Fiction logo

Reon

The invasion

By Isis Lyons Published 2 years ago 12 min read
2
Reon
Photo by Stephen Leonardi on Unsplash

The Problem

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. There’s only one type of species that can hear thousands and thousands of miles away, and this species is named reon. Reons are squamous, strong, metallic beings; their skin is extremely tough and it’s difficult for them to be harmed. There’s billions of reons living on planet Feora; only this planet is hidden far and deep in the abyss. It’s shaped like a human heart and it’s purple. Feora is the coldest, most chilling planet there is; the coldest it can become is negative four-hundred degrees celsius. Living on this planet is like living on an icy island, it used to be their paradise until they began to realize their super hearing was beginning to fade.

“Loso, I’ve had one million reons telepathically tell me that their hearing is becoming worse and worse by the hour.” Headmaster Pulu agonizes, “You and the others must find a cure quickly.” Headmaster Pulu is the ruler of the whole entire planet; he’s been in charge ever since the last ruler got lost in space thousands of years ago. “But how will we find the cure, Headmaster?” Loso nervously investigates, the headmaster walks closer towards Loso and he gives him a slap against his metal head. “I don’t know exactly where the cure is but I know there is one. The best place to start looking is outer space.” Pulu spat; Loso rubs his head in agony. He slides down the ramp of the icy cave, after landing on his metal butt he searches for Vib and Seb.

These three reons are inventors and seekers, they even invented a new way of traveling. Instead of using UFOs they’ve built wings for all of the reons; ever since Headmaster Pulu put these three reons together they’ve been unstoppable. Loso finally made it to his group's lair, he looked in the main lab and he couldn’t find them. He goes into the testing room and he lays in the telepathy machine, he closes his yellow crystal eyes and he imagines Vib’s pink, crystal metallic head. The ringing from his horns signaled that Vib is getting closer to contact with him, Loso waits for another five minutes. Finally he hears Vib speak, “Hey, Loso. What’s the problem now?” She whines, “What do you mean? You haven’t noticed that everyone's hearing is becoming worse?” Loso speculates, “I’m on my way to the lair..” Vib hesitates, Vib and Loso disconnect telepathically . Next Loso imagines Seb’s orange and gold metallic head; Loso hears the ringing in his horn once more and then finally Seb utters, “Hey, bud. Is everything okay?” Loso begins to feel frustration arise inside of him, “Just get to the lair.” He grumbles; Loso gets up from the machine, he walks over to the main lab and he begins to do some tests on himself.

Seb glides into the main lab as Loso runs tests on his horn paste, “Hey. How’s it going?” He cheers, Loso turns around in fury; “I’m getting an angry vibration from you right now. What’s wrong?” Loso stands in front of him bitterly, without saying a word. Seb begins to concentrate on Loso’s thoughts, “Headmaster Pulu is directing us to go to outer space!” Seb shrieks, Loso turns around and he continues to test out his horn paste. “Why does he want us to go on this dangerous challenge?” Loso stays quiet, “Can you just tell me, it’s too much work to read your mind.” Seb complains. Loso still hasn’t said a word; everytime he was upset he wouldn’t make a remark. It’s his way of staying calm.

Finally, Vib glides into the main lab; she overhears Seb begging Loso to tell him why they’re going to outer space. “Because reons are losing their sense of hearing.” She interrupts, Loso telepathically gives her gratitude. “My hearing is perfectly fine..” Seb shrugs, “Mine is too, but that doesn’t mean others aren’t suffering.” Vib scoffs, “What an idiot.” She mumbles, Seb begins to space out; “I think Loso’s hearing is starting to fade too.” Vib puts her hand on her metallic hip, “And why would you think that?” Seb gazes in Loso’s direction, “Hey, Loso!” No answer, “SEE!” Seb shouts; “It’s a game we like to call ignore the idiot.” Vib criticizes, “Oooo, I want to play! Can I play?” Seb eagerly questions, Vib walks towards Loso. She puts her hand on his shoulder, “So what’s next?” She questions, “We should start with examining our own horn paste to see if there’s a cure in our DNA.” Loso suggests, “I thought the Headmaster said to start looking for the cure in outer space.” Seb comments, “We don’t care, if there’s a cure in our DNA then there’s no point in putting ourselves in danger.” Vib grunts, “Why do we have to work with him again?” Loso continues to examine his paste, ignoring their silly banter.

