Fiction logo

Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit

Chapter 2

By Lydia BookerPublished 3 years ago 16 min read
Like
Captain Rydian of the Human Galactic Unit
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

I opened the bay door of the ship slightly and peeked out. No one in sight. I slipped out quickly and closed the door behind me. I looked around again, but still no one around.

I sighed once I was certain no one saw me, "Ok, so far, so good." I pulled out a silver pen, one of my new gadgets that could let me record information, while also working as a pin laser when necessary.

I spoke into the top as I looked around, "So, the first obvious fact of Klicta is the appropriate oxygen levels. Not at all different from Earth." I walked to the path as I continued to sight-see, "Though, there is a clear feel to the air here, much more than on Earth. Perhaps less factories? Maybe no factories at all? I'll have to look into that later."

I stepped on the path and headed towards town. I couldn't help but feel slightly nervous, but I stayed calm and relaxed. It's not like I was on some dangerous planet. The Commander made sure I was sent to a safe planet for my first mission. I trusted her judgement, so I was wasn't going to let myself get paranoid.

I walked into town to see klitons in every direction and of just about every color. It really was an incredibly colorful place. I was a bit worried I'd go blind if the sun hit some of those colors just right.

I walked down the sidewalk, passing the colorful buildings and klitons. There were lots of little kids playing outside on the sidewalk together. I saw men and women going about their day, usually with another kliton, even different colored ones. Obviously, klitons weren't racist about color like humans probably would be. I tapped the end of the pen to my chin, looking casual as I spoke inconspicuously into it, "Though their skin maybe of different colors, klitons show no sign of racism towards one another."

I smirked, thinking out loud to myself, "I'm almost starting to like this planet better than Earth already." I realized what I'd just recorded and erased it. It almost sounded like mutiny, and I couldn't have that.

I continued on until I reached what looked like a town square. Literally. It was a large square at the center of town. The road led in on all four sides and right into a big circle around the large platform with the giant white stone water fountain. I crossed the street and walked over to the fountain.

On the fountain were three bowls of water shaped like flowers that each let down water into the next bigger one, and lastly into a large pool at the bottom. I looked into the pool to see glowing triangle pieces of what looked like white crystal.

I picked one out to get a better look at it. It was crystal, or at least a gem with many similarities to crystal. A crystal triangle with a soft glow, which alone told me it wasn't a crystal like on Earth. I groaned as I realized it had to be the currency of Klicta. I should have thought to ask Vanessa about it earlier.

I dropped it back in, knowing what people would think if they saw me take a "coin" from the fountain. It was probably tossed in to make a wish. Then I thought about it. This isn't Earth. How could a simple human tradition like making a wish in a fountain be done here on Klicta? Surely they couldn't be so much alike to even share traditions. It just couldn't be possible, right?

I decided it was time to try conversing with a kliton, just to test how well the Translator would work. I crossed the street and walked into the first shop I saw. Inside was all shades of orange, which actually looked nice. There were cages with strange animals everywhere. From strange birds, to large furry creatures, to even lizard-like things that sent shivers down my spine.

There was not a doubt in my mind. I was in a pet shop.

I saw an orange kliton at the front counter playing with a tiny, furry mouse-like creature. It had blue fur with pink spots, big black marble eyes, and tiny round ears on top its head, along with a tail that was long and furry like a long-haired cat tail, except proportioned for the tiny creature. It also walked on two feet, though it would get down on all fours to scurry around.

The kliton guy playing with it had spiky orange hair, light orange skin, and almost golden orange eyes. I think it was safe to say that all klitons had hair that was spiky in some way. Everyone I saw had hair that spiked at the ends or all over, whether softly and even painfully.

He grinned as he played with the tiny creature, "Who's a cute little guy? You are! You are, little guy!" He tickled it with his finger, making it almost seem to shake fast like vibration. Even I couldn't help but find it cute.

I walked over, getting his attention, "Uh, excuse me."

The guy looked at me and grinned, "Hey there. What's up? Looking for a new best friend?"

I looked around, trying to look curious, "Uh, kinda. Could you tell me a little about some of the animals here?" I could only hope Vanessa changed all the terms I didn't know into ones I knew, like animal.

The guy grinned as he put away the little mouse creature in its cage, then walked out from behind the counter, "No problem! Come right this way!" I sighed. So the Translator worked perfectly. Now I could get a little information on what was considered pets on Klicta.

