Fiction logo

Cailleach

The Snow Queen

By Tracy Kreuzburg Published 3 months ago 1 min read
1
K. Butler photo

My neighbors accused me of conspiring with fairies, walking the street while they dreamt, and stealing dreams, or overtaking them. They were afraid of me because I was unbound by men with rules or robes and was never phased by the worst of winter storms.

However, they also looked to me for help because of my preternatural keenness, observing that I could easily heal a dying garden or an injured bird. They referred to me as Cailleach, known in local legend as the Queen of Winter, though she had one crystal blue eye, and I have two.

Earthy and unyielding, I tended not to view dualities, seeing everything as flowing and connected. I was always like a child in that way, just as I am a child now, in this life.

Drinking from the well of youth at winter’s end, after the snow has melted, Cailleach grows younger month by month. Similarly, each time I am born, I grow wiser to who I am.

In my lives, I have always been an islander, which is why my soul is fluid, having been carved from the wind and the ocean. I am blessed with mothers made from moccasin flowers, difficult to grow, but providing calm and soothing to those around them.

During each lifetime, I help my mother return to her Self, to her keystone, helping to balance all the world. This time, I have provided her with the gift of sight through a camera lens, her very own crystal eye.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Tracy Kreuzburg

I love reading, writing and storytelling, and using stories to convey truths. I feel this is a platform that will encourage me to write my stories, I also have an interest in connecting written work to art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • J3 months ago

    This rang a very deep and heavy bell in me. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.