Fiction logo

Broken Mirror [Horror Fiction story]

Mirror

By Muhammad SulaimanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Broken Mirror  [Horror Fiction story]
Photo by Batuhan Doğan on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stared at the figure staring back at me, and it sent shivers down my spine. The face was familiar, yet foreign, with twisted features and an eerie smile that seemed to stretch too wide. I tried to look away, but I couldn't. It was as though the mirror had me in its grasp, and I was unable to break free.

As the days passed, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was off. I started to notice strange occurrences around the house - objects moved on their own, doors slammed shut, and the temperature dropped inexplicably. I tried to ignore it, to tell myself that it was all in my head, but the feeling persisted.

Then one night, I woke up to find myself standing in front of the mirror, staring at the twisted reflection once again. This time, however, it was different. The figure seemed to be beckoning me, drawing me into the glass.

I reached out to touch it, and my hand went straight through the mirror. I stumbled back in shock, but before I could fully comprehend what had happened, the mirror exploded into a million pieces.

I thought it was over. I thought I was free from the haunting presence that had been plaguing me. But I was wrong.

In the weeks that followed, I started to notice small changes in my world. Things were just slightly different than before. The streetlights flickered more frequently, shadows lingered longer, and strange whispers echoed through the halls.

I tried to ignore it, to pretend that everything was normal, but I couldn't shake the feeling that something was watching me, following me. It was as though the alternate reality that I had glimpsed through the mirror was slowly bleeding into my world.

One day, I came home to find that my house was no longer my own. The furniture was rearranged, the walls were a different color, and there were strange symbols etched into the floor.

I searched frantically for some explanation, but nothing made sense. And then, in the corner of my eye, I caught a glimpse of the twisted figure from the mirror. It was standing in the corner, watching me with its unnerving smile.

I knew then that I was in trouble. The mirror had opened a portal to a dark and malevolent world, and I had inadvertently let it in.

As the days turned to weeks, the changes became more pronounced. The sky was a sickly shade of green, the trees were withered and gnarled, and the air was thick with the stench of decay.

I knew then that I had to act. I had to find a way to close the portal, to banish the dark presence from my world. But how?

I spent countless hours researching, scouring ancient texts and consulting with experts in the occult. And finally, I found the answer.

The portal could be closed, but it would require a sacrifice. A sacrifice of equal value to the one that had been made when the mirror was shattered.

I knew what I had to do.

I stood before the shattered remains of the mirror, clutching a small knife in my hand. And then, with a deep breath, I plunged the knife into my chest.

As the blood spilled from my wound, I felt the world around me shift and twist. The air grew heavy and oppressive, and I knew that I had succeeded. The portal was closed, and the dark presence was banished.

But as I lay there, dying, I couldn't help but wonder - what other portals had been opened? What other worlds had been unleashed? And would anyone else be brave enough to make the same sacrifice to close them?

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Muhammad Sulaiman

I am a student of computer science.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.