I followed him from cage to cage. He told what each was and what the proper name for it was. For example, he showed me "birds", but when he gave me their specific species names, the Translator let me hear the Dixon translation of the word. Like one bird with long pink feathers and a furry tail was called a Blikter Van. Van was the name for its bird species, like a falcon on Earth, while Blikter was the name of it’s kind, like a paragon falcon. I found it very fascinating.

Though, I quickly found a problem. The signs on the cages were in strange symbols I didn't understand. I was going to have to fix that once I got back. I was sure it was going to quickly catch up to me not being able to read or write in Dixone.

Then we came to a large beast in one of the large cages. It was a big, black furry monster with huge teeth and beady grey eyes. It looked more shaped like a giant ball with short legs and a large mouth more than anything. Its mouth was big enough to swallow a small child whole, which actually made me stand back from it. It looked like a vicious dog I ran into once when I was young.

The store owner smiled, noticing my caution, "Aw, don't worry, he's a friendly dog. Aren't you, boy? You just want a home, don't you?"

I stepped back as it growled, "A dog, huh? What's the species?"

He smiled as he stood next to the cage, "A Blugger Conny. They're more of a protection dog. They can smell something fishy from a mile away."

That only made me step back further, "You don't say." The dog growled deeper.

Suddenly, it jumped at the door of the cage, actually managing to knock it open. My heart sank, "Oh dear." It actually roared at me before pouncing at me. I didn't need a memo. I took off running.

I tore out of the shop as it gave chase. I heard the shop owner yell after me, "Don't run! It can sense fear if you run! It won't hurt you if you don't show signs of danger!"

I didn't care. Even humans said that, and they were usually wrong. I just wanted the thing away from me before it could rip off my leg with that huge mouth.

Though, I didn't see where I was going. I felt actual terror as I realized I'd ended up in the street, just as a car was coming. I didn't have a chance to move.

Suddenly, someone rammed into me, knocking me to the ground on the other side of the road as I heard the bang. I sat up and gasped as I saw someone on the road where I should have been.

I got to my feet and hurried over, going down next to the person, "Hey, are you ok?"

He had to be about my age, if not a couple years older with black skin, jet-black hair pulled into a spiky side ponytail, and a mole next to his right eye. His clothes were black and grey while his black messenger bag was spilled out over the road. He groaned weakly as he opened his eyes, which were a dark grey.

I looked him over, making sure he wasn't hurt, "You ok? Nothing broken?"

He looked up at me, clearly a little dazed, "Uh, yeah. I’m fine." He pulled himself up with a groan of pain, even grabbing his shoulder, which I'm sure he landed on. Not too shabby at all for having been hit by a car, even if it had been moving fairly slow.

We stood up as the driver hurried out. It was a red kliton woman whose red lipstick was smeared across her face. She looked devastated, "Oh my goodness! I am so sorry! I should have paid more attention to the road!" I figured she was doing her makeup when he nearly hit me. At least I wouldn't be blamed for the event. The last thing I needed was to get involved with the authorities.

The black kliton rubbed his head, trying not to let people worry over him, "I'm fine. I wasn't really hit that hard."

I picked up his papers and books and put them back in his bag, "Well, thanks. I don't know how well I would have taken that hit." I was starting to wonder if perhaps klitons were stronger or more durable than humans, meaning that accident could have been very bad for my secret.

He smiled softly and accepted his bag, "Sure. Glad I could help."

"Orville!" We turned to see two klitons run over. One was a blue boy and the other was yellow girl. The boy had messy spiked blue hair, light baby blue skin, dark blue eyes, and wore a blue hoodie, while the girl had the same hairstyle, except yellow with a long sleek ponytail in the back, gold eyes, and cream-yellow skin.

The blue kliton looked shocked, "Orville, are you ok!? I saw you got hit by a car!"

The black kliton, Orville by name, only smiled, "I'm ok, Rubi."

The girl, who had a soft face, spoke in an equally soft voice, "That was very heroic of you, Orville."

Orville smiled, his expression proving he was close friends with these two, "Thanks, Cleo."

Then the pet shop owner walked over, with the dog on a leash. Before I knew it, I quickly jumped behind Orville. The owner noticed, "I'm really sorry. He's never done that before."

I peeked from around Orville, now having a whole new level of fear for dogs, "There's a first for everything, obviously."

The blue kliton, Rubi, looked annoyed, "Did the cage door come open again, Max? The mayor told you to get that cage fixed! You could get your shop shut down if you lose anymore animals!"

The orange kliton shop owner, Max, looked ashamed, "I know, and I'm still working on it. I'll have a new cage in a couple days, I swear!"

