Fiction logo

Balance

For the sanctity of others

By Alexander T RichardsonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
3
Balance
Photo by Rosie Sun on Unsplash

Dark black scales coat its body from head to tail. With the last hints of sunlight coming from the sunset's glare, the scales seem to absorb its light, rather than reflect it.

It’s a true horror to behold, a horror that I only hear about in fairytales.

It towers over me, flapping its wings ever so slightly. Just by adjusting them, I’m able to feel a strong gust of wind that keeps me from standing up.

I can feel its eyes gorge into me with their gaze, as it bows its head down, its awfully long neck flailing around to do so.

“Hello,” it says, calmly, its mouth not moving an inch. It greets me like a distant relative at a family dinner. A gruff, deep, intimidating introduction.

I respond with non-stop trembling, only imagining how this demon can rip me limb from limb in a flash. It keeps its eyes on me, waiting for my response.

I start throwing my head left and right, looking for my mother and father. I could’ve sworn when they were with me when I got here. I want to scream for them, but I’m not even brave enough to do that. All the fear in my body leaves me to take no action, only to wait for what comes next.

“It’s okay child, you may speak.”

Is it… trying to comfort me?

I ignore his words, only seeing them as a rouse. I keep tossing my head around, only seeing trees lit up by the golden sunlight.

They’re not here. Why aren’t they here? Where’d they go?

“Are you looking for someone,” it asks, elegantly.

“No!” Without thinking, I yell out my answer, my soul fleeing from my body.

“Really? It seems that way to me.”

Why does he sound so polite? Why doesn’t he eat me already? I don’t see the sense of this torment. What’s the purpose of playing with prey like this?

“I’m n—not looking for anyone,” I stutter, sheepishly.

“It’s okay child. We all have ones that we care for. There’s no shame in admitting it.”

“W—What? What do you mean?” I ask, curiosity overtaking my fear. What would this thing know about caring for others?

“You know what I mean. You are a child, so there must be someone that you depend on, yes? A mother and father I’m assuming.”

“Yeah…”

“Are those the two that you’re looking for?”

His voice has gone from intimidating to consoling, wrapping me into the conversation with its charisma.

“Y—Yes, what’s it to you?”

“I only ask so I can understand the ones that have been brought to me. Normally, they don’t have a clue as to what’s happening to them.”

Brought to it? What does it mean by that?

Not knowing what else to do, I jump to my feet and make a run for it. I put one leg in front of the other as fast as I possibly can, sprinting into the forest with its now diminishing light to guide me. The trees are thick and tight together, but I’m still able to maneuver around them with ease.

My breaths are louder than the stomps of my feet, as my tattered shirt sticks to my skin.

I see a clearing up ahead, but once hit the edge of it, I run face-first into something hard.

I crash onto my back and grip my nose, my entire face throbbing in pain. While I grovel on the ground, I hear loud footsteps booming along the forest floor.

I sit myself up and turn back to see the monstrosity walking towards me. I didn’t get far from it at all.

It takes slow and patient steps towards me, its head standing tall atop its slimy neck, its tail knocking down trees effortlessly.

Once it reaches me, its neck squirms around, adjusting itself to position its head directly in front of me

“This always happens,” He hums, his whisper sending vibrations into my chest. “A little honesty would go such a long way.”

“What’re you talking about,” I scream, my fear converting into anger.

“I’m sorry to tell you this, child but you were brought here by your parents, and now you cannot leave.”

“Can’t… leave?”

“Do not expect anyone to come to save you. This is where fate has brought you.”

What is he talking about? This must be a nightmare.

“No! I only came out to the forest to find firewood. That’s what my parents told me.”

“They lied to you. They knew you wouldn’t be able to handle the truth.”

Ignoring its words, I try to run again, but hit the same mysterious wall.

The sides of my fist smash onto what looks like nothing, but I can’t get through.

I push, tackle, kick, and even scream for my mother and father, but nothing helps me break through this barrier.

“I already told you; no one is going coming to help you.”

“Shut up,” I screech, turning to the demon. “You don’t know what you’re saying! What do you want with me anyways?”

“I know that fear is coursing through your veins right now, but it’ll be swift. I promise.”

“Swift? What does it mean by swift? Answer my question,” I screech, tears flooding off my face.

“The answer that you’re begging for will be provided for you soon. Just know one thing. No matter where you end up after this, just know that your parents truly loved you. I am no monster, though my appearance says otherwise. There are just some things that must be done to satiate my temper. Your contribution will not be in vain. I know for a fact you’ll be at peace after this.”

My face is soaked in tears, my heartbeat is thudding inside of my head. All the questions I was too scared to ask before are flooding into my head now.

The demon flaps its wings with a purpose, and the sounds of trees creaking, and snapping are echoing all around me. I’m pushed against the invisible wall by the wind, not even able to speak.

The last hint of the sunset disappears as if the demon’s winds blew it away. The forest is brought to an eerie pitch black, the demon perfectly concealed in its veil, all that is left is the sound of its scales clicking together as it shifts.

“May you rest in peace, child.” Bright red starts to glow in front of me—the sounds of a thick liquid now forcing its way into my ears.

The red starts to form into a thick ball, as the bright red color becomes sullied with a darker tone, now holding a strong resemblance to blood. It sloshes together as it continues to grow. I keep my back pressed against the wall wanting to flee, but I’m too mesmerized by the spectacle before me to move. Suddenly, the ball shoots forth at me, submerging me inside it.

It’s as if I jumped into the ocean, now being tossed around by violent waves. As I lose hold of myself, my skin starts to burn. With the constant thrashing of my body, and the stinging burns plaguing my skin, I soon feel my body going limp, the waves beginning to soothe themselves, and the burning turning into a relaxed chill.

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Alexander T Richardson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Tameka Cummings2 years ago

    I really love this story especially how chilling it was towards the end. Did not expect that twist!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.