Fiction logo

Back to Earth

Can you go back to somewhere you've never been?

By Megan OsbornPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Back to Earth
Photo by The New York Public Library on Unsplash

“I cannot believe you posted that-” Shanae flopped onto my bed grabbing my phone. “totally fishing for compliments.”

I rolled my eyes as far back in my head as I could, “it’s just a picture of me. If people feel compelled to compliment me, then the shoe fits I guess.”

What I didn’t tell her was the hour I spend with my tripod trying to capture the perfect shot and the hour I spent editing it enough to look flawless but not so much that it was obvious. That’s the trouble with being popular – you have to try hard but seem like you didn’t try at all. At least that’s how I experience it. It always seems like popularity comes easily but for me, it’s a full-time job.

She chuckled. “Ok, nice caption by the way.”

I snatched my phone from her grips and tried not to look at the selfie with the caption “Another hot one <thermometer emoji>”

“So you’re going on the trip, right?”

“Wouldn’t miss it” I said with just a touch of sarcasm.

The Earth Science class had a field trip scheduled this weekend – the annual trip to Earth. Most students couldn’t afford the trip and would have to check our social media for all the jealousy inducing content. Shanae and I were among the elite. Our parents had more wealth than we could ever spend.

They say I’m lucky. I was in foster care for the first few years of my life. As the story goes, Lady Simons saw my preschool class at the park and spotted me. She thought I was too cute to be a foster child and the Simons’ were in the market anyway. I mean, they were the only parents I’ve ever known and they seemed nice enough but totally disinterested. Shanae always said a parent’s interest in their child was inversely related to the amount of money they had.

My adoption was big news at the time. Headlines called me a “modern day Moses” -I think they may have forgotten how that story ended. I was fortunate, though, I know that. What are the odds of being adopted by the wealthiest family on the camp?

“Same. I just hope there’s good food. Ooh and maybe Aiden will be there! You think he’ll comment on your pic?”

I gave her a playful shove and she jokingly slid off the bed landing on the floor with a thud.

We broke out into giggles as the bell sounded. Intermission was over and it was time to get back to class.

We ran into Aiden and Timothy in the hall.

“Nice picture” Aiden nudged me. “but you’re going to have to get used to the heat if you’re going to Earth.”

I rolled my eyes again – my classic move when I’m uncomfortable.

“I think I’ll manage. I don’t know why they make it so hot anyway.”

“Right?” Shanae chimed in. “It’s all the old folks and their summer nostalgia. Why can’t we just be comfortable all the time?”

“I don’t really mind it” Timothy replied. “It adds some spice” he motioned like he was adding spice to a pot.

We all broke out into laughter and the warning bell rang.

“Alright, see ya guys” I shouted as I ran to my class.

After school, I went straight to the Children’s room where I volunteered to help the foster children. It was sort of like a full-circle philanthropy thing. All teens age 14-18 were required to weekly volunteering and this just felt right to me.

One of the little girls, Madeline, was my favorite. Some of them were rambunctious, noisy and refused to listen. Madeline, wasn’t like that. She was quiet and reserved but she was funny when she got talking.

The next few days flew by and before I knew it, it was the night before the field trip and Shanae and I were in my bedroom trying to pack my suitcase.

“Do you think the dress code applies on Earth?” Shanae asked.

“If Mr. Reeds is there, yes.”

This time we both rolled our eyes.

“You know, it’s kinda weird they don’t tell us where exactly we’re going.”

“I know, right? All I know is it’s probably going to be over 100 degrees. That’s what everyone says.”

“Okay, no dress code”

The next morning we were boarding the ship for our field trip. It was 20 of the most popular and rich teens from the ABC – Aeronautic Base Camp (yeah, I think they spent a total of 2 minutes coming up with that name).

“Today’s the day!” Shanae squealed as we boarded the ship.

“I don’t know why I’m so nervous. I’ve been on tons of flights before.”

“Yeah, but have you ever landed?”

“Good point”

“But don’t worry, they make this flight all the time. I think they go for supplies or something.” Shanae reassured me.

The ship filled up quickly with the buzz of excited teens. Not only was this the first flight for many, it was also the first time being away from our parents.

Timothy and Aiden rolled up 5 minutes before departure.

“Well look who finally showed up.” Shanae teased.

“Yeah, now the party can start!” Timothy replied and Aiden and Timothy high-fived.

“Dorks”

“So where d’ya think we’re going?” Aiden asked.

“My money’s on the Rocky Mountains!”

“Don’t know, don’t care. I’m just happy to get out of here.” I sighed.

Mr. Reed took his place at the front of the ship and began giving us a speech on safety and rules in his usual monotone voice. His speech concluded and we all clapped. I think we were clapping more because the speech was over. Sooner than I knew what was happening, the ship lurched forward and the engines began to purr. This ship was bigger and louder than the ships I had been on before. I’d only done scenic flights before. We fly around and look at all the planets, then circle back to ABC. My parents love them – I'm not sure why.

I closed my eyes and took a few deep breaths, suddenly feeling very uneasy.