I gave a disgruntled groan, "Great. Then I'll be far from this square for the next couple days."

Cleo looked me over as everyone else went about their day, "Who are you?"

I couldn't help the slight nervousness I felt as the three of them put their full attention on me. I cleared my throat, "I'm Rydian. Rydian the brown kliton. I'm new here."

Rubi looked suspicious, "Oh yeah? Where do you live?"

I tried very hard not to think too long on my answers so not to look suspicious, "Uh, around here somewhere. Honestly, this is my first day, so I get a little lost. I don't even remember where my new house is exactly." A plausible enough reason, I hope.

Rubi didn't seem to buy it though, which worried me. He was awfully suspicious of me. I tried to hide my worry behind a smile as I changed the subject, "Well, thanks again for the help, Orville."

Orville gave a nod, "Sure. If you want, I could help you get home."

I stayed calm even though a little voice inside of me panicked, "No, thanks. I really ought to learn my way around. I may be here a while."

To my surprise, Rubi circled me, "Your ears."

I watched him continue to circle around me, "What about them?" I felt panicked again. Did he find my Translator already?

He stopped circling, then felt them in his hands, ignoring any personal space, "They're short. Why?" I glanced at his ears and felt my heart skip a beat. They were long and pointed. How did I not see that before?!

Before I could answer, not that I honestly could think of a good one, Cleo spoke, "What's wrong with short ears, Rubi?" She didn't look too happy. I was surprised to see her ears actually weren't pointed. In fact, they looked rounded just like mine, which made me feel great relief.

Rubi shrugged, pretending it didn't really matter, "I never said there was something wrong with them, Cleo. I like your ears short. I was just curious if his was short for the same reason as you."

She spoke sternly, "You should never ask something like that. It's very rude. There's nothing wrong with being different." I kinda liked this kliton girl.

Rubi could see he couldn't fight that one, so he moved on, "Where are you from, Rydian?"

I felt worried again. I didn't know any places. Heck, I didn't even know the name of this town!

I smiled, putting on a confident act while being as vague as possible and almost sounding like an idiot, "A town up North of here."

Rubi gave me a mean grin, "Which one?" This kid was really starting to become a problem.

Though, it was Cleo who saved my skin again, "Would it happen to be Clairvon Town?"

I smiled at her, "Yeah, that's it! Clairvon Town." Rubi was pretty annoyed that Cleo spoke up, probably seeing that he was backing me into a corner with that one.

She smiled, not noticing any of it, "Well, then allow me to be the first to welcome you to Tintale Town." And she gave me the name of town too? This girl was a saint.

I had no trouble looking glad, quite happy to have met her, "Thanks. Your name is Cleo, right?"

She nodded as she introduced herself, "Cleo the yellow kliton. That bully there is my best friend, Rubi the blue kliton."

Rubi crossed his arms, "I'm not a bully. I'm just curious."

She ignored him though, "And you've met our friend Orville the black kliton." Orville gave a wave.

I smiled at them, "Nice to meet you all."

Then Rubi gasped, "Hey, what's this?" He quickly pulled something from my pocket before I could try to stop him. It was my red neckerchief.

Call me crazy, but I couldn't go anywhere without it. It drove me mad to leave it, so I stuffed it in my pocket. I guess it slipped out a bit when I ran from the dog.

Rubi certainly seemed amazed by it, "It's red." He glanced at me suspiciously, "How do you have something red? You're a brown kliton."

I ignored my racing heart, "What are you talking about?"

He watched me hard, looking for me to slip up, "Why would a brown kliton have something red?"

I tried to think fast. What would work as a good excuse for someone who only wears brown to have something red? I thought hard.

Then it hit me, "I'm colorblind."

They only blinked in confusion, "Huh?"

I figured the term wasn't on Klicta, so I played it to my advantage, "Colorblind. I can't see colors sometimes. I can't see that its red."

Rubi was surprised, "That's possible?"

Orville pulled a large book from his bag and flipped through it. I begged in my mind that he wouldn't find colorblind in that book, which I assumed was a dictionary of sorts. He stopped and looked over the page.

Finally, he sighed, "Nope. Nothing on colorblindness, or whatever you call it."

I felt so relieved, but did my best not to show it, "It's a newly discovered vision issue. I'm one of the first known to have it." Then a mean little idea came to mind. I made myself look embarrassed, "I usually don't tell anyone, but Rubi forced my hand." Orville and Cleo looked quite annoyed with Rubi for that, which was my intention.