The Trip

A week has finally passed, and they still haven’t discovered a cure; “I guess it’s time to travel through space…” Loso groans. Vib, Loso and Seb attach the Bonzos (the high tech wings they created) to their electric spinal cord. “This might just be fun you guys!” Seb cheers, Vib and Loso ignore Sebs enthusiasm. They all walk out of the icy lair; they all jump at the same time and begin to fly high in the air. Unlike humans, reons don’t have to have a space suit or any other equipment to visit space. Their bodies are so firm that they can’t feel the temperature. They can handle any type of excessive weather.

They finally make it out of Feora and they’re now in the dark, the empty abyss. “How do we get out of here?” Seb investigates, “HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO KNOW!” Loso rages, losing his temper wasn’t something Loso did often but he is under way too much stress. Everyone expects him to know everything and anything. Seb hovers in silence, Vib looks around and all of a sudden she sees a glowing bright light through the darkness. “This way!” Loso and Seb follow her as they go towards the ball of light. “Do you guys see this?” Vib questions, “See what?” Loso and Seb ask in unison; “This bright ball of light!” She shouts, becoming frustrated. “No, I have no clue what you’re speaking of.” Loso gulps, “Me too.” Seb acknowledges, “Well, I’m going in.” She boasts, she goes into the light as if it were a portal. “Hey, where did she go?” Seb speculates, Loso moves toward where she went and he disappears as well. “Don’t leave me!” Seb agonizes, he goes through the empty portal.

Vib opens her eyes and she realizes she is embedded in some type of liquid, she tries to speak but she is unable to. She sees red flakes swirling around her, she swims upward and there's some type of string that looks like intestines. “Where am I?” She thought, “What am I doing here?” She began to realize she had no clue who she is, she swam up even faster in a panic. She makes it to the surface, she looks up and the sky is red. She puts her palms on top of the surface and lifts herself up out of the dark red liquid. “What is this? Hell?” She looks around to see if anything looks familiar, all of a sudden she sees a big clear orb. She jogs towards it and puts her hand on it; out of nowhere she spots Loso banging his hands inside of the globe. He’s screaming for help and suddenly all of her memories come back. “LOSO!” She shouts, “LOSO!” She begins to feel a rumble against the ground, her body starts to shake. “He can’t hear you, darling.” A voice of menace giggles, she turns around and it’s Headmaster Unice. (The first Headmaster that ever lived) Her eyes and mouth opened wide with shock, “What’s happening here? And where have you been for all of this time?” Unice walks closer towards Vib, “Well, when you reons left me to rot in space I gave up on everything. I went through the stages of grief; denial, anger, then bargaining. I guess I haven’t finished all of the stages because I’m still bitter and angry.” Unice groans, “As I grew hatred for you all I began to manifest this reality for myself. Do you like it?” He smirks, “It’s not my…” Before Vib could finish her sentence Unice wraps one of the disgusting intestine cord around her mouth, using telekinesis. “Don’t say anything else… I’m not finished talking.” He grunts, “You all left me alone. If you could figure out how to make advanced wings for the entire reon population, you could’ve figured out how to find me. It doesn’t matter anymore though, because I found my way back.” He begins to pace back and forth around in front of a boulder, “When I came back I expected to at least a memorial in my name but no. You all moved on like it was nothing and then you made that idiot, Pulu, your headmaster.” Unice removes the intestine away from Vib’s mouth, “I didn’t want anyone as our leader. I didn’t even vote, so it’s not my…” Before she could finish, Unice places the slimy intestine against her lips once again. “That’s even worse, but anyway it doesn’t matter whose fault it is.” He grunts, “You all made me make a womb as my home, I had no one when I was here and I had no one in Feora because you all didn’t notice me. You were too busy having the time of your lives, up until I took most of the reon population’s ability to hear.” Unice cackles, Vibs eyes widen. Unice removes the intestine cord from her lips, “What else do you plan to do?” She trembles, he grins at the sight of her squirming. “I’ve manifested an army, one that stays loyal to only me; they’re so strong that they can even kill me.” He cheers, “I hope you’re ready for hell to rise.”

