Fiction logo

𝐁𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐅𝐫𝐢𝐞𝐧𝐝

A short story by George X

By 𝐆𝐞𝐨𝐫𝐠𝐞 𝐗Published 3 years ago 4 min read
2
𝑨𝒓𝒕 𝒃𝒚: 𝑲𝒆𝒗𝒊𝒏 𝑨. 𝑾𝒊𝒍𝒍𝒊𝒂𝒎𝒔

My love for her is a blessing, my queen I’m glad I got to fall in love with her. Artemis Naijaé Navarro, has been the mecca of my heart since the day I met her, Charlotte, North Carolina when I was with my father doing gardening work at her house. She is a knockout, were only in middle school when I met her, from there she seemingly had feelings for me, she would often come to my house asking my mother for me. Naijaé is just a work of art, rich dark skin, her luscious plump lips, grey eyes, her intellect & strength reminded me of a true Nigerian princess, her family are from Nigerian & Dominican descent. I just admired her for so long, I would often paint portraits of her whenever I had the free time to, I would often have a heavy load of thing to do for school, my parents, and at Home Depot stacking inventory or running the cash register. I gave her one of my paintings of her in November of 2016, we went to this oak tree where there was a patch of marigold flowers around it in the playground in our neighborhood, I carved our names within the tree with my pocketknife I had. Once she saw the painting, she almost cried just looking at it, I thought I upset her in that moment, until she excitedly kissed me without hesitation, I intensely kissed her right back as the warmth of the sun radiating upon us glowing. I had so much joy that day, the energy was just positive, the emotions were all over the place, I saw what life was worth she is my moon, and I am her sun, that’s what the universe consist of the planets that are in our space. I just love rambling on where I could go with her, since then been together for three years, I met her entire family as well did mine got to meet Naijaé. Before Covid-19 hit the scene we went to Egypt for the summer, visited the pyramids, it was everything imaginable when we traveled, that night in our hotel room we could let each other go. Everybody thinks in life such as these moments the world is yours, or you're on top of the world, except I don’t I never wanted this world, I don’t even want to give this world to her, the world doesn’t deserve her because I know how it can be, I rather protect her from it than be sucked into it. Our souls intertwined that night, the tenderness of each other I honestly just wanted to please her, it didn’t matter, I really cared for her.

After that night, we made our way back home from there I knew what wanted for the rest of my life, and it was for sure to spend it with her. So, I had to be sure that everything was set in place for her, I let her family & mine know what I had in stored for her, I told Naijaé we were going on a date, I was going to take her back to that oak tree with those little marigold flowers were. We walked talked about each other's day, though I was a little too excited to keep myself contained on what I needed to ask her.

“I need to tell you something” Naijaé spoke.

“Wait before you say anything I-”

“Aden, I’m pregnant” said Naijaé.

“Wait what?”

“We're going to have a baby” Naijaé answered.

I was flooded with so much happiness in my heart when she said that I gave her hug kissing her endlessly knowing she was going to carry something we created, she had life growing within her that is sacred. I had to let it out what needed to be said now, I seen and done it all, except when she walked into my life, I knew I was ready to face more with her by my side. I held onto her hand, staring into her exquisite beauty I fell for when I first met her.

“We’ve been together for a long time”

“Yes” said Naijaé.

“There’s isn’t much that we missed, right?”

“Nothing at all” answered Naijaé.

“And I want all the time spent together on this earth”.

I got on my knee, and she started to gasp knowing what I was about to do, I could see people in the playground staring at us, pulling out their phones. Which I admit this is a special moment, though I’m not really the type to be in the spotlight, especially behind cameras. Everybody was just happy to see us two, clapping I didn’t even pop the question yet, I pulled out the engagement ring I got from my mother when my father proposed to her, I was ready.

“I want you to be Mrs. Jackson Naijaé, will you marry me?”

“Yes, Yes I do, I do” Naijaé cried.

I put the ring onto her hand and we both kissed, everybody was just cheering us on, it was the most cliché thing in my entire life I experienced, though I’m glad I got to have that with my wife. Through the high & lows, I was able to let my heart be touched by someone who was able to show me compassion in my time, now I’m going to deliver our son in this quarantine hospital, yet that’s another story that shall be told soon enough.

Love
2

About the Creator

𝐆𝐞𝐨𝐫𝐠𝐞 𝐗

George X is a young African-American writer, following his bachelor's degree in creative writing at New England College. Growing, developing his craft within the writing world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.