Fiction logo

Boddobing, Boddobang, Boddobung

Initial, interval, and final exchange between two persons.

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
2
I didn't have a chance!

Boddobing.

On the island of Sango Jingo, they speak Dilingo. It is unique in linguistics, using what are called vowel movements to alter meaning. One particularly motif covers the exchange of greetings:

The initial "hello," boddabing, is an ing-word. The return salutation is boddobang, an ang-word. Boddobang is the official invitation to engage. (In essence, two persons agree to enter into conversation.) When the conversation is over, the goodbye is boddobung, an ung-word, designating finality.

I was recently in Sango Jingo having a drink at Mung's, a popular nightclub, when I spied a beautiful woman.

"Boddobing," I said.

"Boddobang," she replied and slid over to the empty chair between us. We had a wonderful conversation, but after an hour she said, "I have to work tomorrow. Boddobung."

"Boddobung," I replied and was lucky enough to get her number.

This pleasant if not promising experience contrasted dramatically with my experience at "The G-spot," a lesser-known bar in Sango Jingo.

"Boddobing," I said hopefully to an attractive young lady. She just glared at me.

"Boddobung!" she said tersely.

Such is the very useful machination of rejection in Dilingo.

No "boddobang," between my boddobing and her boddobung, was not lost on me. In essence, it was my "hello" to her very definitive "Piss off," or perhaps something even stronger. I had just experienced the painful Dilingo brushoff.

Later I learned "The G-spot" bar is a place for women, so named expressly to make it impossible for men to find. Live and learn.

Boddobung!

Short StoryMicrofictionHumor
2

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Boddobing! I'll assume you said Boddobang. Hahahahhahahahaha named G-spot to make it impossible for men to find! Okay gotta move on to read other stories now. Boddobung!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    oopsies. Veery confusing words. Ladies v Men booda,,,,,,ing. Cool and funny.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.