shock through my body. I fell to my hands and knees, panting. I'd been shocked many times before, so it wasn’t that bad for me, but now the suit was drained, making it more of a liability than an asset at that moment. After all, it was very heavy without its anti-gravity charge.

I pulled myself to my feet, but he knocked me right back down again. I groaned as I tried to get up, "Dang it. Why is the suit so vulnerable? It’s a battle suit, for crying out loud!"

Vanessa gasped, "Captain, be careful!" I looked up to see the professor about to attack me again, I now being completely defenceless against his powerful punch.

Suddenly, his fist hit a teal glass wall right in front of me. He was surprised as he looked around himself. He was inside a teal glass container of sorts. He punched again and again, but it was no use. The energy of the containment deactivated everything inside. Thanks to my little projects with the Qualta, it also deactivated anything with Qualta too, from his suit to his watch.

He glared at me, "You won't get away with this!"

I pushed a couple buttons on my suit, closing it back up into the pod, "Get away with what? I haven't done anything." I turned to Vanessa, who looked relieved.

She smiled, "Thank goodness Alphonse upgraded that containment field. Otherwise, I wouldn't have been able to activate it."

I smiled, "Thanks, Vanessa."

I looked at Professor Nick, "You really have disappointed me, professor." I turned and walked over to Vanessa, "Let's get back to work. The sooner we finish, the sooner we're off this crazy planet."

"Father!" We looked to see Lillian and Orville. Orville was holding several pieces of tech I asked him to find for me while Lillian had a bag of stuff I could use to make more parts. They looked shocked by the scene. Professor Nick in the containment field, me looking a mess, and the rest of the room looking no better.

I sighed, "Oh, now you decide to show up."

Lillian dropped the bag and ran over, but not to her father. She hugged me, "Are you alright, Rydian?"

I sighed, "Yeah, I'm fine. Luckily he didn't damage the ship."

She let go with a smile, "That's good. It would have been such a shame if it had been damaged."

Professor Nick spoke, "Lillian! You stay away from him! He's not even a kliton!"

She turned to him, "I know that. He's a human from a planet called Earth." She looked annoyed with her father as she continued, "He just became a Space Captain and came to this planet to do some research. Though, he recently learned he ended up on the wrong planet. He was never supposed to be on Klicta because Earth believes we are a dangerous race that would wish them harm. But when he tried to leave, he got stranded. He knew the only way he could go home was if his planet sent a rescue."

She looked sad, "But they didn't. They abandoned him because this planet is just too dangerous, even to save their planet's great hero. Now Rydian has to build this ship to get home." She looked angry, "But he can't because of klitons like you and Hilary trying to kill him! It’s klitons like you who are keeping him from getting home, proving everything Earth believes about us. That we are evil, dangerous creatures." She looked away from him, "After seeing everything you've done, I agree."

Professor Nick looked guilty, "Lillian, I was just..."

She turned her back to him, "I don't want to hear your excuses. If you would listen and open your mind and florence to new possibilities, you would have known all that. We did, right, Orville?"

Professor Nick seemed to only just realize Orville was there, "You too?"

Orville sighed, "Yeah, and Rubi and Cleo. We've known a long time now. We found out by accident. He could have killed us then and there, but he didn't. He's not a bad kliton, or human." He smiled, "Because I knew the truth, I knew he was in trouble in the Capital. That's how I saved him from Hilary and helped him get home before anyone could realize the truth."

He looked at the professor, "He's my friend and friends look out for each other. That's something you taught me." Professor Nick was silent.

I sighed, "I don't care if you believe me or trust me, professor. I don't need it. I just need a little time so I can leave. Once I leave, you never have to worry about me again. I'll be out of your hair, ok?" I turned to Vanessa, "Let him out."

Vanessa looked worried, "Are you sure, sir? His suit will come back on once I do."

I glanced at the professor, "I think he's done enough damage for one day." Vanessa nodded and released Professor Nick.

Professor Nick walked up to Lillian, "Lilli..."

She turned from him, "Just leave." He clearly wanted to talk to her, but sighed and left.

I sighed, "Now, as for the ship, we still need a part. Something for the engine. Without it, it could still run the risk of blowing up once we're out in space."

Lillian looked determined, "What do you need us to do?"

I scratched my head, "That's the thing, I don't really know." I turned to the screen with the blueprints next to Vanessa, "We need that circular piece right there." Vanessa highlighted it for me.

Orville grinned, "Oh, that looks like the Harpercole. It’s a really fancy new piece of technology. Though, there's only three, and they're in the Capital in the Enforcers Station."

I sighed, "Just my luck."

Vanessa gasped, "Oh my gosh." She looked quite horrified, "Captain, you'll want to see this." I turned to her as she made a camera feed appear.

I gasped in horror, as did Lillian and Orville. Floating high above Tintale Town was none other the Galactic Armada. Hundreds of smaller ships flew around it, which I knew where flown by the Commander's Sentries. Their red and yellow lights lit up the sky like fire.

I was shocked, "The Armada."

Then an image appeared on screen. It was Commander Mayn, looking serious and powerful. I knew this video was playing on every screen on Klicta. She spoke boldly, "People of Klicta. I am Commander Mayn of Planet Earth. Your actions of the past have sealed your fate. We, the humans of Earth, now take full control of your planet. Surrender peacefully, or suffer the consequences."

Orville looked confused, "What did she say?"

I looked at them, then remembered, "That’s right. You can't understand our languages. She doesn't have Dixione programmed into her translator."

Lillian was confused, "Humans speak another language?"

I nodded, "Yeah. If not for my translator, I wouldn't be able to understand you all and you wouldn't be able to understand me."

Orville looked worried, "So, what did she say?"

I sighed, "The only thing that involves the entire Galactic Armada force." I looked dead serious, "They're taking over Klicta."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Booker

Just someone here to tell a story. A story of another world, of new people and places, of adventures beyond imagination.

Are you ready to hear them?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.