Fiction logo

Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit

Chapter 9

By Lydia BookerPublished 3 years ago 11 min read
Like
Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

I gasped as the cords sparked dangerously. I jumped back, but tripped over something I'd left on the floor. I would have fallen, but someone caught me. I looked to see Alphonse.

I sighed as I got back to my feet, "Thanks, Alphonse."

He looked over my mess of cords and metal on the table, "May I ask what you're doing, sir?"

I'd been waiting for him to ask. I was excitedly waiting to answer that question all morning, "What I should have done from the beginning; I'm building a spaceship."

Alphonse was as surprised as I had hoped, "A spaceship, Captain?"

I nodded as I looked over my work, "I've researched every ship there is on Earth and know them inside and out. Not to mention I've been repairing ships most of my life. If there's anything I could do, it's build a simple spaceship to get us back to Earth."

He watched me as I got back to work, "But we have no source of power."

I grinned, even more excited for my big project, "I'm going to use Qualta. I'm close to a breakthrough in using it on Earth technology. If I get it right, I can use it to power the ship."

Alphonse seemed to think about it as he watched me, then smiled, "Then I am at your service, Captain. What do you need me to do?"

I was glad to see his confidence in me, "Grab whatever I ask for and take cover if something blows up."

He smiled with a salute, "Yes, sir!"

Just then, Vanessa appeared on screen, "Sir, your friends are here."

I could see I wasn't the only one those three klitons were growing on, "Let them in, Vanessa."

She giggled, "Good to hear, because..."

That's when Rubi walked in, "Hey, Rydian!"

I sighed as Orville and Cleo joined him, "Why am I surprised?" Then I noticed the pieces I was working on start hissing. I gasped as I moved back, "Take cover!" I ducked down as it popped, shooting little pieces around the basement. Alphonse and the others ducked behind crates and other things.

Once it stopped, I came up slowly, peeking at the object. I grinned as I saw the large core piece at the center running on blue and red energy. I laughed as I picked it up, "It worked! The micro engine is running on Qualta!"

Alphonse came out, "Congratulations, Captain." The others came out from behind a large crate.

Orville looked curious, "Why are you trying to make an engine work with Qualta?"

I smiled proudly, "Because I, Space Captain Rydian, am going to build a spaceship."

Cleo was amazed, "Really? A real spaceship?"

I nodded as I set the micro engine down, "Seeing as Klicta has yet to invent the spaceship..."

Rubi scoffed, "No, but we have invented a rocket. We'd been to the moon!"

I was surprised, "Wait, really?" Then I groaned, "I never did go listen to the recording of that one class, did I?" I turned back to them, "Well, I've decided to build a ship to take me back to Earth."

Cleo looked a little sad, "You still want to leave, Rydian?"

I sighed as I leaned back against the table, "Cleo, even if I did want to stay, it's too dangerous. With Hilary still out there, I'm still in danger. I have to leave. It's better for everyone, including you three. If I get caught and they find out you three have been helping me..."

Rubi caught on, "Busted."

I nodded, "Yeah, so I need to get back to Earth. I'm a human, and humans belong on Earth. It's the way it is. Maybe one day it'll be different, but for now, I need to get home."

Orville understood with a smile, "We understand. And if you need any help, we're completely at your service, Rydian."

Cleo nodded, "Just promise you'll visit after you leave."

I was once again glad to have found such good friends, "Sure. I'll try."

Vanessa spoke as she looked at the time, "Captain, you should head to work now. You still have a cover to keep and we still need links if we want things to run smoothly. Skip any more days and you may find yourself not only fired from your job, but also with a visit from Professor Nick himself."

I sighed as I started fixing my appearance, "That's true. Alright, I'll head out now."

About a dot later, I was putting away books at the library. Lillian was working behind the desk, so I had time to return the many books back to their proper places on the shelves. It was a pretty easy job, even if it gave me a headache after a while trying to remember the order of the Klicta letters and numbers.

Funny enough, Ms. El did find out I was a guy, but she didn't fire me. Seems Lillian was right about proving myself. She couldn't even think of firing me after how well I'd done since starting. Though, she did say she wasn't pleased with me missing work, but she'd heard from Lillian about what happened in the Capital and about my family issues and decided to give me a second chance.

