Fiction logo

Alerta

Prologue

By Sarah ElishaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Alerta
Photo by Ravit Sages on Unsplash

‘There weren’t any dragons in the valley!’ Alerta exclaimed. Now what I see is chaos, bloodshed, corruption, and lack of nationalism Alerta laments as she flashbacks to 85 years ago when the land she grew up in was lush and green. She recalls sunbathing on the lovely beach and caring less about what she will eat, wear or live as all these were catered for with less tolling. Oh! how I miss the days when life was simple… she hissed. What is independence when we still live in bondage? Alerta rhetorically asked herself. Edina walked into the sitting room and noticed Alerta speaking to herself. Are you speaking to yourself Alerta? Startled by the presence of her friend, Alerta quickly composed herself and said, ‘oh actually I was just thinking aloud, and nothing much. So, what are you doing here Edina?

Edina heaved a sigh of relief and said, ‘you know Alerta, I went for the job interview, and I was turned down again!’. Why? Alerta asked. Well, it was because they felt I needed more experience even though no one is willing to give me the chance to get that experience, Edina said wearing a sad look. Well! Alerta exclaimed, prior to our independence, we call the Ofuofors the dragon, but are they really the dragons? I will say no because what our people are doing to ourselves is worse than what they did to us when they came into our beautiful land, Alerta exclaimed.

Edina expressed a confused look and said, ‘who are the Ofuofors? What dragon? Are you losing your mind Alerta? It sure must have been the recent attack in Odon that is making you speak the way you do! Or are you hallucinating? Speak to me Alerta, he pleaded. Alerta replied with a shrewd smile, no Edina, I’m perfectly alright and I am 85 years old… sit down let me tell you a story to enlighten your young mind she said speaking softly. Edina, still confused, sat down and said, ‘go on Alerta, I am listening.’

Alerta stared into the space as though she had fallen into a trance and said, ‘I used to be young and beautiful. I was envied amongst my peers and outstanding. I found love among the Nins people, a strong warrior with a gentle heart.’ My parents would never let me go to the Nins people for fear I will lose my virtues, essence, and purpose.’ But beyond that Alera said, ‘I was keen to leave my comfort zone believing everyone had a loving and kind heart and coexist in unity against who I thought was the enemy.’ I followed my heart in the spirit of nationalism and believing that love exists regardless of my ethnicity, I resisted the counsel from my people.’ Alerta took a deep breath and spoke slowly in a nearly inaudible voice ‘was I wrong? I think not, actually, I think so’ she whispers. The patriotism I achieved by standing with the warrior against the odds left me proud. I swear at the time I thought I made the best decision. Edina, still confused, said, ‘so why do you think you made the wrong decision?’ Alerta frowned and said, do you still not get it, I just spoke in parables likening my life experience to situations still unfolding tomorrow, the day after, and so on. I bet you can solve this riddle by telling me the answer? ‘Oh, you young generation who listen to my speech but not the latent meaning of my word. I speak yet you do not hear, and even when you hear, yet you do not understand’ Alerta laments. Having lived in both worlds, Alerta beams with a smile, and thunder strikes following the heavy downpour on the roof. Adriann flinched and on opening his eyes Alerta was gone. Scared, Edina muttered indeed, there weren’t any dragons in the valley but now I see one! … and then the journey begins…

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Sarah Elisha

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.