Fiction logo

Behold the Truth

Part 1

By Marcus Alan PerkinsPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Behold the Truth
Photo by Mayur Joshi on Unsplash

Orange light from the morning sun basks the hard-packed clay in front of us in warmth as I stand at the tip of our formation. A shield is pressed against the tricep muscle in each arm attached to my torso. Coldness from the bronze-plated wood gives me comfort, as does the calm breathing of each man behind me. Each of them is ready to die for our valiant cause; each is dedicated to bringing honor and victory to their people, and all of us are willing to kill all that stand in our way. The men amassed across the barren field from us are also willing to die for what they believe and so will.

Soft, cool wind flows from the North, catching my hair and flipping it to the left side of my head as I lift the helmet above and slide it down over my face. An intimate euphoria washes over me with this addition, which causes a rare smile to adorn my face. The sun at our backs must be blinding to the opposite army, like the bouncing rays of light from our bronze-plated armor and weaponry. We must look double the size we are, I think to myself. This optical illusion must be the reason they delay. Good, for the more they delay, the closer our reinforcements draw.

“Plutich, should we utilize their cowardice and push forward?” My voice is silent enough that only the two behind me can hear. The one to my right is who I address, my second in command.

“Commander, that is not for me to decide.”

“If it was, what would be your order to the men behind us?”

“Feign an assault, send a runner to the reinforcements to push their flank.”

“Wise, what would you do of the scouts they undoubtedly have waiting for that movement?”

“This is why I’m no commander.” A low laugh comes from my left side.

“What of you, Cliander? What would you have this group do?”

“Frontal assault, the reinforcements will arrive soon and see us in battle. Their Commander will disperse wherever needed to keep our lines strong.” The third person in line to take charge if I die speaks with no fear.

“What of their flanking cavalry waiting for this move? Do we have the strength in numbers to repel their counter while our reinforcements move toward us? What if they become delayed or have a small detachment of enemies they must fight and are weakened?”

“I have failed to consider these outcomes, Commander. Which is why I’m only to lead if you two fall.”

“You both would make unmatched Commanders with a few years more experience.” I let my words ease any disheartening my rebuttals to their plans may have caused. “They delay because they think we have more men than we do. No doubt, because of this, they have dispatched a cavalry unit to their side hidden and another detachment of scouts to their opposite flank. This will ensure they have a slight warning if we do the same. They will advance when they find that we haven’t, and their scouts report our smaller than expected numbers.”

“We will extend our formation. Doing so will delay their scouts due to having to swing further to the South. Make it three men deep and as wide as possible. On the ends, I want an extra man facing outward. If we are flanked or attacked, fall back into this formation. Take your men and go.”

No words are spoken; my trusted generals move off with their forces to do as I instructed. As they do, I await the reaction from the opposite force but am surprised when they do nothing. My hand strokes my chin, curious about this lack of movement. The breeze shifts and begins to flow from the South, which pumps humidity into our faces. My brother’s forces use this moment to begin their advance, knowing that the sudden weather change will work for their advantage.

As I had instructed my generals, upon seeing this change in stance from our enemy, they halt their troops and return them to our prior formation. The ground beneath our feet begins to tremble as the large mass of men comes within one hundred yards of our front. The spears in our hands tilt forward to take the brunt of their attack with our shields protecting not only ourselves but the man beside us too. Sweat beads on my right brow before dripping off and splashing to the ground at my feet. These moments will prove to be the end of my life or my brother’s. Either way, I believe I will be fractured upon the sun’s descent into the underworld tonight.

AdventureShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Marcus Alan Perkins

I’m a father, published author, student, avid reader, husband, and advocate for equality for all. I am going to use this platform for my short stories and poems. Follow me on Facebook: @Author.MarcusPerkins, Twitter handle: @AMarcusperkins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.