So, I did my work as I always did. Though, this time was different. There was a young brown kliton watching me. He had short brown hair, dark brown skin, and big brown eyes that matched his big smile. He had to be a Child, or maybe just a short Adolescent. Either way, he looked maybe eleven in age if compared to a human.

He continued to watch me work from his seat at one of the tables. He watched my every move. I tried to ignore him, I really did, but I just couldn't. It was creeping me out. So, I finally walked over.

I stood in front of him, "Wanna tell me why you keep staring at me?"

He gave me a big grin, "Greetings and welcome to Klicta, sir."

Yeah, you can imagine my confusion, "Huh?"

He smiled again, "I know all about you! I see you from my bedroom window every day!"

Now I was really confused, "I'm sorry, what?"

He grinned and held out his hand, "My name is Gerry! I live in Herring too! I see you from my telescope in my room! Everyday!"

I felt my heart skip a beat, "You... watch me... with a telescope..?"

He nodded, "Yep! That's how I know your secret! I've seen you change a few times!"

I could have fainted at that moment, but I stayed calm, "S-seen me change? H-how so?"

He happily pointed at me, "Your hair and eyes. I also see the female kliton on the tv and the weird other kliton who serves you." He smiled big, "Is he your butler?"

I was petrified. This kid knew everything!? How could I let this happen?! How could it happen?! I was in so much trouble! What was I going to do!?

He smiled at me, not at all noticing my inner panic attack, "Don't worry, I won't tell."

I looked at him, "What?"

He giggled, "I won't tell anyone you're a..." I suddenly covered his mouth.

He smiled and pulled me off, "Oops. Sorry, sir."

I sighed, "Tell you what? Why don't we talk about this later? Ok? When there are less klitons around?"

Gerry smiled, "Ok. I'll wait."

After I finished work, only a few minutes before I would have to get to class, I stood outside with Gerry. I looked him up and down as I crossed my arms, "Alright, kid, what do you want?"

He grinned, "Careful. Your language is starting to show."

I was confused, "What?"

He giggled, "Kid isn't a kliton word, mister alien."

I sighed, "Rydian. My name is Rydian. And why are you so calm about this? If you know the truth, why haven't you told anyone?"

He smiled, "I've been a fan for a very long time, Mister Rydian. I always knew there was life beyond the stars." He smiled excitedly, "I am so excited! I told them there was life on other planets! I told them!"

I shushed him, "Easy, Gerry. Don't make a scene."

He calmed down, "Right. Of course. Sorry, sir."

I sighed, rubbing my face, "This just never gets easy."

He smiled, "Sir, if I may, I believe that if you give us a chance, you'll find that our planet is very valuable. Invading it would only cause massive chaos."

So that was his thinking. He believed I was here to scout a planet for invasion. Now, because he was such a fan of aliens, he wanted to try and negotiate with me. Like some hero in movies.

I rubbed my chin, playing along, "Is that right? And why should I believe you? Klicta is very advanced and full of power sources we don't have on my planet. And invasion would be far simpler."

Gerry smiled, "I'm sure it would, but so would an alliance. A peaceful solution is best." He smiled, "To prove it, I would like to become your kliton assistant! I can prove how helpful and peaceful klitons can be!"

I could see this kliton was naively, and insanely, optimistic. Way too many happy ending movies, for sure. I decided to try my threatening trick a third time since arriving on Klicta. I grinned coldly, "Why should I? And why should I trust you? A kliton who could tell everyone the truth at any moment? I should think not. I'm no fool."

Gerry looked determined, "You can trust me! I won't tell anyone! I promise!"

I scoffed, "Yeah right." I rubbed my chin, "Although, perhaps there is another option."

Gerry watched me, "There is?"

I smirked, "Here's the deal. You will become my minion. You will tell no one of my secret. In return, I will not invade Klicta." I crossed my arms, "Do we have a deal?"

He nodded, "Yes, sir! At your service, sir!"

I smirked, "Good. Then get going. I need to go to class. I will see you at tenth dot in front of my house. We will discuss matters then. Got it?"

