Fiction logo

Bound by Fire

By Marilyn Ketterer

By Marilyn KettererPublished about a year ago 23 min read
3

Smoke billowed from the small village like a dying breath. Imre circled above, his heart straining at the wreckage. The Ignis people were no more. Their alliance had been forgotten for decades, the land at peace, but when he’d received their plea for help he’d come as swift as the winds could take him. It would seem he was too late.

His golden scales itched as the smoke curled around his wings and clung to him in a dingy layer of soot. The feeling incensed him and he roared as anger crept up his throat and threatened to overcome him completely. Spiraling closer, the stench of chlorine and sulfur stuffed itself up his nostrils. Imre swiveled midair, immediately spotting the retreating mass of shining armored bodies that was the source of the smell. He loosed a battle cry and dove, tucking his wings tight to gain speed. He was nearly upon them when another sort of cry reached his ears. One that was distinctly human. And young.

He opened his wings and banked toward the sound, soon soaring over the treetops of a nearby forest. The sound grew louder and he circled back, dropping into a small glade. Looking around, his gut sank at the sight of a young couple laying on the ground, their insides spilling out of them in a crimson mess. Inhuman footprints littered the ground around them, though their attacker was nowhere to be seen. Imre turned around, unable to bear the carnage. The cry pierced the air again, and he swiveled his head toward the sound.

The child was near impossible to see from where her parents hid her, and Imre’s eyes strained as he peered closer. There, in the hollow of a gnarled oak tree, was a tiny girl. She couldn’t have been more than three years old. Imre’s breath caught, and as though the sight of the girl finally broke the dam on his emotions, he felt his eyes wet. Stepping toward her, he stopped when her eyes widened and she fell silent. Realizing she’d likely never seen one of his kind before, he shifted his form to resemble a human. His bones creaked in protest as he shrunk and twisted, and he bit back a groan.

When the process was complete, he again stepped toward the girl, and this time she did not look afraid. Tucked into the shade of the tree, her hair looked like strands of moonlight. Her eyes shone copper, and freckles dotted her cheeks. She hiccuped when he reached her, tucking her arms into her sides as if they were small shields.

“Don’t be afraid, little one. I’m here to help,” he said gently, though his voice rasped from a combination of disuse and smoke.

The girl relaxed a bit, and he reached out a hand. She stretched out her arms for him, and he made to pick her up, but stopped suddenly. He stared as the girl’s hair started to leak blue from the roots. Imre watched in amazement as the once white strands slowly became saturated in icy blue.

He knew this trait of the Ignis people, the fire-breathers. Every one of them was born with white hair, but when they came into their powers the color changed to reflect the strength of their flame. He glanced back at the couple on the ground, who he assumed to be the girl’s parents. Both of them had hair the color of rubies, marking them as weaker bearers of flame. He thought of the history he knew of the Ignis, recalling that only in the darkest of times did flame-bearers possess the power of the blue core of a flame, the hottest fire imaginable. Often, the blue-haired Ignis would fall to madness if they could not master their powers. He swallowed, knowing the fate of the girl was unlikely to be a desirable one. Resolve settled in his gut as he looked at her, then reached out again. Her people were slaughtered. She would need someone to raise her and teach her control.

“Come here, child. Can you tell me your name?” He asked, maintaining his gentle tone.

She peered up at him, her lower lip trembling. Tears still shone on her cheeks. “Valda.” She spoke in barely more than a whisper.

“All right, Valda, I’m Imre. I’m going to take you home with me. Are you hurt?” Valda shook her head, and he took that as confirmation that she was uninjured. “How old are you?”

“This many,” she said, holding out two stubby fingers. Imre felt his heart strain again, and he inhaled deeply to avoid crying in front of her. He smiled sadly and picked her up, nestling her in the folds of his cloak.

“I live very far away, Valda, so I will need to transform back into a dragon and fly us there. Will you be all right with that?” She nodded, so Imre walked them out into the center of the glade, careful to shield her from the bodies on the ground. Shifting back was a relief, and soon Valda was cupped in one of his claws. Her eyes were wide again, but something like awe shone in place of fear in her gaze. A mighty sweep of his wings had them lifting off the ground, and a moment later the pair was soaring over the forest, leaving the trees and smoking ruins of Valda’s home behind them.

Fifteen years later.

