Fiction logo

Bubbles

Floating

By Timothy KiserPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I’m flying just above their heads, with the birds and the trees, but no one really notices, just a few children look up at me. They look amazed as I float their way, a few parents see me too, they smile and point only to look away. I see, no one seems to care as a float away, but I do. I see what maybe they don’t.

From nowhere a surprise wisp catches me from behind and shoots me up high, high into the sky, way above the town below, the only home I know, up and up towards the mountain peaks of which I have never seen. What beauty I see, as I can see as far as one can see but then it hits me. The sky whistles and the sky grumbles, darkness grows, and a strong storm hits me. It tosses me around, from here and there, up and down and all around, my whole being shakes and bellows. “Oh, my Lord, I scream, what’s to become of me?’’ Just then the winds stop, and the grumble becomes a whisper and backs away, the darkened sky recedes, but it does not fully leave.

In a blink a beautiful sound was abound, joyful snorts and chuckles of children and barks of dogs. I floated in around my friend, the tree, and I see a mommy and daddy chasing at least three. One, two, three, youngsters, I see, and Red Irish setter, laughing and howling as they run, between the trees and through the grass, through the sand and then down the slide, as mommy and daddy laugh and cry. A beautiful site!

I see them but they don’t see me, and I slowly float away. As I move and rise above the trees, the sounds of children give way to the city streets. Rumbling again but not like the storm - this was metal and stone grinding with grit and pushing through. The steel rises high above the people, and as they do the windows too. The glass is the size of a truck, making a building you can see right through. Inside there are people too, and most do not see but a few do. They looked surprised as they look out and see me. I am sure they wonder where and why I could be. I wish I could smile but I can only glisten, hopefully they see my sheen, but it doesn’t seem so.

A heavy air sits down on me, and I descend to the streets where the people are all bees. A cacophony of sounds as a breeze carries me. People move so fast in and around out and about, a rattle trap buzzes and a horn honks, sirens blast, and music plays, wow, another wonderful day. As I float and as I glisten, I wait for someone to say, hey look at that, a beautiful thing and a wonderful? – but nothing.

The people rush throughout their days as every second slips away. Oh, what I have seen in one short day.

As a ponder for a minute regarding my condition a loud blast, blasts and rumbling chug pigs, then picks me up and spins me round and then up and down then drags me down, a set of rails. A bright red box pulls me along and then dumps me out at a big white cross, bells are ringing, and lights are blinking. Rattletraps set and their faces trapped, and again no one sees me.

I see a child and he sees me, one last smile is what I get. Floating back across the tracks headed to a certain trap I see an old man staring at me and his eyes glistened, and I knew he could see as his eyes followed me. Knowing my seconds have passed I burst into 20 more.

Just then I remembered what my father said to do. To show the beauty that is true, oh, beauty in me after all.

Fan FictionFantasyfamily
Like

About the Creator

Timothy Kiser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.