Fiction logo

All About My Bruises (Pt3/4)

Have you noticed my tendency for exaggeration yet? I try to stick as close to the truth as possible but I have a flair for drama that I cant help sometimes, nonetheless, The story I'm telling is very much true especially the part I was imprisoned in by my husband who abused and broke me so much, I didn't know I could be out back together. Let's see what you think by the end of the story. Even I couldn't have predicted the end.

By Nneka AniezePublished 2 years ago 20 min read
Like
All About My Bruises (Pt3/4)
Photo by Zohre Nemati on Unsplash

CHAPTER THREE

"My daughter, I am your father. I am not against your happiness. If you say that you want to marry this banker fellow instead of finishing your education as planned then go ahead. But I must let you know that anywhere that a person running reaches, a person walking can also reach there. You do not have to rush into anything. I do not like this idea of yours but if you say that that is what you want to do, then go ahead," my father said as he swatted away the mosquito on his leg.

He was a little on the short side. He was a black man with the muscle of the farmer. He has wrinkles on his face that were caused by smiling, worry and scowling. He has the body of a seasoned farmer and he was proud of it. He was muscular and healthy and all that came from good exercises. He was adorable when he smiled. My father cared for his children. He did not go to school but he loved education. That was why he wanted all his kids to go to school. He did not have many but he would borrow to send all three of his kids to school. Thank God I got a scholarship. That was one trouble gone.

He was tying only wrapper and his back and shoulders were open for flies to perch on.

I knew then that my father was at it again. He was a man that liked giving long lectures with idioms, proverbs and illustrations. My father was a good man. He was only fifty but hard work has aged him sixty. He loved me, I knew that. I loved him too but I wanted him to understand that I knew what was best for me. I also knew that for me to make him understand, I had to sit down like a good girl and listen to all he had to say and, of course, he did say a lot. I packed all my belongings from school and came back to tell my father about my marriage. I knew I have a lot of things. I was a little sad that I have to disappoint my father but then, I knew I had to do it because I loved Sam. I have managed to convince myself that I do love him.

Our house in the village was modest and comfortable but not flashy. The house was surrounded by big farms that my family cultivated. There were lots of spaces for the children to play in and so many trees to climb when mother was not around. I had fun growing in the environment.

Ezeagu was not an easy place to live. They did not have any borehole water and electricity was as scarce as eagles. To get water, one has to go for a quest because the only thing drinkable you would find was at the stream and the stream was not at the back of our compound. I have come to the conclusion that the power holding company was using Ezeagu as their practising point. One minute, there was light, the next, the whole community was pitched so darkly that white cloths would be hard to find. The breeze was the good thing I loved about my village. The fresh air outside was our haven but then the mosquito comes and tells you the real price. I still loved my village.

Now it was the night of the second day of my stay in my father's compound and I have brought to his notice the purpose of my coming back home. We were all sitting under the big mango tree in front of my compound. My father sat in the middle with my mother at his right hand. My other siblings were all around.

"Papa, I know you mean well but I am telling you that this is what I really want. Sam is a good person and he will take good care of me." I looked up and down because I did not want to look at him. I was wearing an orange gown that once belonged to my mother while I sat on the mat at his feet.

"I do not doubt that my daughter. He can take care of you but is that really what you want someone to take care of you and not to take care of yourself? Depending on someone for everything is very dangerous because one day, it might backfire and I don't want you to be caught in such a situation. Do not say in the future, oburu na nma! Had I known comes at last?" He chewed on the stick that he has been holding and spit out beside him. I did not like that habit on him but he never stopped it. "I have a story to tell you. This story will teach you that a stubborn fly follows the corpse to the grave. It will teach you that pride comes before a fall and that the fall is not funny."

I resigned myself to the story that he was about to tell. I liked my father's stories but he could overdo it sometimes. I inwardly postponed talking to my mother about what was expected of a married woman. He cleared his throat and began.

