Fiction logo

Angelica

I thought I knew you.

By Isis Lyons Published 12 months ago 7 min read
1

Angelica

May 15

I lean against the cold metal railing; the breeze hits my melanin skin as I look up to the sky and pray over my lover and I. Worry fills my aura as I think about all of the secrets Angelica may be hiding from me. On the outside everything seems fine, but we both know nothing has been the same ever since she’s taken on this new career. I’m not going to lie, knowing she’s been working with a man one on one everyday for the past three months has been killing me from the inside out. I understand she’s an amazing editorial writer, but to pay her one hundred dollars an hour for eight hours seems a little excessive. I push myself away from the railing and I make my way to one of our outside cushions. As I plop down, I feel a heaviness in my stomach.. And now she’s talking about doing overtime.

Today is the day I figure out what’s really been going on. The slide door opens, Angelica pops her head outside and utters, “Hey, babe I’m heading out.” I roll my eyes, “You’re going to Kiron’s place?” She gracefully walks towards me and sits on my lap. “Duh, he’s my client.” She gives me a kiss and starts to walk away. I grab her wrist and I pull her back towards my torso. “Don’t leave me.” I moan; for a moment I felt real tears forming from my eyes. “Jared, this is my job. Kiron wants his book finished by the end of this year and he needs my assistance.” She claims, “But isn’t your job just editing the work he’s already done?” I ask. “I also assist him on his writer's block and I give him extra ideas on what to add to his novel.” She expresses; she tries getting up from my lap once again but I hold her tighter. I relish in her rosy, soft skin. She pushes my head away from her chest and a part of me dies slowly; I hate to see her go, but her hourglass shape excites me as she walks away. Kiron better not be touching my wife... But like I said before, today I’ll find out.

I follow behind Gel as she walks out the front door, I peek through the peephole as she drives away. Guilt rushes through my body as I reminisce on what I’ve done to her vehicle earlier this morning. This was the only way I could track her location... She wouldn’t give me his address when I asked her, so I had no choice. I pull my phone out of my Levi pants pocket, I go into the FindMe App and I view her location. She’s finally out of BruitsVille and she’s headed down the main road. I grab my key ring from our golden key holder, I swing our door open and I shut and lock it behind me. The fresh smell of cut grass thrashes on my face with delight. It’s such a beautiful day… Should I ruin it by discovering the truth? A breeze smacks my entire body and I let out a shiver.

Jared, you won’t get closure if you don’t go.

So just go.

Before I can register my decision, I’m on the road following Angelica. I wanted more than anything to be able to trust the love of my life but this arrangement has been weighing on me for the last three months. Angelica has always lived up to her name; she’s always been honest, compassionate and loving. I’m more concerned about Kiron.. Even thinking about his name makes me disgusted. Visions of him caressing my wife enter my mind, and fury builds in my heart.

I finally arrived at Kiron's place and the distance between his place and our place is completely ridiculous. He lives two hours from BruitsVille.. Why would Gel want to work so far from home? It’s no wonder why she comes home so late. I decided to park on the road far from his street. I reach my arms towards the backseat, and I grab a black cap with sunglasses. I go outside with both the cap and sunglasses on, I pass so many luxurious homes and I move closer to his street.

My heart stops as I see half naked women walking in and out the gate of his house. With everything in me I’m hoping this is not what I think it is; I make my way to the front door of his house. It’s wide open and I can already tell what type of party this is. “ANGELICA!” I shout, “ANGELICA!” I walk into his mansion, making my way up the wide and steep stairs.

I feel a yank on my collar, my whole body jolts back and I’m thrown outside. “YOU CAN’T BE IN HERE!” A rugged, well knit man demands. “MY WIFE IS IN THERE!” I spat, I made my way off of the ground and I stomped towards the door once again. He puts his hand against my chest with extreme force, “What’s your wife’s name?” I look at him with distaste, “Angelica.” He puts his hand down and gives me a sympathetic stare, “Okay stay here. I’ll go get her.” My heartbreaks at the vibrations of his words; I wanted to believe I had the wrong house.. I wanted to believe there was hope for us. My jaw clenches; I feel sick to my stomach as she gracefully walks down the steps. A flashback of yesterday’s events becomes clear.

May 14

*CLICK*

I jump up from the kitchen table and I swiftly make my way to the front door. “Hey, Gel.” I lean against the ledge of the staircase. “Hey babe, I’m sorry I could barely talk to you today.. Work has been hectic. How has your day been?” I want to be mad at her, but being in her presence washes away everything I’ve been infuriated about. “My day has been fine.. I’ve been missing you like crazy.” I groan; I grab her and give her a tight hug. “Ahh, Jared. I’m really sore.” She pulls away from me and makes her way upstairs. I scratch my head with so much confusion.. What’s making her body so sore?

~~~

Present Day

I stare at Angelica as she makes her way down the stairs.. Her face in distress while she looks up to me. “I can explain.” She utters, I stand in silence while I wait for her to give me some type of excuse for the agony she’s been putting me through. “I didn’t want to tell you I became a dancer because I assumed you would leave me.” She admits, “After I lost my editorial writing career I didn’t know what to do, so I turned to Kiron. There was a point when I was helping him with his novel but that was when I was working for Jones Publishing. He offered me a job of passing out drinks to his friends and giving them lap dances. I couldn’t turn this offer down because there was too much money on the line.” She looks at me with guilt in her eyes and I can tell she’s not telling me something. “You know you don't need a career; I can make ends meet for the both of us.” I elaborate, “There was no reason to lie to me and there was absolutely no reason for you to work for Kiron.” She scratches her neck, and I can see how jittery she is. “You know I don’t like depending on you for money. I know we’re married but I want to be financially independent.” She mumbles, “You could’ve at least taken your time to find a new career in editorial writing... Why this, Angelica? I know there’s something you’re not telling me.” I hissed. The air began to get stuffy, and all of a sudden I felt like I couldn't breathe. “Can we talk about this when I get home? I still have a job to do.” She stammers. “You know what? You can stay here.” I walk away with my fist in balls, and my stomach in knots; My entire image of my wife has completely changed and I don’t know what to do from here. “WAIT! JARED!” Angelica shouts, but I don’t stop to listen. This is where our journey ends.

LoveShort StoryMystery
1

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.