Blue flames licked along my arms, singeing the hairs and filling the air with a foul odor. Silver flashed and I dove and rolled, landing a few feet away in a crouch. A huff of air had the stray hairs fluttering out of my eyes as I crossed my arms in front of my face and swung out, releasing a ball of fire at my attacker. Ardyn’s shouted curse rang through the air as he flew backward, the blaze dispersing on the wall of solidified air he held around him as a shield. He landed on his back, his sword clattering several paces behind him. I held back a laugh as I walked toward him, half a thought extinguishing the flames dancing on my skin.

Holding out a hand, I smirked as he glared up at me. “Did you really have to hit me that hard?” He demanded.

“Oh, Ardyn. Don’t make that face. You know you love me.” I laughed. He pursed his lips, the expression he made whenever he was holding back a smile. “I’ll try to be more careful next time,” I conceded, and his smile broke loose. He took my hand and I hauled him up.

“Again,” an unyielding voice commanded. I turned around to meet the ice-chip eyes of my trainer, Thana. Her silver hair was knotted into a tight braid that pulled at the skin around her eyes, making her face harsh and angular.

“Do we have to?” Ardyn asked, flexing his fingers. “We’ve gone six times already, and Valda hasn’t lost control once.”

“You go until I tell you that you’re done,” Thana said, her tone firm. I rolled my eyes, pleased to see silver scales ripple along Thana’s arms in annoyance at the gesture. They were gone in an instant, replaced with a glare that promised pain if I didn’t get in line. Stepping back, I punched out my arms, grinning as the fire engulfed them again. Ardyn groaned, picking up his sword.

“This time, I don’t want you two to simply attack each other,” Thana said. “Try to feel each other’s movements and react. Fight as though you can read the other’s thoughts. You are destined to be the next Bonded, after eighty years without the alliance. It is no coincidence that a dragon hatched at the same time that all the Ignis people were lost to the world, except for perhaps the strongest Ignis seen since the Second War. It is imperative that you learn to work as a team, because there is no mistaking that the world will need you soon, and you must be prepared.”

My stomach filled with lead at the thought, even as fire burned in my heart at the mention of my people. I was too young to remember them, though I’d vowed long ago to avenge them someday.

“Ready,” Thana’s voice floated through my consciousness. I shook my head clear, focusing on Ardyn in front of me, his yellow-green hair fluttering as his air-shield locked into place around him. In the corner of my eye Thana’s own shield slid over her. I dug one foot into the ground behind me, preparing to lunge.

“Stop!”

I stumbled, fire sputtering at my fists. Ardyn slid uncertain eyes to Thana, who was scowling over her shoulder.

“What is it?” She demanded. A dragon in human form was running toward us, rounding the corner of the nearest building. His hair and eyes were both the blazing orange of a sunset. I let the flames disappear as I recognized Crayne, the village messenger. He reached us, bending over with his hands on his knees and panting at the ground. Thana tapped her foot impatiently.

“Imre has requested the audience of the town leaders. He says it’s important.” Crayne said between breaths. Thana’s foot stopped tapping. Her eyes widened.

“It’s happened,” she whispered. She didn’t look at us as she said over her shoulder, “We’re done for the day. Go home, both of you. It’s best if you remain indoors for the rest of the day.”

“What happened?” Ardyn asked, but Thana had already shifted back to her natural form, and a sweep of her wings carried her away before he could ask more. Crayne’s eyes flicked between us, his jaw clenched. Ardyn locked eyes with him and I scowled. Of all the traits the dragons had, telepathy was the one I wished for most. I crossed my arms, waiting for the exchange to be over. After several moments, Ardyn turned to me, his face slightly green. “Thana’s right, we should go inside.”

“What? No, tell me what’s going on.”

Crayne looked at us nervously. “There’s a few more people I need to get, can I trust you two to do as you’re told?”

Ardyn looked back at him. “Yes, we’ll go home. Go summon the others, we’ll be fine.”

I narrowed my eyes, pursing my lips. Crayne gave me one last look before running back the way he’d come.

“Ardyn, tell me what’s happening.”

“Let’s just go inside,” he said.

“I’m not moving until you tell me.” I said, digging my feet into the ground. He glanced at me, his chest caving in defeatedly.

“You know I could just shift and carry you home,” he said, though his voice held no bravado.

“You won’t, and we both know it. Just tell me.”

He sighed, chewing his lip. “Imre has assembled the town council because of a threat in a human village at the base of our mountain. I didn’t get any more than that.”

“There’s a threat? What is it?”

“I don’t know, Valda. All Crayne said is that the village is under attack.”

My stomach turned and I gritted my teeth. For the last fifteen years, there was only ever one reason a town was in trouble. “Well, let’s go find out.”

