Fiction logo

Bad Luck Or Is It

A coven of my very own.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
8
Bad Luck Or Is It
Photo by Kayla Maurais on Unsplash

In a circle we come together, all of us.

We ask to rid the sad, bad luck from us and thus.

Spirit, put an end to it all that comes around.

Air, blow so hard that the wind knocks it to the ground.

Earth, be here to live out all the rest of our days.

Fire, to light our way, with candles and logs ablaze.

Water, wash the dirt and grime. Get us through this maze.

Last year just before Halloween I wrote the spell above to say with a coven I would bring together:

~

I wrote the spell above and drew something to ask for help. It was too many months with one thing after another that year. It may have even started before that year.

I had put the word out that I was looking for others to come together and help me to perform regular spells, and magic to get us back on the right track yet Dear.

I didn't know about pulling in 12 others, though I hear the number can vary. I never feared what I didn't understand. I had seen a lot in my lifetime and thought I knew that it was not something to fear.

My cultural background invited me to see a medicine man. I have visited many over the years. One I spoke with before all of this, encouraged what I was about to do. I had other medicine men take negative things from me, as I shed a tear.

Still, others told a friend that he couldn't take that as it could land on his family who had traveled with him from Canada. She continues to live with it. I know there was some advice, I was not privy to that was clear.

Another may say you know not what you do. But who am I to say what someone would or wouldn't say. And I know we are not all gifted in the same way. This was only the beginning of this journey for me and I saw what happened and maybe it calls for some worry but no jeer.

Two months later:

I had some women interested. Some were afraid. Some were full of sass.

We got into the circle and smudged with sage, cedar and sweet grass.

Then for the spells that we brought to the circle one at a time.

It was dark in the woods and the fire crackled and sparked sometime.

We could hear some noise coming from the trees.

I felt some weakness in my knees.

The noise we heard just sounded like a hive of bees.

No, that wasn't it, not it at all.

We watched as the trees dropped a big colorful ball.

We stood holding onto each others hands as the sparks of the fire

appeared to be going out. What now was all I could say of this mire.

And we held firm, even when the fire went out and the trees got louder.

Fear was all around and some were relieved when a couple husbands then hollared for chowder!

Damn monkeys someone screamed.

I commented how serious this all was and then someone beamed.

It was my hubby, all dressed in costume and letting us know to quiet our quells.

It would either work or not as you gals got through all your spells.

Today:

We are done with the bad luck and each and every one of us 13 all got satisfaction from our spells! We will do it again, with or without the husbands.

If they decide to join us, they will have to be present and not hide in the treestands.

HorrorShort StoryHumor
8

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Moe Radosevich7 months ago

    That was very neat Denise, best of luck for next time, 👍 😊

  • Oh so glad they got rid of all the bad luck. Awesome story!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    💚 great story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.