Rubi tried to ignore their gaze, "Well, how come it didn't change color? Clothes change color when a kliton wears it."

I held back a gasp. How the heck did I not think of that!? I sighed and used the oldest trick in the book, "I don't know."

Rubi was pretty surprised with my answer, "You don't know?"

I simply shrugged, "First of all, I didn't really know it was red. As far as I knew, it was brown ever since I found it."

Cleo turned to Rubi, "You see? Now are you done with your ridiculous interrogations or are you going to bully him further?"

Rubi crossed his arms, "I'm not bullying! Now we know about being colorblind. We learned something new today. Curiousity isn't a bad thing, you know. This could be useful to Orville's studies."

Orville looked at his watch, "Speaking of studies, I have studying to do. I'd better get home." He gave a wave, "See you around, Rydian. Bye, Rubi. Later, Cleo."

Cleo smiled as he walked off, "Bye, Orville!" Then she turned to Rubi, "We should get going too, Rubi. Leave poor Rydian alone."

Rubi groaned, "But..."

She grabbed his hand and pulled him along before he could continue, "Bye, Rydian. Good luck here in Tintale!"

I waved with an innocent smile, "Bye, Cleo." And gave Rubi a clever grin, "Bye, Rubi. See you again soon." He gave me a glare and was led away by Cleo.

I chuckled, feeling pretty good with myself at that moment, "Looks like I've won this round, kliton." I turned and walked off back towards the ship, "My own rival. Huh. Maybe this will actually be fun."

Back on Earth in the enormous white space ship called Earth's Galactic Armada, Commander Mayn of the S.T.S. was sitting in her office. The Commander was behind her desk with another woman standing at her side. The Commander was a young woman who looked maybe only a few years older than myself. She had long blond hair and lovely teal eyes behind a pair of black rimmed glasses. She also wore a fancy white Commander's uniform with two gold badges on the front.

The woman with her had short black hair cut straight at the ends while her grey eyes were hidden behind a pair of dark aviator shades. She stood tall in her white General's uniform. She was the Commander's number one General and closest friend, General Terron.

Though, they were all but happy as they looked at the large screen on the wall in front of them. It was a map of the universe. Well, as much as Earth had discovered so far. Planet Earth was lit green, while another planet was lit red. They were staring in shock at the red-lit planet.

The Commander spoke in a soft voice that only made her seem younger, "General Terron, this can't be right. That planet... it's Planet Klicta."

General Terron nodded, deeply concerned, "Yes, sir."

Commander Mayn spoke in worry, "You mean to tell me... Rydian... is on Planet Klicta? The Planet Klicta?"

General Terron nodded again, "I'm afraid so, sir. There seems to have been a mistake in his mission objective coordinates. I looked over them and found that they don't take him to Planet Calcoa like planned. Instead, they took him to Klicta."

The Commander watched the red light, "But Klicta is the most evolved planet in that galaxy. They're much too far in evolution for a first-time Captain! That planet is too dangerous! Everyone knows it may serve as a future threat because of its progress!"

Terron spoke calmly, "Everyone except Rydian."

Commander Mayn looked horrified as she thought about it, "If they find him out, they'll kill him, if not worse." She thought a moment longer before standing up, looking dead serious, "General Terron, I want a rescue pod sent to Planet Klicta immediately. If we hurry, we maybe able to pull him out before it's too late."

General Terron was a bit concerned about the command, "Sir, that may only put him in more danger."

The Commander was unshaken in her choice, "Do it. He's in more than enough danger as it is. Everyday wasted is another day he could be discovered. I will not have him killed for a mistake. Its one thing to die in the line of duty, but this is unacceptable. Pull him out now, General."

General Terron gave a salute, "Yes, sir. Right away." She turned and walked to the door.

Before she could leave, Commander Mayn spoke, "And General."

General Terron stopped and looked back, "Sir?"

Commander Mayn's eyes were cold as she spoke, "I want to know who was responsible for setting his coordinates."

General Terron immediately realized something that made her heart skip a beat. She did know who set the coordinates. She had planned to do it herself before I left for my mission when someone else offered to do it instead. Someone she now realized would have every reason to put in the wrong coordinates.

But she spoke, "I'll look into it, sir." With that, she turned and walked out.

As she walked down the hall, she was deep in thought, and deeply worried, "Surely he wouldn't... he couldn't..." She looked down at the gold ring on her hand, "Could he?"

Series
Like

About the Creator

Lydia Booker

Just someone here to tell a story. A story of another world, of new people and places, of adventures beyond imagination.

Are you ready to hear them?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.