Ardyn’s mouth popped open, his eyes locking onto mine. “You can’t be serious.”

“Of course I’m serious.”

“Valda, we can’t–” he started. I didn’t hear the rest as I spun on my heel and ran for the mountain’s peak. He shouted something from behind me, then a thunderous pair of racing footsteps joined my own. I didn’t bother to look over my shoulder as I dashed through the streets of Tarraguille, the dragon village.

Familiar white stone houses blurred around me as I stared at the hollowed-out pinnacle of the mountain where the council met. I’d once asked Imre why the dragons lived in human forms rather than their true bodies. He’d told me it was a custom they adopted back when my people and the dragons fought side by side to protect the land, so that those with Bonds could live near each other, and easily communicate. I’d wondered why there was no one else like me living in Tarraguille, but he’d explained there hadn’t been any need for a Bonded pair for decades, and they’d all moved back to my home before it was destroyed by the aqra.

My throat was tight as I rounded the corner of the closest building to the peak. I slowed my steps, careful not to make too much sound as I approached. The council chamber was really nothing more than an elaborate cave. I’d been inside twice before, once when I arrived in Tarraguille, though I don’t remember it, and once when I was in trouble for pulling Ardyn’s tail when we were children. Back then, the craggy mouth of the cave had been intimidating, the stalactites emulating the fangs of a great monster. Now, I was thankful for the dark as I crept into the cave, pressing my back against the wall.

I inched forward, holding my breath in hopes of overhearing what was being discussed. Someone exhaled over my shoulder and I jumped.

“Ardyn,” I hissed through my teeth, “don’t do that! You scared me. I thought I’d been caught.”

“Sorry,” he whispered, though his shoulders shook slightly with the laugh he was holding in. I shook my head and turned into the cave again, creeping forward. Ardyn tapped me on the shoulder. Twisting my neck to look at him, I raised a brow. “You won’t get close enough to hear them without being seen,” he whispered. “Do you want me to sneak in?”

I exhaled sharply through my nose, frustrated that he was right. I’d never get as close as he could. “Alright, but be quick.”

He nodded, then shrunk in the span of a blink into a gecko. Another blink and he’d disappeared into the cave, rounding a corner a few paces in that served as the door to the chamber. I drummed my fingers against the cave wall a few times before following after him, albeit much more slowly. When I finally reached the curve in the rock, Thana’s voice cut through the gloom like a javelin.

“I wish we could send aid, but I don’t see how it’s possible.”

“There must be something we can do,” Imre said, fatigue tainting his voice.

“Right now we should be preparing Tarraguille for invasion by the aqrabuamelu. They are at the base of our mountain, they’ll be coming for us next,” rumbled the deep voice of Kearn, a dragon I knew by his shimmering violet scales.

“They may be at our doorstep,” said Imre, “but if we defend the village it may prevent them from coming any closer. And there are lives at stake, Kearn. Years ago this wouldn’t have even been a discussion.”

“I think you’re underestimating their strength, Imre. Remember what they did to the Ignis village.”

Imre snarled. “How could I forget? I remember the carnage, the destruction, and I refuse to let it happen here.” He paused to take a calming breath. “Thana, is there any chance of victory if we were to attack?”

I leaned forward slightly, just enough to catch a glimpse of Thana’s back. Her shoulders were visibly tense, her hands planted firmly on a circular table in the center of the room. She seemed to contemplate his question for a second, then sighed.

“I don’t know, Imre. Many of us stopped training years ago, we’ve grown too complacent since the end of the last war. Maybe if we still had the fire of the Ignis we could stand a chance, but the aqra eliminated them as a problem at the start of their terror.”

“We have Valda,” Imre interjected.

“Valda is young and untested, she hasn’t even completed her training.”

“She may be their only hope.” He pushed.

“She is not a viable option.” Thana’s words hit me like a slap across the face. I stumbled back, not entirely hearing the other council members weigh in with their opinions as I backed out of the cave.

My hands shook as I struggled to take even breaths. The aqra were here. The same creatures who had attacked my village years ago. I knew they’d been slowly making their way across the continent, destroying village after village in their thirst for conquest, but this was different. This felt real.

And the council wasn’t going to help those people, their neighbors.

Something small and pale darted around my feet, and I looked up just as Ardyn shifted. His face was grim. I noticed his eyes flick to my still shaking hands, and I clenched them, closing my eyes. When I opened them, determination settled in my gut like a stone in water.