"There was a girl named Kosisochukwu." I sighed in my mind. My father was so at it again. I brought it on myself so I could hardly complain. "Kosi was the most beautiful girl in the whole of her town. She was very tall, shapely and good mannered. She was the very straight line drawn by God himself. Kosi was the dream wife of all the men in her village. The seed of beauty, mkpurumma, enenebe eje olu, ola edo", and she knew her worth. The problem with Kosi was that she believed that none of the men was up to her standard. That means that she was vain as she was beautiful. So many men came to ask for her hand in marriage but she refused all of them politely. A man that lived in a faraway village heard about this Kosi and was intrigued. He wanted her. The man already had fifty wives but he wanted to win the girl that will not marry any man from her village; lucky for him, he was rich and handsome. He set out on his journey to Kosi's village. When he was going, he asked his first wife to make a room for a new wife.' She started building a hut immediately.

"When he came to Kosi's village, he showed her so much attention that Kosi felt that he was the man for her. Her people told her that they did not know anything about the man but she refused to say that he was a good man to her and that was all that mattered. She insisted that she would marry the man. Her parents let her have her wish. She married the man that she wanted. After the marriage, the man took her to his house where she was so surprised to see so many women like her. She refused to be the fifty-first wife of the man. She said that she could not stay there. She wanted to go but the man did not let her go because she did not know the way home and because he wanted her to stay and be among his wife collection. Kosi cried for the rest of her life. She could have any man she wanted but she ended up being among so many wives and she was not even recognized as the most beautiful anymore. She was not a wife to the man; she was a thing, just a thing to him.

So, my daughter, I do not want you to become another Kosi. They say that a fly that refuses to hear, will eventually, follow the corpse to the grave. If they tell the ear and it did not hear, when they will cut the head, they will cut the ear too. As you make your bed, so, my daughter, shall you lie on it. You shall reap whatever you have sown. One word is enough for the wise and I am sure that you are wise. If you know how to pound, pound on the mortar, if you do not know how to pound, then you must pound on the ground."

He was pulling at his ear so hard that I feared a blister. "I hear you, papa. I am sure of what I am doing. No need to bring out the entire adage. I know what I am doing. I just hope that you will trust me."

"If you are sure of what you are doing, what then are you going to tell Ozoemene, your betrothed? He believes that he is to marry you. That will not be fair to him." He slapped his cheek gently and brought it down to the hand lamp to see if he killed the annoying mosquito.

"I know about him, papa. I saw his brother, Eze, and I told him to tell Ozo that I wanted to see him. Ozo is a sensible man; he will see reason and let me go."

"If you say so my dear, just know that if anything should go wrong, I shall say that I told you so but I wish you well from my heart. May the God I serve bless you and your siblings. I am off to bed. You must want to talk to your mother. I shall see you in the morning. If you find out when they plan to come for marriage rites you let me know so we can prepare for them. I will not be taken by surprise. And he better not come during harvest; try and keep your legs closed until he has paid your bride price," he added as a departing comment. I blushed to the root of my dark long hair.

He then turned and went into his own room. Our house was built in such a way that my father's room was separate from that of my mother and our own. They called it obi. It was a mud house that was cemented to wear the face of 21st century. Our compound was big. The kitchen was on the north side of our compound.

When my father went into his own room, I went to my mother's room; there were things that I wanted to talk to her about and things that I knew that only she has the answers and she gave them to me in great detail.

CHAPTER FOUR

I dressed in a simple skirt and blouse and left my compound the next day on my way to see Ozoemene, the man I was betrothed to from birth. I did not know why my parents did that kind of thing but considering that it was a norm in my village, I understood them. But that did not really make me happy to think that they have already planned down my life to the man I was going to marry and he was not even that rich or that good looking. But then who would know what we would turn out to look like since we were betrothed when we were just toddlers. Not for Ozo anyway because he was in primary one or so then.

