Fiction logo

Band of the Raven

Chapter 6: Young Feelings

By Ryan HamannPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

As the second morning of training came for Brendiel and Darin’s training, Harly sat in her room, watching the towns folk walk the streets. A gentle knock came from her door with a slight exhale as well.

“Come in.” Harly called out and stood from her windowsill. Wolarian slowly opened the door and stood tall as he entered.

“Am I disturbing you?” He asked softly.

“Not at all.” Harly said with a smile. The sun shined against her soft pale skin and sent a shiver of excitement through the young wolf’s skin. How can she be so beautiful this early in the morning? He thought to himself as he approached.

“I was just wondering if you would like to join me on a walk around the town. My body feels well rested from the training and I am getting a bit stir crazy in this place.” He said as he lifted his arm and pressed it on the back of his head. “It has been awhile since you and I have had some time to ourselves, after all.”

Harly took a step forward and replied, “You and I both. I was just thinking about what life was life before being a Hunter. I’m sure a walk would do me some good to clear my head.” Wolarian took a step to the side as he let Harly pass through the doorway first. He took a long exhale and followed, closing the door behind him.

The warm, low sun brushed against their faces as they walked out of the musty tavern. The smell of stale ale faltered as the freshly baked foods from the market flushed into their noses.

“It feels amazing to stretch out my legs again.” Wolarian said as they started down the road leading towards the open field. “It’s amazing what only two days of training can do to a body.” He said with a chuckle.

“I think that is less the training, and more the trainer.” Harly smirked, looking up at the young man. “Killian is the greatest warrior. I can only imagine what it would be like to be trained by him.” Wolarian’s eyes dropped and his shoulders fell slightly.

“Killian was indeed a harsh trainer. But I feel much stronger because of it.” He replied.

“Let’s just hope you can do a little bit more than just roll over, little wolf.” Harly poked again as she began skipping forward.

Am I just a dog to you? Wolarian thought as he watched her skip away.

“Although my strength has increased quite a bit. Killian also helped me learn what it meant to fight for the ones I cared about.” He called out again.

Harly turned and started walking backwards to respond. “Oh really? I would have thought that you would have already known that. Since usually wolves travel in packs anyway. I’m actually a bit shocked you didn’t know about that.”

“Well, who do you have to fight for? If it is so common, I can only imagine you have someone in mind every time you go into battle.” He snapped back quickly.

“It was just a joke, Wolarian. No need to be so serious.” Harly replied with a shrewd tone. “But since you asked. I do, in fact, have someone I think about whenever we enter battle. Someone I could never let be harmed.”

Wolarian perked up with interest. “And who might that be?” He asked while holding back his excitement.

“It is Killian of course!” She said with a loving smile and adoring eyes. “I know he is powerful, but if there was ever a time that I could save him from certain peril I would give my life to save him.”

“What of the man you go home to when our hunts end? I would have assumed he was the one you would be thinking about.” Wolarian spoke with melancholy growing behind his words.

Oblivious to the tone, Harly continued. “He is alright when I need to blow off some steam after a long hunt. However, he is just someone to come home to. If something were to happen to him, I would simply find another to fill his place. I mean, he is just a human man. All they think about is one thing and I will outlive them anyway.” She hopped closer to him and leaned forward. “Enough about me. Who is this person you fight for? Or is it a what instead of a who?” She giggled.

“Well…” He began. Don’t tell her. What good will it do? She has already said her piece. You were an idiot for even bringing this up. “I…” He glanced around until he saw a butterfly landing on a large stone nearby. That’s it! “I care about the world we live in. I feel like we are doing great things as Hunters.” He pointed towards the stone, causing Harly to turn and look. You coward. He thought to himself as his body hunched over even more as the red-haired beauty had her back turned.

“Awe,” She said like a small child. “It’s only fitting you would feel so close to nature. Seeing as you are a part of it and all.”

As she turned back around, Wolarian straightened himself upright and forced a smile. Nice save, idiot. Now she thinks you are a nature fanatic. He thought to himself. “Of course.” He said as Harly continued to skip on through the field. He looked around as the white clouds started to cover the sun above them. “It looks like it is about midday.” He called out. “Do you want to get some food from the market before all the vendors run out?” Harly continued to throw her hands at her side and bask in the cool summer breeze. “I will take that as a no, then.” He said to himself as he continued to look around. His eyes fell on Mira who was sitting with her eyes closed not too far away, facing the woods beyond. I wonder how Brendiel and Darin are faring. He proceeded over to her and sat on the other side of the bench.

“Hello, Wolarian.” Mira softly spoke, while breaking a smile. “How are you doing this day?” Her voice fell on his ears like an angel.

“I am well. Just thought I needed some time out in the sunlight after a long time of resting in my room.”

“I see you have gathered Harly along with you.” She opened her eyes and glanced over at the free-spirited woman dancing in the midday breeze. “Trying to mend a broken bridge?”

“From what I’ve seen, I don’t even think there was a bridge to begin with.” He said with a sigh. “We were just children when the guild found us.” Mira reached her hand out over the wooden bench and placed it over the changeling’s hand.

“There is always a bond that has grown between those who enter together into the guild. Give it time. Rushing these things will only cause more pain, young one.” Her eyes sparkled with rays of pink flashing outward. “Focus on the mission at hand and prepare. Those feelings have no place where we are going. Use this time to regain your strength and enjoy the world of the mortals.” She pulled her hand back and focused back on the woods. “The two animals in there are just about to run out of time to train. I am sure Harly is going to realize very soon that her journey will not be the same after this bounty. Let her enjoy this time. We will come seek you both when it is time for her to begin her training.”

Wolarian stood and nodded. “Thank you for your kind words.” He turned back and called out to Harly. “Come get some lunch!”

She turned and called back, “It’s about time you had a great idea!” She pranced past them and led the way back into the village, following the crowd of hungry village dwellers towards the market.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Ryan Hamann

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.