Fiction logo

Battling Guilt Part 5: A Set Up

Frank tries to help Petra find her cousin.

By dre.amerwithapenPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1
Battling Guilt Part 5: A Set Up
Photo by Fredrick Lee on Unsplash

"I think this is a set-up," Frank said, carefully attempting to duck the hospital door entrance, which was a rusty metal door that seemed to have been ripped from its hinges, leaning against a previously conjoined door that was still in tact.

Just as Frank attempted to gently push it aside, Petra grabbed the door and hoisted it forward, leaving a reverberating bang that rang through the building. "Yeah no shit," she whispered, trying to overcompensate for her own loudness. "See, this is why you need me here," Frank whispered in a lower tone than hers. "Why's that?" she said. Frank grimaced as he watched Petra shuffle her way through brown disheveled lounge chairs that were so torn up that cotton fluff was hanging out of the cushions. They were so dirty they easily could have been the color red in a past life. "Because look what you just did, show off. Where's the element of surprise?"

Petra scoffed. "He already knows I'm coming, so what's the point?" Once Petra cleared a path for them, he gently grabbed her by her shoulders. "Do you have a penchant for danger?" Petra smiled. "I think you already know the answer to that," she said, ripping away from him once again. As they made their way through the hospital, Petra could feel an ambiance of hopelessness in the air; what was once a place of healing had become a hollow shell. It smelled of dry aerosol wipes and a musty mold aroma that seemed to pervade the entire building. Some hallways were surprisingly still lit, but it was dim. Others were so dark that Petra and Frank damn had to stay close to the wall to see where they were going.

"So where exactly does he want you to meet him?" Frank inquired. Petra shrugged her shoulders. "I'll find out when I get there, she said, opening a door that led to a questionably lit corridor of stairs. "Knowing Ivan, he'll probably be on the highest floor. Hell, he'll probably be on the roof for all I know."

"You both seem to have a flair for the melodramatic." Petra playfully shoved Frank as they started up the flight of stairs. "I'm serious. Why don't you just call him and ask?" Petra stopped walking and shot Frank a scowl. "Why didn't I think of that before? Oh wait- I remember! Maybe because he called from an unknown number!" Frank shrugged his shoulders. "Wel,l I'm just trying to help."

Petra softened her gaze and gently placed a hand on Frank's shoulder. "I appreciate it, but right now there's not much I can do but look for my cousin. Ivan said he would be here."

"Maybe we should just go back to the front of the building and wait for him to call," Frank suggested.

Petra disagreed. "No, I want to find him now."

"Conserve your energy for when you actually face Ivan," Frank insisted. "Relax, and trust me," he continued, gently pulling Petra closer to him. Petra could feel some of her body loosen up, the torturous thoughts that swarmed in her mind beginning to leave. Frank's touch provided a heavy relief to her soul. But her gut feeling still told her this wouldn't end well. But at the very least, Frank was by her side.

The moment was fully interrupted when her phone began to ring again. What was once a pleasant Elton John bop was a now a taunting melody in her ears, almost like the music one hears in a horror movie right before someone dies. She felt an unpleasant shiver permeate from her neck to her spine. "Stop bull-shitting me Ivan," Petra growled when she answered the phone. "Where are you?"

"Meet me at the top of the building. Come alone. Don't bring your pathetic bouncer friend." With that, the line went dead. "Oh Im gonna kill him when I see him!" Petra said, trudging up the flight of stairs, tossing her phone down the stairs. "What did he say?" Frank said, attempting to follow her. Petra swerved around and held out both her hands, motioning for Frank to stop. "You can't come this time Frank. He wants me alone." Frank shook his head. "No, I don't feel right about this, let me-" Petra hardened her stance, her demeanor stone cold and her body planted firmly in his way. "Stay here. I'll be back in ten minutes."

Follow me on insta @dre.amerwithapen for more. And feel free to send a tip in the right hand corner to show your support :)

thrillerYoung AdultShort StoryAdventure
1

About the Creator

dre.amerwithapen

Life is too short to not spend it doing what you love. And that is why I write. Because I have a continuous burning fire and love for it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    I couldn't stop reading. Your writing was really well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.