Fiction logo

#2,435 Part II

Log: #3,286

By Ella DormanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
#2,435 Part II
Photo by Ehteshamul Haque Adit on Unsplash

Log: #3,286

Name: #2,435

Date: February 9th, 2017

For the past sixteen years, I have had to hide my journal. Tomorrow I turn thirty, which means it is my release date. When the new recruits came and went over the last sixteen years, and I tried not getting attached; however, I did. Tonight I am securing a way to sneak out the twins. They are only toddlers, but I cannot leave them behind. #2,908 has agreed to help me sneak them out. Like I stated 16 years ago when we are 30, we graduate and become millionaires; however, I am worth $2.9 billion when I am released. I learned that certain behaviors gained us money for when we left. Over the last sixteen years, I witnessed what a factory reset meant. I lost count, but I promise you that we heard nightly screams weren't just that one lady.

After I snuck out and found their reset rooms, I was sworn to secrecy about what had happened. Since I secured my future, I cannot tell you what went on or that there was more than one set of blood-curdling screams. I also cannot tell you where they are releasing me because my identity will be compromised, and I will be reset. I am nervous about my release date because there is no confirmation that we are released. Just stories that were said to be people from our bunkers. I also learned that there are many more bunkers than ours. The guard said that he needed to report to lot #345; however, they stopped talking when they noticed me walk by. So there could be hundreds or thousands of children in these bunkers. This also makes me wonder if when we "graduate," we are just moved to new bunkers based on our "money" we have earned. If I have $2.9 billion and it is bunkers still, I will be alone.

I don't know what is scarier, being alone or thrown into a world I know nothing about. All I know is I need to get the twins out. They believe their parents still want them, and this is just another kidnapping because they arrived two weeks ago and are four years old. Old enough to remember a traumatic event. I am aware of the dangers if I am caught, or their parents are no longer alive. I know that I am putting a lot on the line, but no child deserves to live like this. Hours inside and outside have changed now that they figured out how to give us a gym room with sunlight without letting us outside. They figured that we would soon be getting stronger and try to leave. They have no idea how true this is. The twins are extraordinary, though. They are brilliant and can do impressive math problems in their brains.

This makes me wonder if we all have unique skills we forgot about because we are being treated differently than normal humans. Regardless I meet with a guard who used to be held captive here tonight. I have to be careful because if I cannot trust him, then I will be reset. If that is the case, that means I will die. If I die and you are reading this, please do not look for me. That will put the children in grave danger, and we will have a repeat of 1945, where they lit the bunkers on fire and locked the children and adults inside. The reasoning was that too many of them began to understand what was going on, and instead of a peaceful protest that Americans are entitled to, they were shut up the best way they knew how.

This massacre included guards, cooks, new recruits, teens, and teachers. The graduates were welcomed back for a reunion, but it was another death trap. That is why this journal will be hidden off-grounds so that this can just be viewed as another conspiracy theory so that no one will take it to heart. When in reality, this is the story of my life.

Until next time,

#2,435

Series
Like

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.