He nodded, "Sir, yes, sir!" With that, he ran off, excited.

I sighed, "Well, that went well. I just hope he can keep his mouth shut until I can get off this planet." With that, I headed to class.

Though, class was no picnic either, even if I did get to see Vern dressed in pretty purple with her hair up in a bun. I spent the whole class feeling watched. And not just by someone in the shadows. No, I was being watched by Professor Nick. I didn't understand why, but I knew he was watching me suspiciously. Something was going on, and it worried me.

But I said nothing. I went about things like I always did. I pretended not to notice a thing. I could only hope I was just getting paranoid and it was actually nothing at all. Though, something told me it was something. Something serious.

I was proven right that night.

I opened the door and was surprised to find Professor Nick on my front step. I cleared my throat, "Uh, hey, Professor Nick."

He spoke calmly, "Hello, Rydian. May I come in?"

I stepped aside, "Sure, come right in." He walked in by me and I closed the door.

I stayed perfectly calm as I followed him into the livingroom, "So, what do I owe the pleasure of your visit, professor?"

He sighed, "I usually pay a visit to my students every once in a while, especially when they live alone. I like to know my students are doing alright."

I smiled, "Well, that's very thoughtful of you, sir. Thank you. I've been doing just fine. Finally recovered after that incident in the Capital. Just had a little bit of a family issue the other day, but it's fine now. I actually talked with Lillian about it. She was a big help."

Professor Nick almost seemed upset to hear I was talking with Lillian. That made me a little worried, but I stayed calm, "Is there something else, sir? If something's bothering you, you can just say it."

Professor Nick spoke without looking at me, "I'm curious, where did you live before coming here?"

I shrugged, "With my mom in Clairvon Town."

He looked over the simple little decorations around the room, all of which came standard with the house, "Does she still live there?"

I nodded, "Yes, sir. Well, mostly. She travels a lot."

He sighed, "For work?"

I nodded again, "Yes, sir."

He glanced at me, "What is her field?" That wasn't one I gave much thought to.

I jumped to my backup plan, "I kinda don't talk about those things, sir. It's personal stuff, and as an Adolescent..."

He sighed, "I know. I suppose I thought maybe you trusted me enough to tell me those things." He turned away.

That turned the pressure, and guilt, up. I spoke, "Sorry, sir. I kinda promised I wouldn't. My family worries about me, so they have me on some pretty strict rules. I'm sorry. I don't want you to feel like I don't trust you."

He spoke again without looking at me, "And what about you? Should I trust you?"

I was caught a bit by surprise, "Excuse me?"

He sighed, "Rydian, I..." He sighed and turned to me, his eyes stern. I'd never seen him this way before. He spoke with a low voice, "If you have any respect towards me, any at all, you will leave my daughter alone."

I was surprised by this sudden change of events, "Wait, what? Where did that come from?"

He looked coldly at me, "Don't act surprised. You and I know there is more to you than you let on. It’s one thing to lie to me or to everyone else, but I will not allow you to drag my daughter along. Don't pretend to be her friend. Just stay away from her." He didn't even let me have a say as he turned and walked out the front door, slamming it behind him.

I was dead silent. Utterly shocked. Did what I think happened really just happen?

Vanessa appeared on the tv, "Are you alright, Captain?"

I couldn't even answer her. I felt a heavy weight of guilt on my chest. I really did have great respect for Professor Nick. However, I also had a good friendship with Lillian.

I sighed and sat in the chair. Vanessa could see my feelings and didn't say a word, letting me think. Alphonse watched from the door to the next room where he was hiding.

Things really were starting to fall apart. I was terminated, I was being hunted down by a crazy kliton girl, Professor Nick hated me, and now I had to give up my friendship with Lillian. I just sighed, "Alphonse, Vanessa, how close are we to finding blueprints for kliton air crafts?"

Vanessa sighed, "We're working on it, sir."

I sighed, "Good. I want us off this planet ASAP. We can't risk Professor Nick telling anyone anything."

Vanessa looked sympathetic, but spoke, "Yes, sir."

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Booker

Just someone here to tell a story. A story of another world, of new people and places, of adventures beyond imagination.

Are you ready to hear them?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.