Fiction logo

Alone In The Snow

Peace In Solitude.

By Carol TownendPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
17
Alone In The Snow
Photo by Katarzyna Pe on Unsplash

The soft white flakes were falling heavily, blanketing the ground with a white quilt. The quilted softness might have been appealing through the eyes of other on-lookers, but to me it looked cold, and hardened just like my heart. I examined the crystal-clear beauty of an icicle on a nearby tree, clear, sparkling and beautiful. The tears rolling down my cheek were also clear, but unlike the icicle, they were not beautiful; each tear froze against my skin, burning white-hot like ice when it touched the skin.

My husband had an affair yesterday after 30 years of marriage. This wasn't the first affair, and my emotions were as frozen, just like the snow blanketing the ground, and my tears were as frozen and as sharp as the edges of those icicles on the tree.

I knew at that moment I had to leave.

The more of this beautiful cold, white scenery I took in, the more the heaviness in my heart melted just like the snow.

The minute I got up and walked, the ice inside my heart melted. The sun shone on the snow, melting my fears away. I cried my final silent tears, then I smiled; safe in the knowledge that I was finally free.

The snow was melting, but more was falling, and the ground was thickening with the white feather-soft quilting. I walked away slowly, captivated by the scenery though lonely.

As I walked, the snow sparkled; and I knew I would find peace in solitude.

PsychologicalShort StoryMicrofictionLove
17

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Lovely sad but hopeful!!! Loved it!!!💕♥️♥️ Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    A tale of hope and resilience.

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Wonderful poem and what a jerk of a husband portrayed in it! Beautiful descriptions and peace in solitude is a great statement (and to feel). Congrats on T.S.

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Your last line is so powerful! I love this so much. A well deserved top story.

  • JBaz3 months ago

    An awakening, I like this. One step is all it took to be free. Congratulations

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Sad, yest beautiful storytelling. Well done and congrats on the TS.

  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    Dear Carol - The 1st day of the rest of your Life - ~ Live it with Vigor ~ 'j'

  • Daphsam3 months ago

    Wow, this is so heartbreaking beautifully written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.