Fiction logo

Are Films and Books Art?

My Mythmaker challenge

By Meghan LeVaughn Published 9 months ago 3 min read
Like
Are Films and Books Art?
Photo by Matt Popovich on Unsplash

Myths and facts can be strange and complicated for many reasons. I have always been so curious about this challenge. I was thinking about art. I have always loved art ever since I was little. I always loved to do crafts at home or school. I'm very grateful that I learned about art including movies, drawings, sculptures, music, games, books, theater, fashion, and so much more. It became so popular throughout history.

For years, we all know that all human beings can do anything in their way. Humans created incredible things billions of years ago. For example, we remembered when cavemen drew their scribbles on the wall of the cave during their prehistoric years. Even today, more people are passionate about arts and entertainment, especially from their childhood. Everyone who raised a question should know with their curious ways– why people created art, such as dance, illustrations, books, music, and movies in the first place. I got that interest as well, including during my childhood.

There are so many unique things about arts and entertainment. Humans created those incredible things for decades and even our generations.

I choose those two for this myth challenge: movies and books. Are films and books art?

Why did people create movies? How? It is quite a mystery. It is quite magical in our visual minds. It is the most entertaining that any person has created. Of course, It's because people want to entertain them. People love to study films. Films like Fargo, Alien, Wizard of Oz, The Blues Brothers, Stars Wars, and Spirited Away. I studied films when I was in college in 2010. It was a very interesting class. I like it.

But there's one problem. Why do people think animation is a film? It sounds odd and confusing, specifically for the Oscars, etc. I just don't get it. Why? In reality, It's not! Animation is Art! Animation is a media, not a genre just like Guillermo del Toro said at the Oscars. You remembered the simple flip book with at least 10 pages that the drawing figure is walking, etc? Of course, I do. I remembered my big brother did very well with a tiny flip book from the sticky notes he did. It was so creative that I couldn't lay my eyes on it. Animations include stop motion, claymation, anime, cut-out animations(like South Park), Computer animation, and Cartoons.

Why are books considered art? Sure! I was concerned that most people think books are just words. No, that can't be true. According to the blog, ‘Reading is an Art Form’ by Katherine Koller. I agree with her, reading and books can be a novel, a play, a story, or a memoir, with any author.

For years, I had trouble with reading, understanding, language, and expressing words due to my mixed-language disorder. I thought I would never like reading and writing for the rest of my life. But, at least someone gave me some courage because I always love storytelling like others do. So far, I can understand some expressions with words while I read some of the books I like. On the other hand, I've mostly enjoyed reading graphic novels & mangas. I get confused when people keep thinking ‘Comics are not real literature’, etc. But why is that? The truth is that comics including graphic novels and mangas are the type of literature. According to the article by Comics in Education, Comics we're composed of art, either with or without a reader, arranged in a sequence. Comics are different from plays, novels, or even articles.

I agree! Comics can also be inspired by classic novels, historical events, and even plays.

The conclusion is that the myths have been confirmed. Films, books, comics, and animations are all types of art.

‘Animation is Cinema. Animation is not just a genre for kids.’-Guillermo Del Toro

-References-

  • Lang, Kathleen[author]. 2000. Books As Art from https://www.artagogo.com/commentary/booksasart/booksasart.htm
  • Koller, Katherine[author]. August 28th, 2019. “Reading is an Art Form’ from https://www.epl.ca/blogs/post/reading-is-an-art-form/
  • Downey, Glen[author].March 16th, 2018. "Comics Aren't Real Literature" -- And Other Stupid Things People Say’ from https://www.comicsineducation.com/home/comics-arent-real-literature-and-other-stupid-things-people-say

SatireShort StoryHumorHistorical
Like

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m almost 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.