Fiction logo

Barnabus's Failed Assassination

Part 1

By Ella DormanPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Photo made by Ella Dorman with Canva

Today is the day. The day I was supposed to assassinate the prince. I started by putting poison in his wine at dinner when he looked away. I felt so accomplished! The table was full of people, and no one saw me. I knew I was in the clear. However, he rested his chin on his hand when he turned around, smirking down at his glass. This only made me frown in complete confusion. Why was he grinning? Did he know? It couldn't be. I was so careful. But then I noticed his eyes meet mine, and he gave me a quick wink before slyly switching his cup with the person next to him, which happened to be his right hand. As I watched him pick up his drink and take a sip, I could feel the terror surface while my eyes widened. As he started to choke out blood, the whole table began to panic and run while others tried to help him.

I knew there was no saving him, and I wanted to walk away without acting suspiciously when I felt the prince put his hand on my thigh. He held me down tightly as he slowly moved his lips to my ear with that stupid smirk plastered across his face.

"Next time when you want to kill me, just put a dagger through my heart," he whispers as goosebumps go up my spine.

"It's easier and less messy," he said as he trails his lips to my neck.

"How did you know? You weren't even looking at me." I whispered back, trying to sound mad as the goosebumps danced on my skin. I tried to calm my heart; however, it was beating so fast that I felt like it would jump out of my chest. I had never failed a mission. Watching me amused, the prince chuckles as he moves away from me. Then, just when I thought I was free, he grabbed me by my chin and looked me straight in the eyes.

"I am, always, looking at you!" he exclaimed.

Which leads to my predicament. Tied to his bed, and if I scream, the guards will come in, and I will be arrested and thrown in the dungeon. The prince is known for his torture routines; however, they usually occur in his dungeon.

"So....I hear you are the most sought after madien in the land." he says with a grin.

"I am positive you have heard quiet wrong." I snap back.

"Careful, darling. Wouldn't want to spook the guards." he chuckles.

"How about you be careful. They will be looking for me." I reply as my voice cracks.

Amused, he looks down at me.

"Don't worry, darling, you will be free soon enough. However, if I let you leave now you will be charged for murder and attempt of murder." he says as he runs a finger down my arm, admiring every curve.

"How can I be charged if only you know?" I ask mischievously.

"Simple. I will tell them." he chuckles.

"What do you want with me then?" I ask, intrigued.

"Company," he replies, lost in thought.

"Company? Cant you pay one of your goonies?" I snap.

"I could but then what is the point?" he chortles.

We both hear rummaging outside the door. He places a finger across my lips with a concerned look as if to tell me to keep quiet. We both sit in silence as the door handle jiggles. Finally, the prince leaps up and closes the canopy curtains concealing me inside. I can hear his footprints leap to the door.

"Excuse me?" the prince bellows.

"My appologies Sir." a small mousey voice cracks.

I recognize her voice. Samantha has been in love with the prince for years. She begged me not to assassinate him; however, she knew it was my job, and if I didnt succeed, it would be my head.

"Be on your way," he says, trying to close the door.

"Please...wait.." she says as she puts her foot in the way.

"Not listening to your prince? You do know that is punishable by death right." I hear him ask.

"You're right Sir I apologize. However there is a bounty on your head. That poison was meant for you!" she cries out as the guards look at him.

"Darling, I can smell the vodka on your lips! You are outraged. Please come in and relax on the couch." he roars so the guards can hear him.

They chuckle as I hear the clicking of heels hitting the stone floor leading to the couch.

"I am not drunk, and you know it!" she whines once the door is shut.

"They dont know that." the prince chuckles. "Now why are you telling me this?"

"Because you are in danger!" she snaps.

"You think so?" he asks as I hear his footsteps approach me. However, he just sits at the foot of the bed, keeping me concealed as my heart begins to pound out of my chest.

"I know so! I can tell you by who." she begins.

"Nonsense. Samatha you have been after me ever since the royals adopted me. I don't believe this and I suggest you leave immediately before I tell them you have put me in danger." he yells loud enough the guards come rushing in.

"Do you need help Sir?" the guards both say at once.

"Yes, please exile this woman from the castle grounds. She is not to return!" the prince says. However, I cannot tell if he is angry or just putting on a show.

"One more thing," he says as they go to walk out. "I am retiring to my room for the night. Please make sure that no one disturbs me."

"Yes Sir!" they bellow.

Panicking, I begin to pull at the restraints when I glance up at the prince, who seems quite amused. "What are you doing?" he chuckles.

"Trying to get free." I snap back.

"Doesn't look like you are trying very hard." he chortles as he removes my restraints.

Before I can make a run for it, he holds down my thigh tightly.

"Sweetheart, I don't know where you think you are going." he grins.

"Anywhere but here." I struggle to say.

"Yeah...I think not. We have some specifics we need to cover. Everyone watched us leave together." he says, slightly worried.

"How does that affect me in the least?" I asked, rolling my eyes.

"Well, I am a prince, and you tried to kill me. If that is the story we are going with, let's tell the guards," he said as he gripped my arm so hard I could feel the pain racing up my arm.

"No," I said, pulling away as hard as I could; however, he didn't budge.

"Then figure out your story Victoria." he chuckles.

As we talk, we hear footsteps approach. Barnabus's eyes widen as he recognizes the voice calling out to him. I watch as his face turns pale as a ghost.

"Hide," he whispers into my ear trying to conceal the terror in his voice.

Love
1

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.