Fiction logo

Bodyguard

Eva

By And I am NightmarePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Bodyguard
Photo by Alec Favale on Unsplash

I hated Christmas. I always had. Whenever my father was around(which he never was), he always told the story of how my three year old self had ripped open all the presents at the annual Christmas ball out of pure spite of the other children. He’s always laugh and say,

“Little tyke. Well, I never said no to her again.” And he didn’t. I always got what I wanted, for as long as I could remember, things had been this way. I never knew my mom: I was one of his maids and she had run off, leaving the baby. My dad had a good heart and he kept me and raised me. I’d always had an incredible life. All the money I ever wanted, all the friends I wanted, basically anything I ever wanted. I was the most popular girl in school, not to mention the richest. To me, Christmas was time for dad to be gone more than he was already was, for shops to be out of the things I needed, and everyone around me too be happy, when I wasn’t. So you can’t really blame me for being especially grouchy around this time of year. 

“Sarah, Sally, I’m going shopping at Gucci later, are you coming?” Sarah and sally were my closest friends, even though they weren’t that close. 

“Always, girlie!” Sarah said sing songingly. “Can you believe it actually snowed? I have the perfect outfit!”

“Ooh, we should match!” Sally broke in excitedly. 

“Yeah! I have a white faux that would match great with those gold boots! And you could wear your Chanel sweater. You know, that green one! And you-“

“Can wear something red! Red white and green. You’re a genius, Sally, hun. I’ll pick you up at three?”

“Yeah, and can you bring the Bentley?”

“Of course. See you then!”

School finished at two because it was a Friday, so I hopped into my Limo and told my driver to hurry home. 

“Eva? You’re home, perfect.” 

“Dad?” I said in surprise. He normally only came home for big holidays or on business breaks, so I was surprised to see him here before his normal Christmas break.

“Yes, darling, and I need to talk to you.”

“Sure, about what?”

“Come in the office, won’t you?” 

“Sure.” I stepped inside. My dad sat at his desk and riffled through some papers. 

“It’s about you getting mugged last week. You know how I’ve been looking for a bodyguard for you?”

“Yeah?”

“Well, no matter how much I pay them, people just aren’t really in that business anymore. I have a few more interviews this afternoon, so I’ll need you out of the office. Is that alright?” 

I shrugged. “Sure, whatever. Ugh, I don’t want a “bodyguard”.”

“Think of it as more of a…. Babysitter.”

“I’m sixteen dad!” I said, stomping my foot.

“I know, I know. I just want to protect you.”

I sighed. “I know too dad. I love you.”

“I love you too. Now go with your friends.”

I left him sitting in the office and dashed off the the Bentley. 

“Hey hey!” Sally called as we pulled up. 

“Ready for some Christmas shopping?!”

“Oh yeah!”

I stepped out of the car and hugged both of them. “We’ll be good from here.” I told my driver. 

“Let’s go!” 

We walked up and down Times Square forever. “Let’s find somewhere to eat, I’m starving.” Sally said. 

So we headed down to the nearest coffee shop. I was carrying at least three bags, the other nine dumped on Sarah and Sally. Then someone, some punk kid, slammed right into me! I’ll admit, I wasn’t really looking at where I was going. But that did not give any excuse for what he did next! My bags were scattered. 

“Excuse me!” I shouted, looking up at him in irritation. “How dare you!” I stopped, expecting an apology, but he just stared at me. He was wearing black slack, sort of official but messy looking, a blank tank top and a dress shirt that was opened at the top. He looked kinda uncomfortable in the business like clothes, but that’s not what was distracting me. Those eyes. Piercing, glittering, teal eyes. He didn’t blink or look away. He didn’t say anything. I wanted to hit him. Sarah and Sally scrambled to get my bags. After about five minutes, I finally looked away in anger. 

“An apology would be appreciated!” 

“You bumped into me.” He said quietly. His voice was a little deeper than I expected. 

“Rude!”

“Excuse me.” He pushed, pushed! Past me and continued walking. He didn’t push to hard, just a gentle nudge, but I was offended. 

“What an idiot!” Sarah said, handing me a few bags. 

I took them from her angrily and nodded. “I’m going home.” He had ruined my mood. 

The house was much warmer than outside. I pulled off my boots and scarf, casting them on the floor for the maid to get. 

I heard voices coming from upstairs. Dad was still home!

“What’s my father doing?” I asked a maid. 

“Oh, he’s in the last interview for your bodyguard. He was looking for you, he wants your final opinion.”

“Perfect.” I said, stepping inside.

“Ah, Eva! Perfect timing. This is our last interview and I was a little iffy so I decided that you could decide yes or no!”

I looked up and met the eyes of the person sitting in the chair across my father. Those eyes. Piercing, brilliant, teal eyes. Yes, this was the same man I had bumped into earlier.

He was staring at me that way again. No way did I want him to be my bodyguard!

“Now I know he’s a little young but what I saw was very impressive, and he’s one of our last options.” My fathers voice faded as i narrowed my eyes at the person in front of me. He still had that mask on. 

“So yes or no?” My father asked me. Of course I was going to say no! Then I noticed the tiniest hint of worry in his eyes. He probably needed this job. Perfect. Sweet revenge. I opened my mouth to say no triumphantly, but then a brilliant idea popped into my head. 

“Wait a minute.” I said, grinning evilly. “Him being my body guard means he has to do whatever I tell him too, right?”

“Yes…?” My father said, sounding confused.

“Alright. I’ll take him.” I smirked. “It’ll be fun!” 

“Great!” My dad said cheerfully, handing me some papers. “This is all the information you’ll need, I better get going. Sign here.” He said, tapping a piece of paper in front of the guy. 

“His name is Alex. You should get aquatinted. I have to go.”

For once, I didn’t mind him leaving. “Bye, daddy.” I said, before turning to Alex with a grin.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

And I am Nightmare

I am a budding writer, and still only a teen. I love any support that comes my way. I am also a Dark Empath, psychologist in training, and baker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.