Fiction logo

"At. Me."

day four: 30 day writing challenge

By sborekPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like
"At. Me."
Photo by Hannah Xu on Unsplash

day four: "At. Me."

prompt: We’ve never met, but our showers are on opposite sides of the same apartment wall so sometimes we’re showering at the same time and we sing duets.

Sophie

“Come on, just one more,” she asked and I sighed, turning the showerhead further away.

“We’ve run out of hot water!” I grumble, but comply, starting up another song. It was my turn to sing the main chorus and she would sing the backup. Halfway through, I hear a yelp and I press my hands and ear against the wall, “Are you okay?”

“Yes!” I hear a muffled cry. “Just slipped.”

I snort, “Again.”

“Shut up,” she laughs and my heart flutters as I try to contain the blush creeping up on my cheeks. She can’t see, but I still feel awkward.

“I gotta go,” I call, flipping the water off. “Have a good day!”

I hear the water turn off on her side, “You too!”

I step from the shower, wrapping myself in a thick towel as my mind strays to her once again. I flush, thinking about how each day I try to muster up the courage to ask to meet in person, but I shy away each time.

“Damn you,” I grumble into the mirror, combing my wet hair. I tear at a particularly tough knot, causing tears to gather in my eyes, as my mind wanders back to her.

I get dressed on autopilot; jeans, stripped shirt and sneakers. Grabbing my backpack, I leave the apartment, trying to not glance at the door of her apartment. I make my way down the stairs and plug in my headphones, tuning up my morning playlist for my subway ride to work.

~

Catherine

Each day, she leaves before me and I watch as she passes my door through the peephole. Slightly creepy, I know, but it’s the highlight of every day for me. Her dark skin is always complimented by bright clothing; her slightly damp curly hair bouncing with each step she takes.

If only I could have the courage to step into the hallway and ask for her name.

I sigh, adjusting my earrings and grabbing my purse, making sure my makeup is perfect before stepping into the hallway. I leave precisely 7 minutes after her, knowing she is far enough ahead that I won’t run into her accidentally. I hail a cab, making sure to stand back from edge where rainwater had collected from the previous night. Don’t want to ruin my newly-pressed suit.

I give directions to the driver, and sit back to scroll through social media, as I do every morning, to try and find out her name.

And once again, I turn up blank.

~

Sophie

I slump down on the couch, ready to relax with a glass of wine when I hear a thud in the hallway. It sounds like someone fell.

I rush to the door and open it to see a strawberry blonde woman sprawled in the hallway.

“Are you alright?” I ask, helping her stand.

“It seems one of my heels snapped,” she laughs. Once she’s standing on her feet, she makes eye-contact with me and her face whitens before reddening. “Um-uh...”

“Let me help you to your apartment, which one is yours?” I look around as she continues to fumble over her words.

“It’s...uh...it’s two floors up!” she says suddenly and I nod, reaching to take her purse from her. “But I’m quite alright on my own!”

I crinkle my eyebrows and smile, “You don’t really look alright.”

She flushes again, “Really, I promise.”

“Okay,” I step back unsure. She doesn’t move from her spot, fiddling with the handle of her purse as I walk back into my apartment and close the door. “That was interesting,” I say to myself, before shrugging and heading back to my wine.

~

Catherine

“Foolish!” I grit my teeth as I pace in my living room. “Not only was your first meeting a complete disaster, you still didn’t get her name!” Sighing, I perch on the edge of the couch, examining my broken heel, “So much for those.”

I strip from my suit and clamber into the shower, semi-hoping for her to also be taking one and semi-hoping for her not to be.

She doesn’t.

I finish quickly, climbing into a robe and silk pajamas. Sitting in bed, I read my book, my eyes straying to the bathroom periodically as I run over our earlier meeting. My cheeks redden as I remember how she smiled at me.

At. Me.

And how her face scrunched up as she did.

I sigh, my book forgotten, as I lay down, dreaming of what could’ve been, with my own smile on my face.

Love
Like

About the Creator

sborek

improving my writing is my #1 goal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.