Fiction logo

Am I them?

When I Became What I Hated

By DeborahPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

 

I have always felt like the world doesn’t see me; they don’t notice that I need them. They didn’t see the grimace and tears behind my smile.

When they do however, they always walk away, so why did I do the same?

Why did I walk away from him when I knew that he needed someone to tell him that he was going to be okay?

Why couldn’t I be selfless and forget about my troubles for a minute?

I could see him begging with his eyes like I always did, but I just couldn’t bring myself to walk towards him.

I was scared that I was only going to add to his problems. So, I walked away, and suddenly, I became one of the people I resented.

So am I them, or were they just like me?

MysteryShort Story
Like

About the Creator

Deborah

Everyone has a story; I love telling mine through stories and self-help books. I love reading a bit too much and have learned a lot. I'm excited to join this community and meet many amazing people.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.