The Attack

“I hope Loso and the team didn’t get lost in space like Unice did.” Pulu thought, all of a sudden he feels his body vibrating. He slides down the icy ramp only to see gigantic, steamy, metallic beings galloping through Feora. Fear arises inside of him, a feeling he’s never felt before. He uses his Bonzo to fly back up to the cave, he runs towards the telepathy machine; he begins to get into contact with anyone who would answer, “This is your Headmaster, hurry and get off this planet! It has been invaded by monsters!” Pulu runs out of the machine and he grabs a weapon that can kill anything, the ruinizer. (the ruinizer has been kept a secret for thousands of years).

He slides down the ramp, shooting any monster in sight; he jumps as high and as hard as he could and he begins to fly out of Feora. As he flies up he sees other reons doing the same; this made his body feel lighter, until he saw himself in the abyss and saw everyone else's bodies fall right back down into Feora. “Why can’t they get out of there?” Pulu asks himself, he puts the magnetic weapon against his metallic back, he scans his eyes around the abyss, nothing but darkness. Out of nowhere he spots a shining bright light, he decides to enter it. He opens his eyes and he’s floating, words won’t come out of his mouth and that’s when he realizes he’s in liquid. He swims upward and all of a sudden he feels a smack against the crown of his head, he swims sideways and the same thing happens. “Oh, no. I’m in some type of bowl! I’M STUCK!” He panics, he continues to try and bang his way out of it but no luck. “Maybe I can shoot my way out.” He thought, “But what if I shoot myself?” As he’s thinking to himself he hears a loud bang.

“We have a new friend.” Unice grins, Vib rolls her eyes; “So when are you going to kill me? I’m tired of this yapping.” She snaps, “Oh, no. You and Loso are going to be my companions; I’m not killing you.” He adds, “WHAT’S GOING ON HERE, UNICE!” Pulu shouts, realizing he’s out of the bubble. “SHUT UP!” Unice wraps him in intestine cords so tightly that he can barely let out a word. “You stole my place, you tricked me to go to outer space and I got lost!” Unice rages, “THIS IS YOUR FAULT!”

Pulu struggles to take out the ruinizer, trying to grab it from his back. Vib sees him struggling, then she spots the ruinizer. “Since I’m not a captive can you unwrap me from these stupid cords.” Unice is skeptical, but he releases her anyway. “Thank you.” She cheers, “Could I torture him too? I’ve always hated Pulu.” She advertises, “Fine, but don’t try anything stupid.” He utters, Vib gets closer to Pulu and punches him as hard as she possibly could, he then hands her the ruinizer. She turns around quickly and fires the weapon at Pulu, he looks down and his whole body begins to turn into ash. “Why..” He moans, as he dies so does everything he’s created. Loso continues to bang his hands in the air until he realizes he’s out of the illusion. Seb appeared out of nowhere but he didn’t look worried or scared considering he was dancing the whole time like some idiot. Everything continues to crash on them and they barely have any time to escape. “SEB COME OVER HERE, NOW!” Loso, Vib and Pulu shouts in unison. Seb runs towards them, Vib looks around trying to find the exit; she spots the glowing bright light once again. Only this time it’s in the dark red liquid, “COME THIS WAY!” She shouts, they all follow her into the portal.

They appear in outer space floating, they look around trying to find their planet but it’s not in their sight. “Well I guess we should travel to Neptune and build a community there.” Pulu suggests, Loso and Vib look at him with pure disgust while Seb is doing the robot.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Isis Lyons

I am extremely passionate about all things writing. If you enjoy any of my stories please stay tuned and subscribe. I would really appreciate it.

Instagram; @isisthepoeticgod

@_isisthewriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Great story, you area a skilled writer. Had fun reading this story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.