As I’m lost in thought, an announcement startles me: “We’re set to arrive in 30 minutes. Please make sure your seat belts are fastened and prepare for the experience of a lifetime.”

They’re really hyping this up, aren't they? Classes go every year and not one person has said it changed their life. The sleepy students start to wake up and the snacking students rub their grimy fingers on the cloths provided. I feel the ship start to descend and I close my eyes again.

“Alright, we’re here!” Mrs. Reeds, Mr. Reeds cheerful counterpart, exclaims. “You may be wondering where ‘here’ is exactly. Well, we have brought you students to the roots of ABC. Many of your family members are from this very location, formerly known as Nebraska! There are several points of interest and historical landmarks that we will be exploring. First, we will go to the Student Embassy to get settled in. Your chaperone will bring your group to our first site and then tonight, we will have a real fire and roast real marshmallows!”

Her excitement was enough for all of us, though I have to admit I was enthralled by the concept of fire. Fire was completely prohibited on ABC so none of us have ever seen the real thing.

Shanae and I followed the directions to the female dormitory at the student embassy.

“I’m so excited, I just can’t hide it” Shanae started to sing in our room as we heard a knock on the door.

“Hello, girls! I hope you’re getting settled in nicely.”

“Yes” we both chimed through the door.

“Great; once you’re unpacked, please meet up at the end of the hall.”

“Let’s get going. Maybe the first site will be something exciting.” I shrugged.

We finished unpacking and quickly made our way to the end of the hall where the small group of girls already stood huddled around our chaperone who introduced herself as Ms. Wilson. Ms. Wilson laid out some ground rules:

“There is a strict curfew of 10pm. Do not stray from the tours and always stay within the fencing at each site. Oh, and be careful of burning yourself at the fire tonight. It is real ya know!”

We all made our way to an ancient bus. It creaked and groaned as we all filed on board.

“Fancy running into you here.” Timothy joked.

We chuckled and took our seat across from Timothy and Aiden.

We talked about nothing for the 20-minute ride and then the bus slowly came to a halt in front of an old, decrepit building with a new-looking sign.

“The ABC Museum of History and Founding Est. 3006”

“Guess I was wrong about the first site being exciting”, I laughed.

Inside the museum was all your typical museum things – plaques with tiny text and window displays that meant nothing to me.

Timothy yawned, “Hey, what do you guys say we do some exploring?”

“Didn’t you guys get the same rules as us?” Shanae asked.

“Rules can be bent just a little, don’t you think?” Aiden replied.

I saw Shanae’s eyes sparkle as she looked at me. “I’m in. You in?”

I hesitated.

“Once of a lifetime experience, right? When are you ever going to come back to earth.”

She’s right. I mean what’s the worst that could happen.

“I’m in.”

“Yesss!” The boys high fived.

We let ourselves lag behind the group and scurried out a door labeled “FIRE EXIT ONLY”.

“Let’s duck under that gap in the fence and explore that old neighborhood.” Timothy said.

Shanae and I followed their lead – under the fence and through the overgrown weeds of what once was a suburban neighborhood.

As we were walking, I fell face first into the ground.

“Are you alright?” Aiden asked.

My cheeks turned beet red. “Yeah, yeah. I’m fine. I don’t know what my foot got caught on.”

We all looked back and saw a metal edge sticking out of the ground.

“Ooh buried treasure!” Timothy said.

“Well, let’s dig it up, then. We are explorers, aren’t we?” Shanae asked.

The boys started scraping away at the dirt like dogs looking for a bone while Shanae and I assessed the damage I did to my shin.

“Hey, we’ve almost got it.”

They pulled out a huge metal crate labeled “Houston’s Family Chest 2000” It was rusted and had an old padlock had totally corroded, hanging there useless.

“Houston - that’s Madeline’s last name.”

“Oh, that little foster girl you like?” Shanae asked.

I made a face, “yeah, that little foster girl.”

“You know what I mean. I bet this could be her family’s chest. She’s the only Houston I know.”

The boys were already opening the chest. There was a plastic doll, some photo albums, and then a small box that looked like a jewelry box.

“Oooh, gimme.” Shanae squealed.

She snatched it out of the metal chest and carefully opened the lid. She pulled out a beautiful gold heart-shaped locket that still shined after all these years. We all huddled over her shoulder. Shanae gently opened it up to reveal the picture inside.

I gasped and took a step back. They all looked at me and back at the locket. It was like seeing a ghost. The photo in the locket could have been a mirror image of me.

“Do you think...” Shanae started.

“I don’t know”, I said.

Our thoughts were interrupted by Ms. Wilson’s shrill voice: “The bus is leaving in 5 minutes!”

We all looked at each other with wide eyes.

“We better run!” Timothy said.

Shanae tucked the heart-shaped locket into her pocket and we ran back to the museum. We got to the bus just as the tail end of the group was boarding. We looked at each other with a sly smile, got on board and we didn’t utter a word.

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Megan Osborn

I love hiking, traveling, baking, and spending as much time as possible outside. Writing has been a hobby of mine for a long time and I'm excited to share it with the world.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Megan OsbornWritten by Megan Osborn

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.