Fiction logo

Black Widow.

The Truth. It’s sure an eye opener when you’re presented with the lie.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Truthfully the Lie.

I met and was falling in love under unusual circumstance, his sister lived next to me and I have seen Tom for several months. It seemed the perfect relationship, and I was starting to fall in love with Tom. However, one day, I overheard Tom talking to his friend on the phone, and I heard him say something that made me suspicious.

Tom had told me that he was an architect and that he had designed several famous buildings, but on the phone, he had said that he was actually a construction worker and had never designed anything. I was taken aback by this revelation and began to wonder what else Tom had been lying about.

Over the next few days, I started to pay closer attention to Tom's behavior. I noticed that he would often avoid answering direct questions and seemed uncomfortable when I asked about his work. Also I noticed that he would sometimes slip up and contradict things he had previously said.

Finally, I decided to confront Tom about my suspicions. So I asked him why he had lied about his job and what else he might be hiding. At first, Tom was defensive and denied everything, but as I continued to press him, he eventually broke down and admitted that he had been lying to her about several things.

Whether or not to confront someone about their lies depends on the situation and the individual involved. In some cases, it may be best to confront the person and try to resolve the issue, while in other cases it may be better to let it go and move on.

The severity of the lie: If the lie is relatively minor and doesn't have a significant impact on your life or relationship with the person, it may be easier to let it go and move on. However, if the lie is more serious and has caused harm or damage, it may be necessary to confront the person and address the issue. But Tom had broke the unspoken rules of trust and cheated on me with a “friend”!

The relationship with the person: If the person is someone you care about and have a close relationship with, it may be important to confront them and try to work through the issue. However, if the person is someone you don't know well or don't have a strong relationship with, it may be easier to let it go and move on.

Your own feelings: If the lie has caused you significant distress or has made you feel betrayed, it may be important to confront the person and share your feelings. However, if the lie is something you can easily brush off and move past, it may not be worth the effort to confront the person.

Ultimately, the decision to confront someone about their lies or let it go will depend on your own personal values and the specific circumstances of the situation. It's important to weigh the potential benefits and drawbacks of each approach and make a decision that feels right, I knew going through this process was the right decision.

It turned out that Tom was not an architect at all, but had been working as a construction worker for several years. He had lied about his job to impress me and make himself seem more successful. He also admitted to lying about other things, such as his education and his past relationships.

I was devastated by the revelation, but realized that it was better to know the truth than to continue living in a relationship based on lies. So i decided to end things with Tom and move on with my life, knowing that I deserved someone who would be honest with her and respect her enough to tell the truth.

Its been a difficult time going through loving somebody so much, you entrusted yourself with everything that they were and accepted them as a prospect husband to be and the pain you first feel, well it’s better to do your crying now, rather than waiting until things get worse. I am pleased that we can remain friends but that would be all that we can endure with the truth, the truth cuts and you bleed, it’s better to heal from this experience and move forward with your own destiny.

Short StoryLove
1

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Well lies are awful ...😏 Better to end things quick

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.