“We have to help them,” I said, already planning how I would convince him to come with me. I was about to continue when he nodded. I raised my brows slightly.

“You’re right. They need help, and no one else is going to give it. Luckily, we’re already in our training gear. You have your sword?”

I nodded, patting the blade at my hip. Ardyn seemed to contemplate for a second, biting his lip. He reached for his own.

“Here, take mine as well. I won’t need it in my natural form.”

I protested, but he insisted, sheathing the blade across my back. Once he was done, he stepped back and inspected me, nodding in approval once he’d deemed me worthy for battle.

“You ready?” He asked, his skin starting to shimmer green as he prepared to shift again.

“Always,” I breathed. His chin dipped in confirmation as he changed form, his limbs lengthening faster than my eyes could register into his true body. I didn’t hesitate to clamber onto his back, and a heartbeat later he was pushing off the ground into the sky. I marveled at his iridescent green scales as they shifted over the powerful muscles that drove his wings. Despite myself, I shrieked in delight as he dove. The air rushed past me, dragging tears from my eyes and tangling my hair into a snarled blue mess that matched the sky around us.

For a second, I could pretend that the world was at peace, and we were just flying as we had for years. But then smoke tickled my nostrils, along with the stench of sulfur and chlorine.

I leaned over Ardyn’s back, clutching his spines tightly.

“There!” I pointed toward the base of the mountain, where a cloud of heavy black smoke was spiraling toward the clouds. Ardyn tilted in acknowledgement, and we glided toward the village. It was nestled against the mountain, and half-encircled by a gray lake. The perfect defensive location, if they were prepared. Today, however, their careful planning had trapped them effectively.

Screams reached my ears, raw and broken. I shuddered. The aqrabuamelu were rounding the townspeople up in the center square. Hoards of the aqra covered the streets, breaking into houses and setting buildings on fire.

I’d always been grateful that I couldn’t remember the aqra, but now I wished I had, if only to be better prepared. Each monster stood nine feet tall. They had the arms and face of a man, and the body of a scorpion. Every inch of them was covered in a natural armor that gleamed the color of rust in the sun. Their tails whipped behind them, dripping black venom from impossibly sharp stingers.

“Take us closer,” I said to Ardyn, who obliged. We swooped low over the town, garnering the aqra’s attention. They started shouting in a garbled language, and spears whizzed past our heads. I ducked against Ardyn’s back, and once the last of the spears missed us, I sat up and called the fire. It ignited along my arms and spine in a fiery blue blaze, nearly white in my anger. Without thinking, I launched as much of my power as I could at a large group of aqra. The force of the blast knocked me from Ardyn, and I plummeted into a thatched roof. His roar of dismay chased me to the ground.

My breath was knocked from me in the crash, and I lay there a moment, struggling to force air back into my lungs. I self-assessed for only a second, relieved to not find any major injuries, before I leapt from the roof and into an alleyway. My knees groaned at the impact, but I kept moving. A large shadow passed over me, and I followed it, knowing Ardyn was likely guiding me toward the town’s center. I ducked through alleys, careful to avoid any aqra who were thundering through the streets in search of me.

It wasn’t long before I reached the open center of the town, where people were huddled together in the center. Three aqra guarded them, each holding a mace styled to match their black-red stingers.

I didn’t let myself think before I careened out of the alley, stopping in front of them in a defensive position, a sword in each hand.

“Remember me?” I asked, flipping one of the swords in my palm. They growled. One of them stepped toward me, swinging his mace with a look of disdain twisting his already putrid face. “Probably not,” I continued. “After all, I was only two when we last met.”

Recognition lit the face of the one approaching me, and I snarled, calling the flame to me again. This time, I let it encompass my body, filling my hair and painting me in dazzling blue light. I charged, and launched a ball of fire at the nearest aqra. He dodged it, surprisingly graceful on his eight armored legs.

I was nearly upon him when I realized just how incredibly he outmatched me. He raised his mace, towering above me. My heart leapt to my throat and I skidded to a stop, overcome with terror. The aqra was huge. I summoned another blaze, but he only laughed. His muscles tightened as he prepared to swing, but a deafening roar made him falter.

That was all the time I needed to run, twisting out of the aqra’s reach and into another alleyway. I silently thanked Ardyn for the save, even as the shouts of the three guards followed me into the gloom.

My feet felt numb against the dirt road as I rounded a corner, planning to loop around to help the people in the town square escape. I resheathed my swords, cursing under my breath for how useless they were against such large opponents. Air scalded my throat as I panted, my heart racing. I turned another corner, expecting to emerge back in the town’s center, only to skid to a halt. It was a dead end.

