Fiction logo

Best Friends

Committed and A Player

By Mariann CarrollPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
8
Best Friends
Photo by Donovan Grabowski on Unsplash

Charlie and Sam had been best friends since childhood. They grow up on the the same street . They attended the same high school and college. They just have a different take on love.

The scene begin outside a restaurant. Summer just begin. They were making plans for a camping trip. Charlie just got married last summer, he married his college sweetheart. Sam changes girlfriends every month.

Charlie: How’s it been buddy ?

Charlie asked Sam before he took a sip of his Beer.

Sam: Same, I just broke up with Kelly. She did not have time for me.

Sam complain to his best friend. While eating his chicken club sandwich.

Charlie : I can’t keep up, I thought you were going out with this Patty, chick.

Sam: That two months ago.

Charlie: I can’t keep up with your love life, if it’s possible to call it that?

Sam look at his friend in amusement.

Sam: Man, you know there is not a single woman who can’t keep my interest, too long.

Charlie: Sam, you are just too cynical about love. Let me introduced you to my wife best friend, Cathy. She will be coming along on our camping trip.

Sam: Speaking of which, let’s used my RV this time, there are plenty of room for four people and your dog Rudy.

Charles: Sound great, let’s do that. Let’s get together next week to go shopping with my wife. You know how, Heather is with food.

They finish their meal and went their separate way.

“ Let’s met at Walmart at 6pm on Friday?” Sam texted Charlie the fallowing week.

“ Great, my wife’s best friend will be coming along.” He responded back.

They all met the fallowing week in front of Walmart.

Sam could not keep his eyes off of Cathy. Cathy was wearing a flowery summer dress. Cathy was about 5’8”. Sam was 6’2”. Heather introduced Cathy and Sam. Sam extended his hand for a handshake but Cathy ignored it.

Sam just scatched his head instead. Heather and Charlie looked at each other.

It was an awkward shopping scene. The husband and wife was beginning to think, it was a bad idea. After the shopping they all met up at the couple’s house which was just a mile away from Walmart.

They put away the groceries for their trip. Sam order Pizza. They all settle down in the living room discussing the camping plan.

Charlie : Are you bring a girlfriend?

Sam: Nah, not this time.

Heather: Cathy are you bring any body ?

Cathy: No

Heather: Cathy can I talk with you in the Kitchen.

They both got up from the sofa and went to the Kitchen.

Heather: What’s going on with you?

Cathy: I just broke up with Gavin, it’s still hurts.

Heather: This camping trip might be good for you. You have not said a single word when, Sam try to talk to you.

Cathy: I was not in the mood for small talk, alright. I think, I better leave, before I make fool of myself. I will be here this weekend for our trip. Sorry, Heather. Can you say bye for me ?

Cathy left, using the back door. Looking very sad. Heather did not know how she can console her friend. Heather hope this trip will help, Cathy get over Gavin.

Sam: Where’s your gorgeous friend?

Heather: She left, she is not feeling well.

Sam: That’s too bad. I better get going,too. It’s getting late.

Charlie and Heather walked, Sam to his truck park in front of their garage.

They give him a hug goodbye.

Series
8

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Oooo, I like how Cathy and Heather are best friends just like our Cathy and Heather! My favourite part was when Cathy ignored Sam's handshake advances! 🤣🤣🤣 Will there be a part 2?

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    Mariann, I appreciate the narrative you chose for this story and the perspectives you showed. I feel like this would be a great opening scene for a bigger story or a multi part series.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Splendid start of your series!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • Okay, I see that Sam has the hots for Cathy❤️😉📝Hhhmmm 🙄I wonder how will he charm his way into her heart?

  • Poignant.

  • Clyde E. Dawkins11 months ago

    Very awesome story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.