Fiction logo

Arrival of Savella

Mentor or Friend

By Joseph McCainPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Chapter 1: Mentor or Friend

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. This was a sign that a birthday girl or boy had met their guardian angel.

Tonight, it would be Caroline’s time to meet the one that selected her. She would be 12 at midnight and her guardian angel would appear. Caroline was the last in her class to meet her guardian. None of her classmates hardly spoke of their guardians. Maddie had once mentioned that her guardian was a beautiful female with raven hair but said nothing else.

She tapped on her watch and thought about turning on the TV as the final seconds trickled away.

Would she appear from thin air? Would she fly down from the purple sky? Why was guardian such a secret yet a known secret?

As more questions raced into her head, a voice from behind popped softly in.

“Hello, Caroline,” soft and warm stated the voice.

Caroline smelled rosewater and tea as she turned. Standing just slightly over her was a red-haired more pixie-looking than angel-looking creature. She stood not quite five feet four inches. Her hair ran thick down her shoulders with some curls. Her wings appeared delicate and almost transparent. Caroline had always pictured them as dove wings, yet they were more like dragon fly wings. She donned a dress that shimmered all green and flowed to the ground and made Caroline wander if she had feet since she did not walk but fluttered about.

“Hey,” said Caroline.

“I’m Savella,” said Savella.”Do you wish to hear the rules of our partnership for the next 6 years?”

“Okay,” stuttered Caroline. Even knowing that a guardian would appear at this moment for her entire life, she still could not believe it.

Savella quickly began making a laundry list of the rules. She hardly paused and took no breath.

After 15 minutes, Savella asked with a smile, “Did you get all that?”

Caroline stammered, “Yes.”

Savella broke out in laughter, knowing Caroline had not heard much of any of the rules and was still stunned about the arrival.

“For now, how about you just remember the rule that I’m technically a secret and each time you speak of me I may fade away just slightly,” said Savella.

“I am here to guide you as well as learn from you so that I may become what I am to become next,” said Savella. “So tell me about yourself, your friends, family and everyone.”

“You don’t already know?” asked Caroline with a most perplexed expression.

“I can’t read minds and while I have watched you since your birth and know every interaction that you have experienced. I am not you, so I want to know how you see yourself and the world,” answered Savella.

“And what do you mean about learning from me?” asked Caroline.

“I am here to learn and understand things so that I may be a better me as well,” said Savella. “We are going to make mistakes and some not so great choices and some things I cannot prevent, but I will be here for you.”

“Do you know the future?” asked Caroline.

Again, Savella laughed out loud.

“No, I am just a very good analyzer and guesser. I have a bunch of information from your life. I can guesstimate a lot of outcomes from your choices. Of course, you are never required to take my advice,” answered Savella.

Caroline’s mind raced again. She should have realized all of this. None of her classmates became perfect and only a few started getting better grades or doing better at all after getting their guardian.

”I’m here to keep you from getting run over by the diesel truck of life, not to keep you from scraping your knee every once in a while,” said Savella.

“I thought you couldn’t read my mind,” said Caroline.

“I am a really good guesser,” said Savella. “You want to play who can guess the number you are thinking of.. 1201.”

Short StoryMysteryFantasyFableAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Joseph McCain

I love my wife. I love my children. And I had a 30 year love affair with newspapers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.