Ozo was a nice guy. Whenever I came back from school breaks, he would buy me pretty things or rather, things that he considered pretty and because I did not know better and that I was expected to end up with him, I smiled and blushed and accepted them from him. There was a time he got me a bird. I didn't know how he got it but he did and I loved it but I just could not get myself to love him the way he deserved. He was a really nice guy.

I didn't have Ozo's number in my cell phone and I did not know anyone that has his number so I just walked to his shop. It was not really far from my house but the scorching sun made it look like miles away.

I left my compound and walked by the bush on my way to see Ozo and break off my engagement to him. For someone that was going to end something that has been on since she was born, I looked very relaxed. Well, maybe it was because I was not committed to the whole engagement thing the way I was expected to.

I greeted the very old lady that lived next to my family and as usual, she did not say anything. She just sat there looking at the tree in front of her and chewing on her gum. I knew it was her gum because I saw her mouth when she called me last holiday to go and buy her Utaba. She was always sitting there and chewing on nothing and she was always looking at the tree in her compound as if the tree was the cause of everything that happened to her. Well, I did not know what happened to her but she didn't look happy. She never answered any of my greetings but I always greeted her and then I wondered when she would die because she looked very old. They called her Nwanyi Utaba. I always walk fast when I get to her house because if I did not walk fast, she would call me in and start giving me advice on things that did not make any sense to anyone in the village. I did not need any advice from anyone.

I walked in a bushy walkway for some time before I burst into the main road. I was taking the shortcut to the market place where Ozo's shop was located. When I reached his shop, he welcomed me like he always did on the rare days that I came to meet him when my mother insisted on it. My mum liked Ozo so much that I wondered why she did not marry him. But then, she wanted what was best for me and to say the truth, Ozo was one of the best catches in the village. His shop was located at the main junction where the two tarred roads met with the two other roads that led into the village. It was the centre of attraction for our village people. Okada and Keke riders stay there all the time to look for passengers. Ozo's shop was close to the eating joint that was owned by Ozidi. He was just called Oz. He was a pleasant man.

"Ola, you came?" he said when I entered his shop.

I wanted to tell him that I was just leaving but held myself. Sometimes, Ozo's questions were very irritating.

"Yes, I came. I think it is obvious I did." I sat down in the seat that he reserved for sick customers or healthy customers that wanted to sit down for one reason or no reason.

"So tell me, nwa mara mma, how is school?" he said with a smile.

Ozo was a good man, actually a very good but he was just not my type. To say the truth, I didn't even know if I had a type but I didn't think that I would be able to love someone like Ozo. He was just so dull but he was a nice guy. He could never say any mean word to anyone even if the person deserved it. He was fair in complexion and average in height. He was not thin or fat. The best thing about him was his shape. He was nicely built. Right now, he was wearing a green polo and brown trousers and he looked good in them.

"School is fine and so is everyone at home," I added before he asked me how my family was doing.

"How did you know I was going to ask about your family? You are very smart," he teased and laughed. I did not laugh because I did not find it funny. He walked around his shop.

I looked at the shop and was impressed. Ozo was a local pharmacist and he was very good at it. He had the best drugs that his little money could buy. I did not know much about his business but I knew that he did it well.

He offered to give me a drink or food but I refused all of it. He gave up. He must have noticed how nervous I was because he eventually calmed down and asked me what I came to do. I was glad he asked. I was very sure that I could tell him that we were over but when the deed came to be done, I found out that I did not have the nerve to tell him that.

"I have found someone that I like, Ozo." I did not know how else to start the awkward conversation. He lost his easy smile for a second before he resumed it again. He was in denial.

"What do you mean by that? How do you mean?" he sat down on the plastic chair not far from the one I was sitting and looked at me without his easy smile. I was very sad but I knew that it must be done.

"I mean that I have found someone that I love and that he asked me to marry him and I said yes," I explained.

He looked like I slapped him. The shock on his face would have been very funny if it was not a serious moment in our lives.

"You did what? How could you do that? We are engaged," he all but shouted. He was on his feet now.

