Fiction logo

All is Bloody and Bright

A Winter Horror Microfiction

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - December 2023
16
All is Bloody and Bright
Photo by Stefano Bucciarelli on Unsplash

Author’s Note: I said that I might follow up on my own “Winter Horror Story” prompt. Here it is!

And here’s the link to the original prompt for anyone who wants to give it a try:

The snow fell in a flurry all around me, blurring until I couldn’t see an inch in front of my face. The ground crunched below me to the rapid beating of my heart. I could no longer feel my nose or cheeks. I wanted to stop, to turn back, but I couldn’t.

He was right behind me.

I hadn’t been a good man, I had to admit, but this—I didn’t deserve this.

I ran as hard as I could through the streets of my town, hoping that someone would come along and see me. But who was I kidding? No one would be out in this blizzard, no one but this monster and me.

I stumbled as my exhaustion and the eggnog that I had drank earlier in the night caught up to me. My breathing hitched, each gasp a painfully cold stab to my chest. But I would not stop.

I could not stop.

Then I saw a dim light in the sky ahead of me. I prayed to God that this was my salvation. I swore to be a better father to my son, a better husband to my wife, to give up the bottle, so long as this would save me—

Bang!

I hit the lamppost headfirst and fell to the ground in a crumpled heap. I did not have the energy to get back up. I could only turn my head as his crimson eyes approached me.

He sauntered into the light of lamppost. The storm eased as he came toward me, allowing me to see him in his full terrifying form.

An enormous, hairy man-beast with the horns of a ram, the snout of a bull, and the freshly sharpened claws of a lion. In his powerful hands, he clutched a birch rod.

Krampus.

My body trembled as the beast towered over me. Steam poured out of his snout as he breathed slowly in and out. He raised the birch rod over his head.

“I’m sorry,” I cried. “I’ll do better!”

“That’s what they all say.”

HolidayMicrofictionHorror
16

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz6 months ago

    A short story that kept the heart pumping. Very well written Congratulations

  • Denise Larkin6 months ago

    A captivating story. You pulled me in from the start. Brilliant.

  • K. Kocheryan6 months ago

    Short and sweet. Nice job!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    That was intense. Love it. Congrats on the TS.

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Wow, that was a really good story with high intensity! Powerful message!

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    What a great story, Stephanie! Loved this and that last line was brilliant!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Happy merry Grampus Xmas. Congrats.

  • Tressa Rose6 months ago

    Nicely done! I'm almost finished with mine too yay!

  • Oh my! Famous last words! This is terrifying. You crafted it so well!

  • Yayyyyyy!!! Go, Krampus!! Loved that ending ! Your story made me grin so much!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.