Fiction logo

Art is subjective

A day in the life

By James KeladaPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Art is subjective
Photo by Klaudia Piaskowska on Unsplash

I never knew why paintings were so valuable, I understand that art is beautiful, it can hit you in a moment and last a lifetime. But, why can't I just take a picture and keep it in my pocket? I could look at it whenever I feel sad, or angry or whatever the opposite emotion that the art piece is meant to evoke. Why so much oohs and ahhhs about the original?

I didn't need to answer that burning question before I got here, I saw dollar signs and dollar signs don't need an explanation.

But then I realised, I've been lied to. My phone can tell me what art looks like but it can't tell me.. this. It didn't tell me I'd feel an umbilical link to the artist, a temporal bridge back to the moment their brush first kissed the canvas.

It's like he's watching me right now - look, I'm sure you understand, moneys money, right? It's not like you wanted this beauty to be behind glass all day long anyway, right?

I'm sure you understand. I don't think you'd be thrilled by the fact that I killed for this but hey, you're dead and I'm rich

Microfiction
Like

About the Creator

James Kelada

Masters of screenwriting at VCA, Lover of all things artistic.

Everyone has a unique way of looking at the world and when they find the voice needed to properly articulate what they see, timeless art is the result.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.