Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Blood for Blood

Blood Begets Blood

By Thavien YliasterPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2024
42
Blood for Blood
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

Looking out onto the waters from his canoe, Taima sighed, waiting for his adversary to surface.

"You'll need this," Nitis handed Taima a bow. "It's the only thing powerful enough to damage it. Conventional weaponry's futile."

"What's its components?"

"Mammoth tusk makes the body, and thunderbird heartstring for the string."

"How'd you get thunderbird heartstring?"

"With a plethora of bison to feast upon in the southern areas, they tend not to migrate, but this one came further north. It was found impaled on a mammoth's tusk near some tar pits. Thing's eyes were bigger than its stomach."

"Pride cometh before the fall. Thank you, my friend."

"Avenge our friends, family, and free our land from this tyrant."

Erupting from the waters, breaching the lake's glasslike calmness, Taima's canoe had just grazed the dragon's fang. Thankfully, his hull gained no holes, nor was there a corrosive venom eating away at its integrity.

Drawing his bow, he thought, "I have no arrows."

"You won't need arrows with this. It's too powerful."

"How do you know?"

"Do you trust me?"

"Yes." He let loose.

A torrent of air struck the serpent's hide, breaking through its underbelly's scaly flames.

"WHO ARE YOU!?" The ventilatious viper hissed.

"Taima! He who crashes thunder! Who are you?" He drew again.

"I am Gaasyendietha, from Cetus. I hear the mating call of your home's leviathan, Jörmungandr. His lover drowned. I'm to comfort him. We shall beget! For I rule the heavens' waters as he reigns them below the sky, and our children shall rain over all."

"Then you should've been breeding instead of feeding," Taima loosed the string.

Successive volleys struck Gaasyendietha, and upon pulling further back, the wind storms cracked her with lightning, clapping thunder. "Go back to your stars." With that final concussive blow, Taima knocked Gaasyendietha back towards her constellation.

Gaasyendietha's blood birthed new beings. One landed behind Taima. Nausea striking him, he turned, firing a blow that split Seelkee's head perfectly in two, the lightning cauterizing its wound.

The recoil launched Taima over mountains. Before crashing, a bed a red lichen grew on the plateau, cushioning his fall.

Awaking, the spirits of his friends and family bowed to him, thanking him for removing their consumer from this world. They departed for the Moon's Land.

Yet, Taima's work wasn't done.

Ogopogos, Memphres, Cressies, Mussies, Caddys, and Seelkees were born. Taima's hunt had just begun.

***

Thavien's Token:

This microfiction has been long overdue. This 400 word story was meant to be the 2nd part of a challenge that Donna Fox and I had given towards one another. She provided me with a plethora of sources to choose from to base my microfiction on. I hope that You've enjoyed it as well.

Her first legend that I provided her with developed into this wonderful top story.

CONTENT WARNINGShort StoryMysteryMicrofictionHistoricalFantasyFableClassicalAdventure
42

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    👏

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Thavien, this was sich an amazingly captivating piece! I love that you found a "mother" for several of the creatures we discussed! This is so clever and so thoughtfully put together!! Great work and congrats on Top story!!

  • You are so creative. Great job! congrats on your top story

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • M. A. Mehan 4 months ago

    "...Taima knocked Gaasyendietha back towards her constellation." I love the imagry of this! Anything with that has to do with the stars is an instant yes for me. Congrats on T.S.!

  • Muhammad Shaheer4 months ago

    congratulations

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    That's original. I could see a world built around this.

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Wow, impressive!!🥰❤️❤️

  • Antonella Rustica4 months ago

    Congratulations!💖💖💓👍🤦‍♂️

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Back to say, Congrats! Well deserved!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    Very well told. I love monster origin mythology. I hope that you plan to continue Taima’s tale of hunting the others down. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Atomic Historian4 months ago

    This is amazing!! I was hooked with the title and picture. But good lord that was a tale to behold

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Great myth taking and making. So, the creatures that reside in the deep started this way. I like it.

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Congrats on top story!

  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Congratulations Top Story 🥳🥳🥳

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    This was incredibly well written. As a Canadian, I'm embarrassed to say the only I've heard of was Ogopogos. I need to check out Donna's story. Do you know what ots called? Also congrats on the TS.

  • KJ Aartila4 months ago

    Nice one, Thavien! I love stories that include the constellations - dreamy, surrreal. :)

  • Oneg In The Arctic4 months ago

    Nicely written! I always admire fantasy/adventure writers who can create other worlds so smoothly

  • Kageno Hoshino4 months ago

    Nicely made.

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Well done on the (entirely unsurprising!) T.S.!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    A legend in the making.

  • I think I'm missing some context or knowledge because I understand what's happening in the story but I don't know who they all are. Since you mentioned that story of Donna's, I'm guessing these are all cryptids/legends. Please correct me if I'm wrong because I probably am 😅

  • real Jema4 months ago

    Hi, let's subscribe to each other

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Fascinating creativity. Gets to the hunter in me.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.