"I know we are but it was not my choice. We were engaged when we were just kids. We did not have a say. Now I do. I am very sorry but I want to end the engagement. I have found another person that makes me happier and I want to be with him. I hope you will understand," I pleaded as I joined him on my feet. He moved away from me.

I knew that Ozo liked me and would like to make me happy. What I did not know was if he was willing to let me go if that would make me happy.

"I thought we have concluded that we will get married when you finished secondary school next year? How could you? We are engaged," he repeated as if it was news to me and he did not say it just seconds ago.

"Ozo, just listen to reason, I know you do not expect this. I too did not expect it but I have to, I want to."

"Ola, I know you think that this man is better than I am for you but I tell you that he does not love you the way I do. Olamma, I may not be as rich as your man but I promise to make you happy." He rushed forward and held my hands. I wanted to withdraw my hand but just managed to resist. His palms were really sweaty.

Ozo was a good man. I felt rotten breaking his village heart but a girl has to do what she has to do. I just hope he would get it and get over me.

"Ozo, this is not about you. You are still very young; you have your life ahead of you. I, on the other hand, want to get married. I have already accepted. Very soon I will have my wedding and I don't want you to feel bad or cheated. I like you, Ozo, but I don't love you. Sam is the one I love. I just want to let you know so that you will not feel betrayed." I almost laughed when I replayed what I just said in my head. Ozo had four years on me and I was calling him young. Well, that was young but coming from a younger person, it sounded like I should take my own advice.

"But Ola, I love you and I am sure you will learn to love me too. My parents have already paid half of your bride price. Very soon, I will get the money to complete it and we will be together. Why do you want to do this to me, to us?"

"You have not been listening to me, I guess. There is no us. There is nothing like us. I don't love you even if you love me. I have found the man that I love and I am marrying him. About the bride price, I am sure Sam will refund you handsomely, with interest. I am not doing this to hurt you. I am doing it because it will make me happy. Don't you want me to be happy?"

"Of cause I want you to be happy but I will also be happy if you will find your happiness with me. But since you said that is not possible, I will let it be. Let it not be said that I forced you to do anything you don't want. Since you said that it will make you happy, then my dear, be happy with your life. I will go back to the shop now and lick my wound. There is no way I can compete with a man I have not even seen before. I will try and make sure I come to your wedding if you invite me. I will try not to impose my presence on you any further. Good day Olamma." He looked so dejected. His shoulder actually slummed. He looked like a man who got his land snatched from him. I did not like that look at all.

You made him that way.

I felt so rotten I was surprised I did not smell. But it had to be done and the sooner the better. I was also a little piqued that Ozo did not take the break up well. Besides, who arranged marriage for people without their consent? I refused to drown in guilt. I told myself this again and again as I made my way home. Sam was the one for me and no amount of pleading or advice would change my mind. Sam told me to come up to the city tomorrow. I made my way home to get ready. My mother has given me all the tips I would need as a good wife. She told me the value of food to a man. She even told me things about sex. She told me how to take care of a baby. She told me how to stay on the first time so that it would not pain much when I have my first sex. I needed all that. She said that I should not retort or snap at my husband that he was the master of the house. She told me that I must make sure to keep the house very clean all the time. She said that men did not like dirty homes at all. I knew in my heart of hearts that I would find it hard to listen and submit to a man but I knew I had to do it because Sam was not just any man. He was the man I was about to spend the whole of my life with.

When I got home, I packed my things and gave my parents some money from the one that Sam gave me. I also gave my sister. I knew if I got to the city, I would have so many things to do with Sam and Oge and so many others. Sam said that he wanted us to get married before next month and he has already deposited a very large amount of money to the account he opened for me. It now remained for me to do the hiring, the buying and the rest.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Nneka Anieze

Hello there,

Nice to meet you. My name is Nneka, mom of one living in Windsor, Ontario. I enjoy reading a lot and have decided to try my hand at writing. Hoping to better my skills and perfect my writing skills. I hope you enjoy my writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.