I spun, scanning the surrounding buildings for an escape, but there was none. A sob burst from my lips as the aqra turned the corner and also froze. Grins split their faces at the sight of me against the wall. Trapped.

Slowly, they crept toward me. A slimy black tongue flicked across one’s bottom lip. Frantic, I searched for any kind of escape. My eyes landed on a sewer grate near my feet. My heart lifted, until I noticed another grate in front of the approaching aqra guards. They probably wouldn’t fit, but could I take that chance? I was about to give up hope when another idea sparked in my mind.

The one who’d first fought me stepped ahead of his brethren. In a crackly voice he spoke in the common tongue, “After all this time, an Ignis still lives.” He sucked in a breath, his tail swaying above him. “How fortunate that she’s handed herself over to be exterminated.”

The others laughed. Several large shadows passed over the alley, but I didn’t dare look up. I couldn’t miss my chance.

“What makes you think I’m handing myself over?” I asked. “Don’t you know anything about the Ignis people? We don’t go down without a fight.”

The leader laughed again. “It would seem you’re the one who doesn’t know anything about your people, girl. I suppose you wouldn’t, if you were only a child. They put up almost no fight. It was rather entertaining, actually, watching their city burn.”

My stomach twisted, but I waited. I couldn’t risk any mistakes with my plan. I dared a glance at the grate near them again. They were nearly upon it. Only one more step…

Perfect.

“If you loved watching my people burn so much, maybe you would like to meet the same fate.” I said, and with a thrust of my arm I launched a wave of fire at them. They all ducked, but I had planned for that. With a push from my other arm, I sent fire into the grate at my feet. It roared through the sewer, and exploded out through the grate the three aqra were stooping over. Their screams were barely audible over the blood rushing in my ears, and I collapsed to my knees. Their bodies were nothing but ash in a matter of seconds. I gave myself only a moment to collect my racing thoughts before I was back on my feet and racing for the town square.

I skidded around the final corner and back into the light, only to find the square empty except for three dragons. Ardyn, Imre, and Thana. When they saw me they all shifted to human forms. Ardyn scooped me into a hug as relief threatened to bring me to my knees once more.

“Valda!” He said against my head. “I had no idea where you were! Imre and Thana came and helped me get the townspeople out, but you weren’t with them.” I became vaguely aware that my head was slowly getting soaked by his tears, but I didn’t care. I clutched him tighter and met Imre’s eyes over Ardyn’s shoulder.

“You two were incredibly reckless today,” Imre said.

“Yes,” Thana added, “but you saved countless lives. Perhaps I underestimated you.”

I stepped back from Ardyn, squeezing his shoulders. “No, Thana, you were right. I was unprepared. I need more training.”

Her silver eyes twinkled with what almost looked like pride. Imre stepped forward, concern on his face. “Valda, what happened here today must have brought up many difficult emotions for you. Are you alright?”

I took a moment to consider, chewing the inside of my cheek. Eventually, I nodded. “Yes, but I don’t know if I can continue to live in Tarraguille now that I’ve witnessed what the aqrabuamelu are doing. Ardyn and I are the first Bonded pair in nearly a century, we are destined to defend the continent from evil. We can’t afford to wait any longer. The world needs us now.”

“Are you saying you wish to fight the aqrabuamelu? Once you begin there won’t be any going back until the continent is at peace.” Imre said cautiously.

“Yes,” I said, then looked at Ardyn. “That is, as long as you’re with me?”

Ardyn smiled. “Of course. We can’t leave the world at the mercy of the aqra. Not when we have the power to stop them.”

“Very well,” said Thana, a soft smile on her lips. “If that is what you wish, I will train you to the extent of my knowledge, as well as any other dragon who offers to join you in your quest. It is high time the Bonded defend the continent again.”

I turned to Imre, who smiled sadly at me. “I always knew you would be the one to stand up to the aqrabuamelu. I’m just sad that you had to do it so soon.”

Tears welled in my eyes. I returned his smile. “Well, I still have some training to do before we free the continent from the aqra. Let’s go home.”

Imre’s smile lightened, and the three of them shifted back. I climbed onto Ardyn, and together we sailed into the sky, aiming for the top of the mountain we all called home.

Fantasy
3

About the Creator

Marilyn Ketterer

I'm a college student minoring in creative writing. Currently my focus is my studies and building my career, but I'd love to one day write books and share my stories with a larger audience. Until then, I'll share my short stories on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.