Fiction logo

Another year

I Let the cold take me.

By Ashley ShiflettPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
39
Another year
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

Today is not like any other day. It is the one day of the year that I force myself to visit you.

I sit in my gray buick watching the snow fall. I can hear the stillness of the earth with nothing but the damp flakes resting around me. I breathe in deeply as I force myself out of the car.

My emotions are blank as I wonder what the point of visiting this place is.

People say it's comforting.

All I find is emptiness.

The soft crunch beneath my feet reminds me of the last day that you were here. We went out for hot chocolate. Much like the days before when the snow blanketed the streets. One minute we were laughing, and you were complaining about the chill in the air. The next..

You were gone.

Still, the briskness comforts me. Now I find myself longing for the cold. I long for the snow.

The remembrance of you on your last day.

I wipe the snow away from your resting place. I feel nothing beneath me. You are here but you are not here.

I find myself confused every year that I come.

I look up to the sky.

I look past the snow covered branches into the gray sky. I feel a bit of warmth on my face from the winter sun forcing itself through the clouds. I close my eyes and let the coolness take me. I'm back with you on your last day once more.

Microfiction
39

About the Creator

Ashley Shiflett

I have always had a passion for writing.

I hope to share my love for stories with everyone that I meet. I'm hopeful that in some way they will motivate you, help you smile, or even encourage you through a difficult time.

All are welcome!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Francis Connor3 months ago

    Heartfelt and well crafted.

  • LASZLO SLEZAK3 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Gorgeous work! So well done!!

  • Marie Sinadjan3 months ago

    Oh, my heart. Well done! 😭

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Elegiac, somber and sadly beautiful. Really lovely and sensitive writing. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • ImperfectlyPerfect3 months ago

    This tugged at my heartstrings 😩

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Beautiful and melancholic. 🥰

  • Amy Black3 months ago

    Sad and beautiful. Thank you for this.

  • Sian N. Clutton3 months ago

    Gosh, I'm lost for words. Beautifully sad.

  • The Dani Writer3 months ago

    You have some great sensory lines relating to the season here. Congrats on achieving a top story!

  • Mind writer3 months ago

    Great work

  • Christy Munson3 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! This piece elicits deep emotions, including sadness, loneliness, loss, and compassion, through its character development and perspective, as well as your scene choice, phrasing and pacing. Lovely read.

  • masterplay973 months ago

    Touching post

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    Lovely work, Ashley. Congrats on Top Story!

  • masterplay973 months ago

    really great text

  • JBaz3 months ago

    it was liek we were sharing every thought and emotion, the vivd scenery was beautifully written. Congratulations

  • Alyssa Nicole3 months ago

    This is such a wonderfully written and emotional micro. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Brenton F3 months ago

    Very sad but so well done - congrats on the TS!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Wow! Great story! ❣️💔

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Can really picture this scene unfolding. Heartbreaking. So well written.

  • Holly Pheni3 months ago

    Oh, oh, oh. What a beautiful expression of grief's seasons. I've subscribed.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    "You are there and not there" ❤

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    That is so sad yet beautifully written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.